I have the habit of playing quran on my cell phone while going to sleep.It stops playing within 10-15 minutes , but I sleep before it stops.I play it so that its the last thing I hear before sleeping.It calms me and helps me sleep quickly too.
Someone recently told me that its wrong to play quran in such a manner because you sleep and aren’t listening to it attentively.
Is it a sin to do it ? Or is it simply preferable not to do it ?
Re: Is it ok to listen to quran when going to sleep ?
[urdu][/urdu]
**“When the Quran is read, listen to it with attention, so that you might be graced with mercy”
*Quran, Chapter:7, verse: 204
LP… hope u r f9…
Well I shared this Verse from Quraan.. but here are some points too…
the Quran should never become background noise as in cars, gatherings etc..
so that all muslims are guilty for ignoring it…
but in ur case.. it’s bit different… you listen to it with a NIYYAT of NIJAAT & Protection throughout the night… and you feel pleasance… ALLAH is Supreme Merciful… and this case is too light to be stated as sin.. I guess…
the person who told you must prove it what he/she says…
I am not much satisfied with this reply of mine… I will get back to this again INSHALLAH…
Wallikum-As-Salam
As far as my little info. You are listening Quran so itself its sawab. dont consider cellphone, iphone, ipad, etc these all are technologies, even you are using it with good intentions. Also you take care of it and respecting as it stop itself after 10 to 15 minute and not like playing all night while no one listening. And why are you thinking that you are not listening it attentively? ofcourse you are listening it attentively thats why you become relax and fall asleep.
In addition to my previous reply..
It is stated that if You are listening to Quraan with full concentration then you are gaining Sawab… But, if you are just playing it and not paying attention then it’s a sin…
I have consulted an Aalim… He said this is a matter of “Ahmiyyat/Importance”
For example: You are sitting infront of your mother/father/teacher and he/she is talking to you but You are putting ur back on them…
Also he stated,
“Quran sun’na, Khana Kabba ka nazara kerna aur Apne Parents ke chehre ko dekhna Sawab Ki Sale hai…”
but remember you are paying full attention to it… and on the other hand if you are listening to Quran but suddenly slept then it’s not a problem…