is jhatka meat halal....

there is lot of discussion on whether jhatka meat, slaughtered in un-islamic way halal…or should we eat only zabiha…
can any one tell me if i can eat whooper or do i have to contend myself with fish sandwich only…?

Ik fursat e gunah mili woh bhi char din

Define 'Haram' first?

(anything edible beside that is halal)

definition of haram is what i am looking for in this case.
some ppl say u can eat any meat (besides pork) that has been slaughtered by ahle kitab (christians, jews etc)...
others say no it has to be proper zabiha with allahs name said on it...
still others are confused who r ahle kitab...are hindus ahle kitab (they have geeta , vedas etc)...but offcourse they dont eat meat anyway...

so the question stands can i eat whooper, beef jherky etc rather than having to eat fish and veggie day in day out...?

The four main things which are majorly haram are
"Woh cheez jis per khuda kay alawa kisi kaa naam liya gaya ho , Murdar, khanzire, Khoone"
...According to the first thing , jhatka meat is not halal...
But i may be right i may be wrong ...
rust in peace

well lucifer ,here is where the confusion arises....! you have quoted fom quran's translation itself that says " meat on which someone else's name has been pronounced besides Allah's"
So it says ... anyone else's name... It does not say as what if no other names have been pronounced as in meat factories in non muslim countries.
I think that Allah has not forbidden upon us all the meat slaughtered in these factories and shops.because in the ayat mentioned above by you... there is actually no indicatin of that!!
i wish someone would really solve this masela.

The Quran has already solved the masla....

qulu washra bu... khao peo jann banao.. they are all naymatain from Allah, say bismillah and every thing is halal. (except those quoted above).

and Jewish slautered is also halal, as they say "min rabbi" (in the name of Allah), when they slaughter.

Allah knows your intentions very well.

[This message has been edited by Zalim (edited July 02, 2000).]

Hala meat should be the priority of a muslim. But U must understand that ALLAH knows our intention, and we live in a country that is majority Non-Muslim, so it is hard to acquire Halal meat, but we must make a full effort to obtain Halal meat. If it is hard for U to obtain halal meat then say Bismillah and thank Allah for good ol' whopper. Thank AllAH for everything, for HE is the AL-MIGHTY, Most Merciful.

Zalim u say , say bismillah and every thing is halal. (except those quoted above).
but this is the question...what things...zabiha or even jhatka....
asr..we live in a non-muslim country but this is the 21st century..finding zabiha is not difficult..i live in a town of 50,000 in middle Iowa ( no big city nearby ), we have 2 places selling zabiha...ppl still buy jhatka....u know why $$$$$, halal is expensive....besides u can walk into mcdonalds and order anything u like...chatkhara...lazzat-e-dahan...or r they really doing the right thing....
take indians they eat veggie...these guys dont even have the choice of sea food...but the survive.....
The question is "whether Jhatka is halal or not"....if it is halal then fine else i can go on eating fish sandwich....

Yaar pakka desi, tell me one thing -the expensive meat you buy from Musalman qasaee, whats the guarantee that its halal’? apply your answer here and enjoy your whopper.

Nasir Bangali, a Muslim who worked in a slaughterhouse, crank his machine every morning by saying Bismillah, just once, and slash around 300,000 chicken daily. The same machine is used by other butcheries too; only difference is the man behind the machine is gora at other places. Do you think Nasir’s chicken is hahal and the Edward one is not?

Once I bought some chicken legs from “pakeeza haal meat”, and you know what when I removed the plastic, there was a sticker underneath of a local (non-halal) chain grocery stores. I thought for a while, should I throw that 16$ in trash or eat that so-called-halal-chicken. I thought for a while and go.. who cares what the guy is selling, my neyat is clean.

Brother, life is very precious, just enjoy…. These are very minor issues to debate on.

Nutritionally speaking all are composed of carbohydrates, proteins and fat, some have preservatives and added minerals.

just be modest in life. That’s it.

this “what the hell” attitude about Islam is gonna take us there pretty fast…
if something is Haram, there is no amount of bismillas which can make it halal…next u would tell me to eat bacon and just say bismillah…
my answer remains " is Jhatka halal" cause if it is we eat freely…if its not we refrain…
by the way goto http://www.eat-halal.com/
and i quote…
Nonetheless, eating non-halal meat is not the serious issue here. Many Muslims almost okayed PORK since these days PORK is treated well. Some people have argued it is okay to drink alcohol until the point you are drunk. These hypocrisies are things that the shaitan always sets in our mind.

So be mindful and think again when you want to eat and you are by a McDonalds and say, “well the meat was slaughtered by ahle kitab (people of the book) and there is not problem if I eat it.” Remember that is the Shaitan speaking to you. You can always have a Fish Burger, Veggi Burger or choose a salad in McDonalds or any non-Muslim restaurant.

Asslamu-alaikum,

Below is a ruling by Shaikh Saalih al-Munajjid. I'll just summarise what he says.

It is permissible to eat meat slaughtered by the jews and christians but certain conditions must be met. The name of ALLAH must have been pronounced on it. Other names like the Messiah are not acceptable. It must have been slaughtered in accordance with the manner prescibed by the Islaamic Shariah and not by shooting, strangulation, electric shock, etc.

QUESTION: I very doubtfull about the fact that many muslims say that if a christian or a jew give you meat to eat, we must say basmala to make it halal. But the islam teaches us that what is haraam is still haraam, even there is a good intention (i.e. to say basmala)

ANSWER: Praise be to Allaah.

The scholars agree unanimously that it is permissible to eat the meat of the People of the Book, Jews and Christians, if the name of Allaah is mentioned at the time of slaughter, as Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning): “Eat not of that (meat) on which Allaah’s Name has not been pronounced (at the time of slaughtering of the animal)…” [al-An’aam 6:121]. If the person mentioned a name other than that of Allaah, such as the name of ‘Uzayr or of the Messiah, then it is not permissible to eat of it, because of the general meaning of the aayah (interpretation of the meaning): “He has forbidden you… that which is slaughtered as a sacrifice for others than Allaah.” [al-Baqarah 2:173].

It is also a condition that the meat should be slaughtered in the manner prescribed by sharee’ah. If it is known that the slaughter was not done in the proper Islamic manner, e.g., by strangulation or electric shock and so on, then it is haraam.

As for the claim that some make, that it is enough merely to mention the name of Allaah when eating, this was reported regarding some Muslims who were new in Islam. The Sahaabah (may Allaah be pleased with them) asked the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) about this, saying, “O Messenger of Allaah, some people who are new in Islam brought us some meat, and we do not know whether they mentioned the name of Allaah over it or not.” The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Say the name of Allaah over it and eat it.” (Reported by al-Bukhaari). The command should be understood as meaning that one should be on the safe side, provided that one does not know beforehand that the meat is not slaughtered properly. And Allaah knows best.

[This message has been edited by salafi (edited July 03, 2000).]

thank you salafi...
so this means jhatka is not halal...
so no whoppers no peperonni pizza...

I don’t think pepperoni could ever be made halal

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smile.gif

. Halal pork?

What is jhatka meat?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/pagal.gif

how many of us dont even do the very basic things in islam like praying about whom we dont have any confusions but still debate over if jhatka is halal or not ?? it says in sura-e-buqra clearly that a muslim can eat meat if the animal is not slaughtered for any other GOD but ALLAH.. the meat we get here in US becomes halal by the above definition since no names are taken while preparing it.. Make your lives a lille easier but dont be ignorant in the process.. perform the more important duties of islam and then get into petty things like this.. Thanks for reading the post.. laterz..

Do I understand this correct that 'Halal' or 'Haram' applies to Meat only and that Fish is always halal regardless of the way it is slaughtered! Can one clarify?

as far as i can recall you are correct abdulmalick.. fish you can eat regardless of the way its prepared but not meat..

There are two schools of thought, one says that you should eat HALAL meat done according to the islamic way and other says that saying "Bismallah" before eating meat not slaughtered by our way should make it okay. I personally eat HALAL meat and stay away from others.

It is not good to eat Beef and Mutton which is not HALAL because the blood should run from the cow or the goat once butchered and in the United States, that doed not happen .

My dear brothers and sister in Islam,
I am no expert or a mufti, but the issue of jhatka meat is critical to not only our identity but also our call to humane slaughtering techniques and hygiene as well.
For something to be halaal I simply look at what the Sharia calls for. And according to it, the animal should be slaughtered in the name of God AND the blood should gush out of the animal's juggular and death should come of this. As it is prescribed in our pure religion, this is the most humane and hygienic way of slaughtering.
On the other side, how does one confirm that a jhatka animal (that goes into a burger) was slaughtered in the name of God and in the proper way? And how does one know that the slaughterer was of the people of the Book? The Qur'an states that 'All good things have been made lawful to you,' which indicates that if the People of the Book either do not observe those principles of cleanliness and purity which are considered obligatory by the Law or if their food includes prohibited items, then one should abstain from eating them.
Check out halalscience . org

Living in a kaafir state, adhering to our regular practices of abstaining from haram like we would back home is very difficult. But we must strive to maintain our identity instead of getting 'cooked' in the 'melting pot.' The sahaabee spread Islam by leaving the comfort of their homes and traveled far in the name of Allah and to spread His message to the people. May Allah give us their understanding of the deen, their inner strength, and strong will. Ameen!!!

I also agree with the post about the Salaat/namaz. This is the key to our identity and sets us apart from the non-muslims!