Is it all about chemistry?

1-We are originated by chemical structure. (DNA)

2-We are modualated by chemicals. (DNA change/mutation, Drugs, medications)

3-When we die we are nothing but a big piece of complex organic chemical.

Number 3 statement says it all I think. Get my drift? :wink:

So what is β€˜life’?

Define it. :slight_smile:

Re: Is it all about chemistry?

**zindagii kia hai? chand 'anaasir kaa zahuur-e-tarteeb!
maut kia hai? unhiiN ajzaa~ kaa bikhar jaanaa!!!

[what is life? its the manifestation/arrangement of certain elements...whats death? its the dispersal of the same elements!!!]**

Yes. I had this shayr in mind when posted my quetion. That is a good shayr. It is written on the first page of biochemistry book by a Pakistani author.
A lot of examples can be cited in favor of this but when it comes to really try to bring life we need another 'live' entity.

And why is it not possibe to begin 'life' from a pure chemical experiment?

P.S. The correct Shayr as far as I remember is:

Zindagi Kia Hai Anaasir ka Zahoore Turteeb
Maut Kia Hai Inhi Ajza Ka Pareshaan Hona

yes...ur version seems to be a better she'r and is more qareen e qayaas.

we read in Qur'an that after adam's body was created from clay, Allah ne unke jism e Khaaki meN apnii rooH phooNkii aur adam zinda ho gaye to yehii vo rooH hai which indeed we can NOT analyse. and Allah also says man has been created in Allah's image.**

Thanks. This is one relgious answer.

So Rooh is what makes chemical arrangement bring in to life as per this answer.

What can be irreligious answer? Can it be?

Here is another way to present this idea:

Human being - human body = human soul

Here is the irreligious idea of the difference between a dead body and a living one:

The living body is the duration through which "ordered" biochemical processes take place that can be observed as systematic behaviour, i.e. the heart and lungs work together, the stomach and mouth work together and the digestive system works with hunger and eating processes outside stimulus works with inside processes, when these stop happening as a result in the biochemical balance falling below a given threshold then all the systems fall apart from one another and this is called death.
When exeternal intervention is required the body may be dieing or already dead.

Good thought.

Numerous examples can be given when there is impending death and people survive with quick action to reverse the process of death.

Some people claim they saw themselves on bed and doctors working on them to bring them to 'life'.

anything that has the ability to multiply...or replicate itself.

Yes, it may be definition of something 'alive'.

we are here to live …
til will die..
.then and only then we will know the answer why..
or not,
but the rooh is the main frame of our personality
:khums:

^So what is rooh?

See DNA has a very specific structure and any small chemical change in it can change not only the physical appearance of living object but also the thinking process (behavior).
Cloning also requires DNA. A chemical structure.

When heart surgery is done, heart is paralyzed with high potassium and cold fluid. And rewarming the heart and taking out potassium can jump start the heart beat again. The whole process of heart beat depends on chemical/electrolyte balance across the cell walls. Sodium/potassim/calcium interactons.

Here, what I gave examples is both beginning of life and end of life depends on chemical structure and the integrity of chemical structure.

Medications/drugs are chamicals and have strong effects on living organisms also.

It could be my big Victory if i understand what is life and why i am alive :what:

most likely we are just a biological entity made of hydrocarbons. when we die.... we may just die.
there may be no god, no heaven, no hell , no nothing.
all the religions may be man made and they may have lied to us and there is very very strong possibility of that.

we are the only species who worry about after life and ruin this one, others take it as it is.

just live every day you have and you will have a life. :)

BTW i am not an atheist.

Elaborate a little the last sentence.

Try to 'join' other comments to the last one please.

my last sentence is my faith in an all powerful entity, rest is worldly facts.

Got it.

It is called mental balance in my book.

Be aware of 'other' argument :)

Y'All sound like the church of Scientology.......:D

All except psyah!

Great Psyah bro talks about deep spiritual sense. :)

I merely talked about scientific basis of life and death here.

Perhaps you need to explain your signature.

:sleep:

OK since you asked about my signature.............that Bhai Diwana Sahib is a direct quotation from an American Photographer by profession who passed away in 1945, his name was Edgar Cayce, and he was known as the "sleeping prophet" he wrote or had people write a few books and also started an Insitute in Virginia, he healed people by prescribing natural and herbal remedies. people he had never met but who wrote to him for help.

Check him out, America's own Psychic or Clairvoyant who had abilities to channel!