Originally posted by ahmadjee:
**Saadia! THANK YOU for the qutations.
Though I am not comfortable with the "()" in the translations.
In this perticual instance by putting the brackets we actually limit the understanding of Quran to one way. If you read the translation without the 'brackets' you would realize the difference.
For woman & men it is required to cover up their bodies which in terms dictate modesty.
Woman at the time of AnHazoor (saw) didn't all used to do Parda (hijab) in one way-- Black outer clothing with only eyes being shown. **
AoA, i didn't put the brackets in myself. Women did use to observe hijab after I think it was revealed in the Quran to cover themselves, but Prophet's (SAW) wives use to wear niqab. I think some other women wore niqab too. As it was stated in some hadith that women would go to the mosque for Fajr prayer and return home without being known who they are b/c of their niqabs.
What you said is very true! And I know you didn't put the "()" in. :)
I am merely pointing out that the essence of Parda is to cover one's body, & not be luring. Which can be done is many different ways in different part of the world according to culture.
The reason being that culture changes constantly. And as Islam is the final religion, but constant, it has to cover all cultures of all time, at all places.
I am all for woman's Parda 'and especially men lowering their gazes' but do not accept that there is only one (or two) type of clothes that cover one's body.
Doesn’t matter how you cover it. As long as your body’s covered in a modest way and according to Quran and Sunnah. “esp. men lowering their gazes” YEA !!! Men need to lower their gaze too !!! It was not only said to women, but also to men
24:30
Tell the believing men to lower their gaze (from looking at forbidden things), and protect their private parts (from illegal sexual acts, etc.). That is purer for them. Verily, Allâh is All-Aware of what they do.
I've been watching with earnest but nobody has proven the validity of Women wearing the veil.
I will do the honours for you.
The Qur'aan clearly states:
033.059 O Prophet! Tell thy wives and daughters, and the believing women, that they should cast their outer garments over their persons (when abroad): that is most convenient, that they should be known (as such) and not molested. And Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.
mashaAllah te subhanAllah…
very hi nice te informative kakay-oz te kaki-oz…
thanx 4 posting te sharing…
God bless u all…
perda-nasheen…
DerVaisH
muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…