Is it better to wipe over the socks or to wash the feet?

Praise be to Allaah.

The majority of scholars, including Abu Haneefah, Maalik and al-Shaafa’i, are of the view that it is better to wash the feet. They said: that is because the basic principle is washing the feet, so that is better.

See al-Majmoo’, 1/502 

Imam Ahmad was of the view that wiping over the socks is better. He gave the following evidence for that: 

1 – It is easier, and the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) was never given the choice between two things but he chose the easier of the two, so long as it was not a sin; if it was a sin he would be the furthest removed of the people from it. Narrated by al-Bukhaari (3560) and Muslim (2327).

2 – It is a concession, and the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Allaah loves concessions to be taken as He hates sin to be committed.” Narrated by Ahmad, 5832; classed as saheeh by al-Albaani in Irwa’ al-Ghaleel, 564.

3 – Wiping over the socks involves being different from the people of bid’ah who reject it, such as the Khaarijis and Raafidis.

There are many ahaadeeth from the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) which indicate that he did both: he washed his feet and he wiped over his khuffayn (leather slippers). This led some scholars to say that wiping and washing are the same. This was the view favoured by Ibn al-Mundhir (may Allaah have mercy on him).

Shaykh al-Islam Ibn Taymiyah and his student Ibn al-Qayyim were of the view that either may be better depending on the circumstances of his feet. If a person is wearing socks it is better to wipe over them, and if his feet are bare, it is better to wash them, and he should not put socks on in order to wipe over them.

This is indicated by the hadeeth of al-Mugheerah ibn Shu’bah (may Allaah have mercy on him) who wanted to take off the Prophet’s khuffayn in order to wash his feet. The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said to him: “Leave them, for I put them on pure,” so he wiped over them.” Narrated by al-Bukhaari, 206; Muslim, 274. This indicates that wiping is better for one who is wearing socks.

This is also indicated by the report narrated by al-Tirmidhi (96) from Safwaan ibn ‘Assaal (may Allaah be pleased with him) who said: The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) used to tell us when we were travelling not to take off our kufoof for three days and nights, except in the case of janaabah, but if one defecated, urinated or slept (there was no need to take them off). Classed as hasan by al-Albaani in Irwa’ al-Ghaleel, 104. The command to wipe indicates that it is better, but that applies to one who is wearing socks.

Shaykh al-Islam Ibn Taymiyah said: 

Conclusion: what is better for each one is that which is suited to his circumstances. For the one whose feet are bare, it is better for him to wash them, and he should not put on socks so that he can wipe over them, because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) used to wash his feet when they were bare, and he would wipe over them if he was wearing khufoof. End quote from al-Insaaf, 1/378

Ibn al-Qayyim said in Zaad al-Ma’aad (1/199): 

He is not required to do more than is required with regard to the situation of his feet. If he is wearing khufoof, he should wipe over them and not take them off, and if his feet are bare he should wash them, and he should not put on socks so that he can wipe over them. This is the most correct opinion concerning the issue of whether wiping or washing is better. This is the view of our Shaykh (i.e., Shaykh al-Islam Ibn Taymiyah). End quote.

Islam Q&A ([www.islam-qa.com](http://www.islam-qa.com))[http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=45535&dgn=4](http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=45535&dgn=4)

Re: Is it better to wipe over the socks or to wash the feet?

when i see it difficult to remove socks, and when i am in a hurry, i just wipe over the socks....

^^ Using the same analogy can I wipe my behind with a toilet paper rather than the whole procedure of Lota and fingers (yuck):yukh: amd call ita day right??

if one has a serious injury and removing socks or if water was to make contact with the feet and that in return would do more harm then in that condition wiping or doing masa over the mozai is fine.

very'desperate'zon u know what he mean't or r u adat sai majboor. in that case tumhara allah he hafiz

when I wear stockings, I do wipe over my feet.

wipe over the socks? thats brilliant :k:

brilliant!

u very well can use toilet paper…

in the days of the Prophet (saw) neither did they have running water toilets nor was the lota fashion available…
they used stones (matti ke dheelay) so I dont think using toilet paper is wrong…

According to my knowledge, only leather socks are allowed to have Massa'h

Also, only water or dry sand can be used for Istanja. Paper is not allowed.

