is it in your `right` to know what your going to wear

Re: is it in your right to know what your going to wear

i got engaged on 12 march 2009...its a love engagement wit consent of parents ofcourse...telling u gals i had an appoinment at 5 at madiha's lhr n my dress was not witme til 4 30....i had no idea wat da coilour was n wat da fitting wud b...i was fiting wit my fiancee again n again dat wat wil happen if sumthn goes wrong wit fitting od dress or wat if i dont like it...in a nutshell my saas n nund brought me da clothes at almost time of ma appointment.. took da risk of going2saloon without even checking it..well though it suited me well n i was looking amazing yet i was not given ny details of ma dress...moreova it was such a big tension yaar dat in 2hours its ma engagement n no signs of lothes n jewellery...
its v frustating dat inlaws dont care of da desires n feelings of thier DILS...they hav got difernt rules 4own daughters n sum1 else daughters..........i wonder abt ma shadi now..wat wil my dominating saas wud b doing 2ma clothes n jewels...:(

^That's pretty unreasonable. It's one thing to surprise you, but they shouldn't be leaving it so late. I think you can talk to your MIL about the shadi clothes, just say if you can have them a day or two before to check the fit.

The only thing that I think may cause that sort of delay is like with my MIL I think she really didn't want anyone to see my clothes until I entered IN them. She wanted the drama and the effect to be significant. Still, I had my mangni clothes the night before and my shadi and valima clothes three days before the wedding.

I did end up wearing the jewelry Nani and Ammi designed, rather than the one MIL gave me, just because it was heavier and because it was important to them. I asked MIL and she said of course that was fine with her.

I know wat im gettin on every function! hell ill be wearin it surely i gota like it! Its not ur right to know- but id be far to curiuos but it'd be nice to know.

I was one of the lucky ones who got to make her walima dress on her own. it was all my choice and turned out even more beautiful than the baraat one but the pics came out horrible as my walima was not in lahore and the MUA did a terrible job sniff sniff.. so it's the jewellery and the makeup that matter too.

nadz..do you think you can do anything about the dress even if you know the colours,get a pic or even see it in person before the big day??? so just chill !!! wishing you all the best !

well for my nikkah my mom in law took me to a designer and we piked the jora together but for my walima she piked it out herself but came to our place with the pics to ask if i like it or not b4 ordering, honestly im not verrrry fond of my walima jora , its too heavy for me but i understood that she wanted a lot of pomp and ceremony for her one and only bahoo so i pretended i really liked it...my BFF was besides herself when she found out that the jora wasnt my choice but like i said to her i got married to the guy of my choice i dont care even if they bring a sasta lawn ka suit for me :P so what im trying to say is ... if u love the guy then wearing even the most ajeeb jora to make him and his family happy is so totally worth it!

Nadz babes

Little girl with so much on her head

with all respect, I hope you dont get a nervous breakdown.

thanks guys, yeh man nervous breakdown on the way...

oh well if im back on gupsgup after marriage, il be a whole diff person

:) wishing u best of luck dear

Good luck

thankyou lovelies

I people should realize that such surprises are not worth the price of tension on the bride.
I'm sure your MIL is very well meaning and excited about it, and that's why she wants to surprise you, but I agree it's frustrating nonetheless.
Things have changed a lot from the days of brides being told not to smile, talk, or look anywhere else besides down, or having their dress color be a "surprise".
But at the same time, don't get worked up over it. Most shaadi dresses are gorgeous. And your MIL wouldn't be excited it and wanting to surprise you if it was ugly.
I'll bet you anything that it's gorgeous, and she wants to give her dear DIL this special gift in a grand manner or with a great effect, which often comes with surprise :-)

You know nadz, its just like that, ppl always choose for their DIL but dont like the fact for their own daughters...
personnaly , i think that is wrong. In laws, should show the clothes and specially the walima dress they are making for you.
they should respect your likes and dislikes and taste.
my mom let my SIS in law make her walima dress herself, she just paid her mother, when the dress was made.( so , that, my sis in law couldnt say all her life, i didnt like the walima, dress, or, mujh se mera taste nahin poocha...bla bla bla....)
and i think its better this way...
what do you think?

yeh i agree....but im deciding not to think bout it...i did ask them to send me a pic...his sister and me are not as comfy with each other as i am wtih his younger brother...i wasnt expecting her to send it..she just kept saying its beautiful dnt wrry., hai hai....anyway ive been told its beautiful.hmmmmmm

and also that the mendi outfit is umbrella style wtf?

Hahah what a weird type of joke is this, I understand you ! I don't know why some people like this type of joke. I would kill my fiance , if the dress is not made of my choice... but you have to accept this weird type's of people's ...

nadzz life gets too dificult wit fiancee if i complain dat ma clothes did nt arrive on time...i was not given a clucth so wat if i did nt had it withme by chance?ma inlawa came just on ma makeup appointment time 2 get me ma dress witout shoes n cluch...now they didnt evven gav i a thought k i may not hav matchn shoes n purse as i was in lhr n not in khi whr i live...they r so mercyless..
i even had a fite today with fiance wen i saiod that i was treated oddly...not even ma complete jora was given 2 me
i wont 4get it through out ma life that despite havn enuf of money n commodities my mom in law was strange enuf 2get me a mere dress n choorian...
thats the price i had 2 pay 2 b a gal or 2 b the choice of his son...m pretty sure she wud b givin me such surprises latter on ma shadi as wel just on baaraat or walima...

aaah madiha.. brought back memories. I had my baraat makeup done there.. and my bhabhi had her baraat makeup done too...

When it comes to mother i laws, I think the only solution or lets say a strategy is to keep an understanding between you and you fiance/ Hubby. Dunt make things an issue, or dunt even fight over them. Make him understand how do you feel about it. You are getting married only once. This is one in a life time thing. Mother in laws have had their turns already. They even get to boss around on their children weddings.... I think they should let DIL to use their right cuz these moments are more special to DIL than MIL.....

Try to be diplomatic and make you rfiance/ Hubby deal with his mom ( by not making it an issue) or else they wont do it. Just try to have emotional affects, without letting him know whats in your mind. This is just to get things done a smoother way and to avoid fussy and bossy MILs.

seriously....if the outfit is that big of a deal for u, then why not get ur own? that way if u dont like what they gie you u can wear it and say a big Eff you to them for having awful taste.

^LMAO.

girls, take a chill pill! im amazed at some of the comments like "they are so merciless..."
its not the end of the world.

remember to prioritize whether it is worth it to do badmazgi or if its better to keep it quiet.

if you get great clothes, brilliant. if not, you can either suck it up and wear them or have a backup ready if your'e picky, and let someone on the other side know that you will keep a backup just in case. who knows, maybe then they just might involve you in the process too.

Alhumdulliah.. my fiance shares everything with me, he asked me what kinda dress you want and in what color.. he then goes " Let's look the best on that day" .. so there you go, you have to communicate and open up to each other... I can't believe your In Laws are not discussing it with you.. but maybe they know you really well to be so confident about it.. either way , wish you luck!