Is Pakistan, or can it become, a "Middle Power"?

A Middle Power (MP) is a nation which is a significant economic and military power, enough to influence its region and be a significant state globally. It is not powerful enough to be free from the need of alliances and act unilaterally.

In the scale of global states, the top bracket is superpower-currently just the US, then great powers (China, UK, France, Germany, Japan), then I guess Middle Powers, who are important but not top dogs.

IMF estimates say that by the end of 2008 Pakistan’s economy will cross the $500 billion mark (PPP of course)-which is pretty big, and it is a decent military power.

Should solid MP status be our aim, as being in the India-China region, we will never be the regional top player.

Re: Is Pakistan, or can it become, a "Middle Power"?

Pakistan is already a Super power, in Islamic nations.
It yields a lot of influence and can become a more important figure in the Muslim world.

Malhot sahib, please let's get out of this "Islamic nations" trap. It is hight time we dump Oh-I-See (OIC) dimwits and join a group that works hard for their living.

OIC minus two countries (Turkey and Dubai) are bunch of poverty stricken $hiteholes when it come to having an economic say in this world.

Even Turkey is a little person aka midget among EU people, but at least it is trying to grow up thanks to its secular military.

I believe LBG started this thread to talk about MP among respectable nations in this world, and not some hodgepodge collection of suicidal maniacs.

Thank you.

^^

Aye. Given our huge neighbours, we will never be top dog in the region, so we must try to become a MP and within that group one of the more powerful ones.

Yeap that's correct if you only look towards East.

Just turn around, and the whole field from CAS to Iran all the way to Egypt is wide open for us.

If we get our Qibla away from suicidal Arabs, we can become a middle nay upper power in the region. Let China take care of their side, and India take care of Burma and BDesh.

Let's concentrate on the near West and far West. Just milk the cows, and feed chara to big bulls, at least twice a day and soon we'll have our own butter and honey.

antiobl, will it be bulls producing honey or cows? kindly elaborate.

pakistan can be a big land trade route - chinese and afghans access to the arabian sea, india access to west and central asia - if it can keep the territory west of indus stable.

I don't know what exactly the term 'Middle Power' means. I think there are more important issues we need to deal with before evaluating our standing in the international scene:

1) Deal with the Jihadist Terrorists inside our major cities
2) Deal with the Jihadist Tribal leaders in NWFP FATA n all
3) Establish Democracy
4) Take steps to boost both rural and urban economies

I think Pakistan's strategic location has and will forge more growth for us in the future. But we can't have an unstable afghanistan to our west that keeps sending refugees and dragging down our SOL, so we need to keep the area stable and friendly with whatever means necessary. It is not like other nations [India] doesn't do it if they get a chance.

Middle Powers are countries like Germany, Japan, Argentina

^^ Yeah then thats definitely the position Pakistan should aim for, once the 4 issues I mentioned in my previous post are resolved.

one way Pakistan can keep tabs on all illegal activities and other crimes to make it a destination for investments is to deploy millions of security cameras everywhere- esp. in Balochistan and NWFP- that way she can keeps tabs on criminals and thugs

MP is a standing in power terms given in IR.

millions of security cameras?

what makes you think there is infrastructure to support such cameras ?

and people just won't simply steal them?

Are you volunteering to run these million cameras?

He is volunteering to donate those million cameras as a first step.

Re: Is Pakistan, or can it become, a “Middle Power”?

First step, moin installs cameras in his “modrun” faislabaad! :omg:

Whole of GS is a becoming a joke forum with Moin's posts!

^^ Me kuch kehta par kiya karre yaar, the politics [and soon economy] of Pakistan is itself a joke..

Alert! Alert! Stinker Alert!

"Soon economy" to be a joke. Shariek sahib, you truly have Shreika with Pakistan. My friends from up North tell about this constant b!t&*ing and moaning state of mind as "Shreeka".

Haters will always hate.