Is it safe to go to Pakistan?

Hi all, just wanted some advice as to how safe Pakistan is for me, a 19-year-old unmarried British girl.

I live in the NWFP and my best friend and her family moved to Pakistan a year ago. I heard yesterday that she was kidnapped whilst eid shopping in Attock. I also hear stories of burglaries, murders and abductions in pakistan of especially British families.

My family and I are due to travel to Pakistan in two weeks for my brothers wedding and I’m a but worried to be honest. Am i just being paranoid?

Please share your opinions and personal experience.

Re: Is it safe to go to Pakistan?

depend upon specific areas... ask your relatives in the region about this.. secondly, if you are UK citizen, then I dont think the UK mission in Pakistan would allow you to go to NWFP

well just don't go.
Since every one in pakistan is waiting for a brit to chase after.

I don't believe i said everyone in Pakistan is waiting for a brit to chase after. Its just after my friends disappearance I am reconsidering going to Pakistan and wanted other peoples experiences of travelling to Pakistan.

There is no such thing as safe in this world, nobody would have predicted a cosmopolitan city like London would ever witness a terrorist attack. My cousin studies in Peshawar Uni' and he told me that If you live in the city centre then you are ok, security there is pretty tight, the trouble is around the agencies.

Secondly If you do decide to go then act normal when you get there, blend in with your relatives. Whilst out shopping let your family members do the talking, don't splash the cash, your ipod or designer gear. You know none of the fancy stuff as then you become a easy target for traders, beggers etc

Pakistan still is safe mostly. But only if you are not at the wrong place at the wrong time.

I went in March/April, after 2 years, and everyone urged me not to go, even though I am from Pakistan, very familiar with most of the languages and customs there. Just avoid high profile public areas, especially places where foriengers hang around, especially in Islamabad. You'll be fine, dont worry, and enjoy the wedding/trip!

just make sure you don't get lost. i got lost in market and instantly there were like two men who started following me. and when they see that you are gabraihui then they bug you even more. it was really scary remember to stay in a crowd of people where the lights are all the time. thank god i found my ami and my bhabhi.

no stay away from pakistan no1 is safe here

When in Rome..do as the Romans Do!

Still applies every where equally.......

Best to wear a Bhurqa........No one will bother you..........:biggthumb

Where you live inside lal masjid? huh

body armour is a must. :@:

I was there about 6 months ago, and ground reality is different you hear on the news. Enjoy your trip there. A few suggestions, dress/talk like the locals. If you dress differently you'll make yourself a target.

^ so latex/rubber is a no, no? :hinna:

visited Islamabad some time after hte Lal masjid incident, and was there on august 14th...pretty quiet. dont know xactly when it became so bad-bad, but been visiting lahore every year since 04 and no problem, Allah ka shukar hai

Thank you for all the replies, puts everything into perspective.

well said:)

LMAO! :omg:Reminds me of ‘Muna Bhai MBBS’ this line,
Circuit goes - "bahai aik mootay tazay jaapani tourist ki body chalay gi kiya ?
Munna agrees "haan haan, bus jaldi say bhaij day ":asa:
Circuit - “Bus abhi laa’ya bhai, tum tension nai lainay ka bhai”

Now you know not to hang around at some dhobi ghaat aur bazar dressed in tourist clothes, angeraizi accent and a camera around your neck,
or else there’s a “Circuit” in every city of the world :wink: