I am going to be putting my lil bubz in childcare in a few months (in August) but need advice on how to transition her into it..
She has been going to my mum for 4 days a week and she has been doing Mashallah really well.. but I’ll be needing to put her in childcare 5 days a week pretty soon.
Do you think it’s best to start her in slowly? as in 2 days at mums and 3 days at childcare? what’s the best strategy? She’ll be 18 months (Mashallah) by the time she starts.. do you think it’ll be easy?
I’m preparing myself to just put a stone on my heart and just do it.. there’s no other way..
sadzz, i wrote about my experience a few times and honestly it will sound boring if i write it all over again. Maybe u can search, Roman opened a topic a few weeks ago, which i found some nice replies.
My opinion if u mix the two methods u will confuse the little one, i think its best to leave her 5 days at carecenter from the start and with time they will love it, if the center is good.
Dont worry the start is allways hard at first, btw mines was around that age as i put her, will u be workiing full time?
why childcare? what childcare? I'd never put my kid in childcare, jo marrzi hojai and I'm a man who stands to what he says!
refrain from telling me (or anyone else) about why we shouldn't put kids in childcare.. thank u
SaadiaB, yeah i think ive read views on childcare... i shall try with the 5 days.. i was thinking of putting her in 3 days for the first two weeks and then see from there.. and yeah, i work full-time
refrain from telling me (or anyone else) about why we shouldn't put kids in childcare.. thank u
SaadiaB, yeah i think ive read views on childcare... i shall try with the 5 days.. i was thinking of putting her in 3 days for the first two weeks and then see from there.. and yeah, i work full-time
I would suggest, if possible, to send her the full 5 days, but start out with 1/2 day sessions if possible. Maybe your mom can pick up baby 1/2 day to start with and grdually increase the time there.
I also work full time, and had to put my son in. Its almost harder to adjust if he does a flip flop from child care to grandma's...harder to get used to. Any new environment will take time to getting used to, but they do and they end up liking it, and get to play games, with other kids..sing....abc's..etc.
I worked in a montessori school for about 1.5-2 yrs...worked with toddlers ages 18months-2yrs.
If one must put their child in daycare...it's best to do it 5 days a week (if you are working 5 days a week). They benefit from the program more AND the transition is much easier and quicker for them. I have seen some kids that are put in the 3day a week program and they just never seem to get used to it.
btw off topic but....I really suggest putting your child in a montessori school (that is a licenced montessori program) as oppose to daycare. Please do look into it. :)
I would suggest, if possible, to send her the full 5 days, but start out with 1/2 day sessions if possible. Maybe your mom can pick up baby 1/2 day to start with and grdually increase the time there.
I also work full time, and had to put my son in. Its almost harder to adjust if he does a flip flop from child care to grandma's...harder to get used to. Any new environment will take time to getting used to, but they do and they end up liking it, and get to play games, with other kids..sing....abc's..etc.
Go for childcare. These people are professional. They will handle your baby with care and know how to deal with adjustment issues.
I always prefer to leave my kids with a professional nanny than a known “aunty” because they are trained to handle and know that they are working for you so they don’t complain as much as aunties do!
Of course, the love of your mom cannot be replaced, but a consistent care program will also nourish your child, and when you get back to your baby, you can compensate for all the missed hours by showering all your love and affection, and most of all quality time.
i would say go with 3 days first and phir 5 days....Also be very careful when picking childcare institute....i would recommend go with your baby couple of days and see how they treat other kids...i mean i know this baby she was like 22 months when she started going to childcare and she turned out soooo batameez...she likes to hit everybody...she screams all the time..basically no manners....i am not telling you this to scare you but just make sure that the environment of that place is healthy for your child.
that could be because the child see’s other kids doing the same thing. also I see many kids act like this and they dont even go to a child care facility.
Blame is not completely on the day care providers some kids are naturally like this and they grow out of it…others are just not taught manners from home. however…properly trained providers will do what they can to correct such behavior but ultimately it isnt there job to do so…it all starts from home.
to get back to the topic…you should also know **sadzz **that many day care providers do not necessarily go through any formal training/schooling. Some of the teachers only have experience and that is about it. At a montessori school (yes i am a huge promoter and supporter of it)…ALL lead teachers MUST have formal education and training (which is constantly updated) to teach at a certified/licenced montessori school…once again plz look into it
Personally, i think there is no need for transition as such of putting ur bubz wid ur mum for 2 days and 3 days with childcare provider, as that will just make it more difficult for ur little un to adjust as the surrounding, environment, people, routine, food, activities, etc will be totally different which can be confusing for a 18mnth old... and when they reach that 'terrible two' stage its definetly a no-no to do such thing as children need a set routine from day 1...
