Is India the root cause of Pakistan's problems?

Is India the root cause of Pakistan’s problems? I was reading this letter from Dawn which pretty much blames India.

Jaswant Singh’s talk

THE BJP leader and former Indian foreign minister, Mr Jaswant Singh, made some assertions while speaking at the Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies in the US (Dawn, Nov 3.)

First, that India will have to live with the fact that the US will continue to rely on Pakistan as a key ally in the war against terror. Not content with this apparent display of jealousy, he pretended that India was somehow being victimised as a consequence, by saying that the US has no other option and “therefore India would have to continue to pay a price.”

Second, that Washington must not act as an “external equaliser in South Asia but should leave the region alone.

Third, that “the US often loses interest and Pakistan on its own begins to flounder and when it flounders, there are difficulties for India.”

Finally, “One of the failures of India’s diplomacy has been its inability to manage its relations with all its neighbours,” he said, and “if I don’t admit it, then I am denying the existing reality.”

The first contention appears to reflect India’s unhappiness that soon after 9/11 the US had refused to avail New Delhi’s lightning fast offer of helping Washington in its plans to invade Afghanistan. Also, that accepting India’s, rather than Pakistan’s collaboration would have strengthened the former’s position and influence, at the cost of the latter.

The second point aims at keeping the US from involving itself in the affairs of the region, which would enable India to freely exercise its hegemony that it simply loves to do.

The third assertion regarding Pakistan’s ‘floundering’ has more to do with India’s behaviour towards this country than any other reason.

This, in reality, is the major cause of most of Pakistan’s problems. A couple of years ago the British Medical Journal (BMJ) had published a report stating that the people of India, Pakistan and other South Asian countries are in a dramatically poor health, both physically and mentally. It had made a special mention of Pakistan and said that about 34 per cent of the interviewees (and presumably, all Pakistanis) suffered from depressive disorders and anxiety, which was apparently the highest in the region.

The BMJ report considered the root cause of all this South Asian trouble to be socio-political instability, economic uncertainty, violence, regional conflicts and dislocation for the past three decades. One would add that in case of Pakistan the problems aren’t restricted to just these factors. At independence, nearly one million Muslims were massacred and nine million made refugees, whereas the corresponding figure for the Hindus was only a fraction of this.

This was followed by several wars; dismemberment of the country by India in 1971; the frightful Soviet invasion of Afghanistan when Pakistan had seemed the next target; arrival of four million Afghan refugees along with the ensuing gun and drug culture and the severe social and economic problems that caused enormous mental stress.

The single biggest stressor has been India’s constant bullying because we are only one-seventh in size and its unwillingness to accept the partition. The large defence spending necessitated by the Indian attitude and behaviour, including its nuclear status since 1974, compelled us to divert scarce resources away from health, education, poverty eradication and social welfare. Not only Pakistan but every neighbour of India has had grievances against it, which gets reflected in Mr Singh’s final remark.

As the largest country in the region, India owes it to its own poor people — who are themselves suffering, as is obvious from the BMJ report — and to its neighbours to treat everyone fairly and compassionately so that their lives can get better. To begin with, New Delhi must grant the rights of the Kashmiris and the northeastern states’ residents, the Dalits, Muslims and other minorities, which will eliminate all of the self-created militancy in India, for which it conveniently keeps blaming Pakistan.

http://www.dawn.com/2006/11/29/letted.htm#1

M.Y. KHAN
Karachi

Re: Is India the root cause of Pakistan's problems?

its one reader's letter to a newspaper.

• The BMJ report considered the root cause of all this South Asian trouble to be socio-political instability, economic uncertainty, violence, regional conflicts and dislocation for the past three decades*

so as far as india and pak go, from regional conflicts perspective, it seems what one country does, has an impact on the other. The rest of the factors are mostly domestic anyways.

Sorry, I haven't read this article - will read later on but still wanna say this as an aswer to the thread title,
The root cause of Pakistan's problems is Pakistani nation. Others can create problems but those only arise if a nation is not strong enough.

So India wanted to send to troops yo Afghanistan right after 9/11?

The root cause of India's problems is its very own Name "INDIA" given to subjugated populations by Imperialist Foriegners from Europe who call any nonwhite race an "Indian" race.

Look at the American "Red Indians", Mayan "Indians" and ofcourse "India's Indians"

But wait there are no Indians in India right, India's civilization is older than the English or any other European race.

**Here we have close to a billion people who have no pride in their roots and are stuck with a name they can not even call their own....:( **

Re: Is India the root cause of Pakistan’s problems?

Hmm… Good thinking

**Does that mean you agree?...:) **

Well here is the reply to that letter in Dawn Newspaper :

Accepting ground realities

M.Y. Khan’s letter ‘Jaswant Singh’s talk’ (Nov 29), makes for interesting reading. I find his remark about India being responsible for Pakistan’s “floundering’ to be queer. I also wonder where he has come with the figure of nine million of Muslims massacred in 1947 while the figure for Hindus massacred were only a fraction of this.

India has fought more wars than Pakistan; if India could recover from them why couldn’t Pakistan? India was not responsible for the crackdown on the Awami League in East Pakistan by Yahya Khan. The events that followed need no justification. The only reason Pakistan flounders is the hold the army has in its national polity and the fact that it has not matured as a nation in the manner a nation ought to be run (judiciary, parliament, elections, etc). Is India responsible for the coups that keep happening with monotonous regularity? How can a partition that took place 50 years ago be the reason for poor mental health of the nation today?

