Is it true that all those nations

It is true that all those nations have progressed much who have allowed superpowers like USA to run their systems for 30 or 40 years and then gradually transfer power over to the locals.

For example:

**If the british would have stayed till 1970 in Pakistan, do you guys think we would have been something like Hong Kong…? **

If the British would have stayed till 1970’s would Pakistan be a different country as compared to what we are today ?

Examples of Japan, Taiwan, Middle East, can be cited as nations which have benefited from Super power management of their systems indirectly.

Is the Pakistani nation going towards this path where there is a workable model where we the Pakistani’s do not feel as slaves yet we adhere to the functional models of the super powers infrastructure and governance models ?

I know , I know that the super powers have their own issues but as I said a “workable model” cause I see that the trend of direct intervention in our issues is indicating that a time might come when the public will say that**" o yaar kon sa utha kar le jayen ge anay do yaar"…roti to millay gi! **

Mulla!

Re: Is it true that all those nations

^^

I guess the list of developed nations who have not allowed super-powers to interfere is bit longer, In case of Pakistan, If we can get leaders with small balls who can take stand and say no to these super powers, things can start getting better, but with the current flow, where first Mushy and now Zardari ( later Nawaz) act as yes man to super power, it is far fetched dream...

I can agree to some extent that if the british stayed, Pakistani could have slight better position. but i couldnt be hong kong as it all depends on the locals.

if you take examples of Japan and Germany who were occupied by US/allies after WWII. they didnt rise as strong nations cause of US systems, its because of their people who rose to the occasion. and also remember these nations were not third world poor countries even before the occupation. so Pakistan example cant be applied to this scenario.

we have developed a culture of not working sincerely, only when we are compelled or forced. everyone seems to be after money blindly, forget about the means fair or un fair.

handful of sincere ones either the leave the country or didnt even vote or voice their concerns properly.

we hardly have leader who has vision beyond his own interests. simply no leader in past or present one has vision for country barring Jinnah and Liaqat Ali Khan.

no one has inspired the nation with passion or charisma(bhutto had some). we are this shape cause ordinary person in Pakistan is not out of clutches of the ruling elite at anytime.

the result is we as a nation passed from one to other sham leaders with hope and disaster.

most of the politicians dont have a calibre of getting a normal fresh graduate job.

its not always super power that dictates internal issues of Pakistan, if that was the case we would not have been a Nuclear power. a good bunch of guys stuck to the cause and we have it now. thanks to those good souls. we need those in helm of power not street wheeler dealers in president house.

I am going to try to present this same idea to you yet in an another dimension so we both students of Pakistani system can start forming some form of mental unity and yes you have said that the following issues could be seen as a hurdle or resistance to the idea of management by super-power:

1) Locals
suggestive answer) Please take a look at Dubai, you would be surprized to know that entire Dubai is actually built and the shape it is in today is due to the Pakistani Labor force. The same Pakistani labor force made up of locals has transformed the desert into world class quality city. (i am only comparing infrastructural points). What I mean to kindly suggest is that, our locals can do a good job only and only and only if the management is forigen! I am student of architecture as well and I know the "hands" which build them very well. And the minds which vision it. So my suggestion is to highlight yes the local will behave like a donkey under local management but under forigen management they shine!

2) money and lazy culture
Suggestion answer) Money is natural desire as survival and human desires are connected to anything which has "respect"...money has natural respect so every one desires it, some more some less, those who desire "less" money, they desire more "praise" so this is normal, we can fix this issue by closing down consumer marketing policy which associates "look rich" on the expense of "make poor feel bad".......reh gaya lazy culture issue....that is common to all colonial societies...look at countries where English came out of and you will find vast expanse of "lazy" culture .....study common wealth nations except Canada, where the English still "manages" as I suggest....so a national policy to curb stupid cultural elements via soft psychology is needed....just like "charisma" of a leader is a "psychological" reality so is the "crappy culture"....

3) Intellecutal exodus
suggestive answer) This can be curbed or reversed by very simple method, good salary with confirmed benefits. Very simple....double the salary of all forigen experianced people, I did not say education, I say "experianced" and give solid benefits, and see them return.....

4) Visionary Leaders
suggestive answers) lets abandon this for 50 years, I suggest we move into a format of "servicemen" rather than "leader" cause, listen carefully what i want to suggest, we Pakistanis have no "institutions" so we will never have "leaders" ...what we will have in the name of "leaders" are third rate foto states of the "leaders"...so lets abondon this model after all...lets start moveing towards "servicemen" model....we bring a "server" for 8 years then next under western management....what ever the situation is in the next 50 years, let that nation deal with that....

4)inspiration with passion
suggestive answer) This is actually a very very dangerous and faulty model. Our social sciences and human development models suggest that, "progress" of a nation is dependent upon "continuity" of small and incremental steps over the period of 25 years for ex-colonial societies for a turn around. Societies which were not colonial slaves take 10 years at the most but societies like Pakistan, can be devastating if "surge" or "passion" comes, causes once the "josh" is gone then what ? In USA there is drink called "Red Bull" drank by people who need a "boost" guess what it gives you a boots for 3 hours then it "crashes" you so hard that one keeps sleeping.....are you able to see the fault in this model ....so I am just highlighting the cracks in our experiments as a nation, I am not arguing or making any arguments just a social scientific fact based chit chat ...

5)Nuclear pride
Suggestive answer) Theifs and hungry people are scary on their own, and god forbid if they get a weapon they become nightmarish! Our nuclear program is supposed to be for "peace" which is its prupose, but observe this statement....Nuke to banaya that pakistan ki hifazat ke liye, par ab pakistan saray ko nuke ki hifazat karni par rahi hai!

so i am sharing my thoughts with you guys so that we start understanding our selves ......I see things from outside to understand the big picture first and then i go after the details......Pakistani society gets bogged down with details and misses the big picture...

I suggest that we create a new model of country management........where we do not loose our pride or feel as slaves yet we progress and do a turn around.....I have seen this happen and we can do it .....

Mulla!