If you want ur little one to settle in nice n easy in nursery/childcare environment then speak to d professionals, d staff and management will give u ideas which help ur child's transition from home care to nursery care go smoothly... best bet is to go to childcare provider - ie nursery for initial visit with child, look around and talk / get to know other parents whose children attend, or in neighbourhood whose children are the same age as you to get a feel of what to expect.. then the best way is usually to book little 'un in for a 1hr session on monday (for example), then book a 2hr session on tuesday, then try booking a 1/2 day session on wednesday then thursday and friday builds up to the full day time hours - and you will see the difference in ur child's confidence and how her independence increases as each day you increase the time she stays on at childcare provider... trust me, you have to trust the professionals in this, as they are the ones who are experienced, and have knowledge of tried and tested ways of getting children to settle in with their range of 'settling in' sessions.. hope it all goes well!
At the end of the day, if people are funny about putting their children in childcare between the ages of 0-5yrs whilst they go out to earn money for their family/household - then why is it ok to send their children to nursery, school, college, uni??? why not sit at home, give up your job and educate your child from birth to say 21yrs and see how that experiment goes??
There are obviously advantages and disadvantages of opting for childcare outside or even by arranging it at home with a relative - but one thing is for sure, the established routine, the social interaction and the stimulating environment the nursery/childcare setting provides cannot be compared with the home childcare.
But then again it is personal choice as to what you opt for as its your child and ultimately only u can and should decide what suits your child and you best... btw, i have noticed one of the reasons why some desis look down upon childcare outside the home is because of cost, but they obviously won't admit that to you - so take no notice of such people and do what your heart tells you - at the end of the day i say 'Mother knows best'...
Fiker not sadzz..iNshallah yr child will be fine :)..childcare achay hotay hain and especially ab tu govt k laws bhi strict hain..:),,,..agar islamic childcare centre ho tu woh zyada acha hoga..coz den bachay ki islamic base banay gi:)..
Sadzzz I don't mean to scare you, but I agree with what Angel Eyes said. Go with the professionals in Montessori. I don't know about the system in your town, but I have heard/seen so many childcare centers closed due to their neglect or because they hired unprofessional people. That cause parents a lot of inconvenience when the parents received phone calls at work that the childcare is closing, come pick up your child and arrange for tomorrow. While the Montessori may cost a little bit more, but you want to make sure that your child is in best professional hands. That way you will also have peace of mind while at work.
shikra, im not too concerned about the childcare closing down.. as it;s run by my employer.. they have a few around the area i work in, so i dont think they are going to close down, Inshallah..
Yeah, I have heard good reviews by most parents who put their children in childcare.. apparently their social skills are a lot better and just their communication. My daughter is at a stage where she picks up things in minutes.. so i think it'd be good for her..
and i totally agree with the fact that leaving her at home with someone (although they get the love and attention), is just a bit hard... cus u end up expecting soooo much of the carer and u forget they have lives too... also the childcare centres are child safe... another big plus!!!
for those of u who are judging mothers for working or watever.... pls pls refrain... one day when ur a mother/father.. and have mortgages and have to deal with lifes unexpectedness... then u'll know... and to be honest, i personally think childcare is very good for a child... even if i werent working.. i'd send my daughter once or twice a week just so she interacted with kids..
Numb....ok fine...just maybe you arent judging working mothers...but you sure are off topic. :)
also want to add to shikra's post....
Most daycare teachers tend to come and go...there is no consistency.. Just when a child gets used to one person...they leave. :( I know this because my khala owns and runs a daycare with about 200 kids....so I hear so many stories.
In a montessori environment (the certified ones)....the teachers are there for yrs mostly because they get a great benefits package and are paid more. The child sticks with the same teacher for 3 yrs before they are moved into the next phase of the program.
Consistency is very important for a child especially at such a young age.
**Sadzz **so before enrolling your child at a daycare be sure to ask about the turn-over rate.