Wallaho Alam!

By “not allowed” you mean ‘haram’ i take it? Where do you get that view from?

It is not essential for socks to be of leather

Praise be to Allaah.

It was narrated that al-Mugheerah ibn Shu’bah said: “The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) did wudoo’ and wiped over his socks and shoes.” (Narrated by al-Tirmidhi, 92; classed as saheeh by al-Albaani in Saheeh Sunan al-Tirmidhi, no. 86)

The author of al-Qaamoos said: jawrab (socks) means something that is wrapped around the feet.

Abu Bakr ibn al-‘Arabi said: jawrab means a thin cover for the feet made of wool, worn to keep the feet warm.

It was narrated that Yahyaa al-Bakka’ said: I heard Ibn ‘Umar saying, “Wiping over the socks (jawrabayn) is like wiping over the leather slippers (khuffayn).”

Al-Musannaf by Ibn Abi Shaybah, 1/173

Ibn Hazm said: wiping over anything that is worn on the feet – of things that are permitted to be worn and which come up above the ankles – is Sunnah, whether they are slippers (khuffayn) made of leather or felt or wood, or socks made of linen, wool, cotton, camel hair or goat hair, whether leather is worn over them or not, or whether they are overshoes or slippers worn over slippers or socks worn over socks.

Al-Muhalla, 1/321

Some scholars differed as to whether it is permissible to wipe over the slippers (khuffaayn). The correct view as indicated by the evidence is that it is permissible to do that, as stated above.

And Allaah knows best.

See the answer to Question No. 8186 and 9640

Islam Q&A
Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid (www.islam-qa.com)

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=13954&dgn=4

i see no reason why toilet paper cannot be used…

plz share with us a valid source for ur conclusion…

qureshi sahib ..can u give me the logic behind only performing masaa over leathered socks..If u have have a genuine explanation , plz enlighten us otherwiswe plz dont write just on hearsay or for the heck of it..
regarding using only sand, again i feel u have restrained islam to the 7th century..remember that islam is for all times & the whole world..the reason the example of sand was given was because it was the predominent compenent in that region of the world.

one reason is that woolen socks and other such fabrics allow dirt to penetrate while leather socks dont....

imam abu hanifa (ra) has thus allowed masah only on leather socks/shoes....

other imams however allow masah on normal socks too....

Ok I dont understand. Certain rules apply when you need to hurry for prayers or if you are late, but if you have time to do proper wudoo why not wash the feet?

the only source I remember for me is Aap kay Masaail aur unn ka hull in Friday urdu Jang Newpaper by Shaikh Yousuf Ludhiyanvi Shaheed:rehm: several years ago.

One has to be very careful when making statements. Just because it isn't allowed in one madhab does not mean it automatically becomes wrong/makrooh/haraam and the like.

Salaam all

My understanding of this (from the hanafi perspective which usually applies to most pakistanis) is that you cannot wipe over socks that are thin ie you must be able to walk a certain distance in these sock. I dont think they have to be leather but they must be of a certain strength.

I researched this as I often needed to make wudo in places where it wasnt practical to wash my feet (office, travels etc). I found that you must make wudo and then put on the socks that fullfil these conditions. And then when you need to pray you make wudo as normal and then simply wet you hands and wipe over the sock.

I have never used socks but I wipe over my boots and pray in them (controversial to most apnay but perfectly legal). You have to pray in those socks or shoes cos once removed, your wudo is finished. I also heard that the shoe/sock must be strong, waterproof and cover the ankle.

You can buy goretex / sealskins socks for £20 that look and feel like normal socks but do fullfil the wiping criteria.

[thumb=H]sock13473_3216687.JPG[/thumb]

^^ I didn’t even read the post. Picture alone says all.
:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:

What so funny about a sock ?