the papers have been filed in pakistan BUT not in canada??? this may seem like a stupid question..
Re: Is it really a divorce if
sorry to know about a divorce.
in any event, canadian lawon annullment of a marriage in divorce, will supercede the dicvorce, if you are the citizen of canada.
file for divorce and in less than a few weeks, the atorney will send letters on your behalf to the spouse whom you are divorcing.
since here, allied issues of chil support and restraining order or child are more seriously taken in favor of the not guilty parent, the process is different than what would be back in Pakistan.
check with your lawyer.
best,
Dushwari
Was the marriage registered in canada?
nope.. the nikkah was done in april there, the guy is in pk and the girl is in canada....
If the divorce papers have been signed in either country then technically it is a divorce but I am not sure if it will be considered one in canada. As dush said check with a lawyer.
nope.. the nikkah was done in april there, the guy is in pk and the girl is in canada....
did she file the sponsorship papers then? i dont know if those papers have anything to do with divorce. check with a lawyer or a councilor
In Canada you have to wait a full year before you can file for the no-fault divorce. And no it doesn't matter where the nikah was performed. she can file for divorce here but I think she'll have to get a divorce from Pakistan as well.
i m in the same boat...but fortunately in my case the damned person came here and before the ruksati went back to pak....(alhamdollilah we never got real marriage done)...anways sticking with the topic...yes you have to wait for a yr and then apply for the divorce...and if the divorce is filed and has been registered in canada and the divorce certificate has been issued...then no you do not need to go to pak and get ur divorce registered over there..well tht covers the legal side of the divorce...
now talking abt the relgiious side...if the marriage was never consummated...she can go for an annullment relgiously and have the divorce legally ...kyun k annullment (legally) leney k liye you have to go through alot.... advertise in the paper and what not and us pe bhi garantee nahi hai k the judge will grant an annullment or not..its easier in the states...so its a waste of time and money both.....divorce legally le kar annullment relgiously le saktey hain and even for the religious matter you dont have to vgo to pak ...just go to your local mosque who has the authority to give out such certificates and that certificate will be issued and is well recognized through out the world.
GOOD LUCK...and i hope Allah miya borey logon se sab ko bachaye or koi kisi maqsad k liye (ie immigration or green card) shadi na karey..AMEEN.
thanx guys! that kinda helped :D.. but yeah nuthing had been filed in canada allah ka shukar no sponorship no nikkah nama or anything...
If the person is still in Pakistan and never set foot in Canada then so long as you get divorced in Pakistan that is all that matters. I would think the marriage would be governed by the laws of Pakistan providing that the partner did not set foot in Canada.