Accepting ground realities is the key to move forward. Till the army in Pakistan does not stay in their barracks and its people start deciding their own future, the nation will continue to ‘flounder’ as Mr Khan has put it.

ANAND K. SINGH UP , India

(II)

IT was amusing to read M.Y. Khan’s letter. This behaviour is typical of South Asians; instead of rationalising and owning up to our weaknesses, we tend to blame our neighbours for all our problems. We also start proposing solutions to our neighbours’ problems.

I have one simple question to ask Mr Khan. The three important challenges that Pakistan faces today are growth of religious fanaticism and terrorism, lack of a democratic culture, and increased poverty resulting from lack of economic growth. Are these problems caused by India or did they arise from wrong choices made by the leaders and masses of Pakistan?

Instead of worrying about Dalits and Christians in India, should not Mr Khan be more concerned about the plight of women in Pakistan or the total breakdown of law and order in the large metropolis of Karachi?

S. RAVI Singapore

http://www.dawn.com/2006/12/01/letted.htm

Please see entry below.

Mere Pyare dosto,

I don't think we in India have any interest in fomenting trouble in already troubled Pakistan. We have enough on our plate to take care of.

Regarding the name India..so what if people in India don't call their country with ancient names such as Bharat or Bharat Varsh which are always used in Hindi textbooks..we accept it whole heartedly and this is how world knows us.

There are many countries which have changed their names like Compuchea becoming Cambodia, Rhodesia becoming Zimbabwe

Persia-Iran, Tanganyka - Tanzania..Gold Coast becoming Ghana,
Korea was called Chosan by Japan..Nippon-Japan..the list is an armlong. Changing the names doesn't change history as well as society and its values.

Try changing your own names and tell me the time and money you have to spend in doing this exercise!!

Learn to appreciate history by being unbiased. Bharat or Bharatvarsh extended from beyond Afghanistan (It was known as Gaandhaar and had a fourishing Buddhist civilisation...do you remember Bamiyan Buddhas..how stupid that people simply destroyed their heritage) and right upto Java, Sumatra and Borneo and of course it was a cluster of kingdoms but with several common faiths/beliefs. This collection of major islands was known as 'Navdweep' i.e. nine islands.

I am very keen on finding out what kind of history is being taught in schools in Pakistan. What I have heard is that a completely distorted version dictated by politicians although not liked by academics is being taught in schools....thanks to Gen Zia Ul Haq and his band of sycophants.

Please check the following article on web. "The Poison in the books we teach" - Mr. Khaled Ahmed

It shows that young children are indeed being brought up on hate material.

You guys should know that history of this sub-continent was presented in a completely distorted manner by European historians especially the Brits...and there is no shortage of historians on either side of the border who have earned their PhD's by making a bibliography out the 'works' of European historians.

When was the term Pakistan coined..mid 1930's. What was this region known before 1947? and what were the religions/faiths practiced before the advent of Islam. Hinduism, Buddism, Judaism, Zoroastrianism etc.

Indonesia became an Islamic country but society couldn't get rid of its unislamic language 'Bahasa' replete with hundreds of Sanskrit Words. 'Bahasa' itself is a variation of Snaskrit word 'Bhasha". People continue to have 'Sanskrit' names juxtaposed with arabic or muslim names.

Bangladeshis did not like imposition of Urdu and retained their mother tongue 'Bangla' as official language. Of course there are some Bangladeshi businessmen who fit "Sheikh" before their name unmindful of giving it a comic colour!!. They consider themselves to be the descedents of Arabs!!.

You can't change history. Before 1947 history of the Indian subcontinent (Some people like using the term indo-pak subcontinent !! and say **Pakistan* existed in 3500 BC!!*) was common for the two countries whether you accept it or not, it doesn't matter.

Janab aapke yahaan ladkiyan shaadi ke mauke par hathon per menhdi lagati hain na. sakhiyaan dholak bajaati hain or geet gaati hain. Lahore main Basant manayi jaati hai....some famous female singer 'Munni Begum ??" sang 'lo phir basant aayi'. Cuisine is the same on either side of the Border. Why does Mushi like 'daal phulki' and 'kheer' and why not some dish with an Islamic name ?
Yeh sab rivaz aur khana peena kahaan se aaya..Saudi Arabia se ??

I have studied Urdu in my school but never saw it from a religious mindset. There are many schools in India where Urdu is taught eventhough there are hardly any Muslim students. Do you know why because.. we never associated a language with a religion. Each state in India generally follows a three language principle. My state Himachal is an exception..I studied four languages..Hindi, Urdu, Sanskrit and English. Punjabi.. I learned on my own.

Grammar of Urdu is based on Hindi..whether you like it or not it is a fact. Urdu Dilli ki galiyon main bani. Will Hindi be taught in schools in Pakistan ? probably never!

What I find that there is a dilemma about identity in Pakistani as well as Bangladeshi society...Idhar jaaon ya udhar jaaon..badi mushkil main hoon kidhar jaaon and clubbed with prevalent animosity...leading to hate material taught in schools...tradition continues year after year

Regards
DS Pathania

NB
Check BBC for School Day 24:India-Pakistan
Atlast there are some people jinki...akal thikaane per aa rahi hai

Best replies so far are #3 and #5 :k: