Is God Merciful?

It is commonly understanded that God is Merciful, Is it really the case… I have following judgements to support my view.

1. God has created all of us.
  2. God has also created man with the ability to feel the pain and also feel the sorrows etc.
  3. Environment( including world and every thing else around us…) has alot of oppertunities(ways) to give us pain sorrows etc and it gives…
  4. So God made us have alot of pain and sorrows.(conclusion)
    Now should I say that God is merciful. My question is that why God is treating with us so cruelly? And Why He created such a environment which is full of pains for us.. He could have created any other kind of environment considering all his powers.

How can God be unmerciful when he has provided you with so much. He has bestowed you with so many of his bounties how can you possibly deny him and accuse his beneficiency. He is the all aware, the mighty, the beneficient, the giver , the taker and the supreme.

You ungratful sod, you don't even know your rabb.

He has 99 beautiful names.

He has created the world as a test for us with trials,tribulations, pains and sorrows to see if we are grateful to him and thank him. The afflictions we are faced with, we must have patience and persevere and Allah (swt) will reward us.

The environment isn't cruel you idiot it is the ideal environment where we can carry out good deeds. If the world was perfect there won't be any point of our existance.

funguy, seems something is horribly wrong with you. Want to share your problems?

-hunk-

Re: Is God Merciful?

*Originally posted by words: *
It is commonly understanded that God is Merciful, Is it really the case... I have following judgements to support my view.

2. God has also created man with the ability to feel the pain and also feel the sorrows etc.
  3. Environment( including world and every thing else around us...) has alot of oppertunities(ways) to give us pain sorrows etc and it gives....
  4. So God made us have alot of pain and sorrows.(conclusion) Now should I say that God is merciful. My question is that why God is treating with us so cruelly? And Why He created such a environment which is full of pains for us.. He could have created any other kind of environment considering all his powers. [/QUOTE]

And of all the good things God gave you, you saw some sorrows, yeah God made water for us to drink, differnt fruits to taste the joy of , gave you two eyes to see the world around you, two hands to do what you want.

And then he introduced a religon Islam, where it teaches you how to live a good life, where one respects their parents, when you feel hungry, you can use that opportunity to realize about the poor people who might not have eaten and help them out to get sawab that will help you for life here after, yeah there are pains, but you can take them as an exam of God. he tests his loved ones, but imagine for all the good deeds you do and the sorrows you go through with patience should help you in the life here afters. Rather than thinking of all the sorrows why not thank god for you having thing that others might not have and thank God for giving you the pleasures of life that others might not have.

Depenbds on which god you believe in. The hebrew and the islamic god i sperpetually pissed off, the hindu and the christain god can get terminally pissed off...the buddhist gos is within you and is always pissed off because you can't do enough....

take your pick...Sikh god is probably the best god in term sof compassion.

*Originally posted by a_bad_hair_cut: *
funguy, seems something is horribly wrong with you. Want to share your problems?

-hunk-

Take off the blindfold and look beyond the way I look.

It is commonly understanded that God is Merciful, Is it really the case... I have following judgements to support my view.

3. Environment( including world and every thing else around us...) has alot of oppertunities(ways) to give us pain sorrows etc and it gives....
  4. So God made us have alot of pain and sorrows.(conclusion) Now should I say that God is merciful. My question is that why God is treating with us so cruelly? And Why He created such a environment which is full of pains for us.. He could have created any other kind of environment considering all his powers. [/QUOTE]

When we are small kids, most of us dislike school, homework and exams. Same goes for college studies and any higher studies. But later on in life, these things serve us well because the more educated people tend to get higher-paying jobs and thus more comfortable lives than the lesser-educated ones.

Similarly, this world is an uncomfortable place, where it is possible to feel pain etc. But this is how "the wheat is separated from the chaff" - when you are uncomfortable, will you blame God, or will you take responsibility for your own life? After all, take the examples of all the prophets - each one had resistance to face from their own people, and had to bear other "pains", but they overcame ALL of them, to succeed in the mission given to them by God. So can you.

Those who make use of the "learning opportunities" provided in this world will certainly graduate to the next world (jannat, heaven, etc.) which is completely free of pain.

Re: Re: Is God Merciful?

Well Said !:k:

OK Words

Who broke your heart?

Have you ever noticed what are the things God has promised reward for?

Helping the poor and those in need and being nice to his creation, right?

What does Allah :swt: get out of this? If i help a poor how is it of any good to GOD?

He ordered us to do that because he is most merciful!

As for the environment and all, if we all had equal facilities and all How would we ever know who is good and who is not? Its’ these tests that differentiate between his people and the rest.

--------x----------
Yap ! ,:eek: even I saw the low ball :hehe:

WTH! :hehe: I’m thinking to myself…what on earth has gotten into FG! Even if I ignore the content of the post which doesn’t sound like him to begin with, what happened to his English???
Yaar sab apnay apnay avatars rakha karo!

Hello Everyone:

Its nice to see the responses,

Originally posted by: Ahmed22

How can God be unmerciful when he has provided you with so much. He has bestowed you with so many of his bounties how can you possibly deny him and accuse his beneficiency. He is the all aware, the mighty, the beneficient, the giver , the taker and the supreme.

Your reply is not addressing my argument,

Remember God is claiming to be most merciful, not just merciful.

Now look at the world around you, It is full of sufferings and pains...

Look at your own self

The signal of every small and big problem to your body is pain... Through pain God informs you that there is some problem with your leg and arm of head etc. Why ? If He is the Most Merciful...

Whatever good he is doing with human being is one thing....

But why you are ignoring that the shape in which you are built with a body which contains infinte possibilities of pain, Can Someone who is Most Merciful do this to you. If He is all Powerful, and sure He is, So considering his powers he had infinite ways to create the world and why he selected this painfull way if he is the most mercifull.

Originally posted by: Ahmed22

The environment isn't cruel you idiot it is the ideal environment where we can carry out good deeds. If the world was perfect there won't be any point of our existance.

Come out of your shell, Don't pre-suppose, Consider God and his infinite powers.Is this a good which you are expecting from such resource full God. If such painfull environment is perfect then this God isn't a resourcefull one. Why you are ignoring that whatever Bad or Whatever cruel exists in this world God is the creator of that as well...

Originally Posted by:Rohit

When we are small kids, most of us dislike school, homework and exams. Same goes for college studies and any higher studies. But later on in life, these things serve us well because the more educated people tend to get higher-paying jobs and thus more comfortable lives than the lesser-educated ones.

Similarly, this world is an uncomfortable place, where it is possible to feel pain etc. But this is how "the wheat is separated from the chaff" - when you are uncomfortable, will you blame God, or will you take responsibility for your own life? After all, take the examples of all the prophets - each one had resistance to face from their own people, and had to bear other "pains", but they overcame ALL of them, to succeed in the mission given to them by God. So can you.

No fellow your argument is fallicious, Don't suppose my argument is a premature one...

Now listen... If this early pain is the way of teaching us how to live in this world then agian my question remains there as well,

Why the most merciful has selected pain to be the way to teach us, How live in this world ? Why you are ignoring all his powers, He could create this world by infinite painless ways, So why he is selecting this painfull way...**

Originally Posted by: fantastic1

What does Allah get out of this? If i help a poor how is it of any good to GOD?

You are ignoring one thing that the person, who is poor and feeling the miseries of hunger.. Doesn't created himself... It is again the God who had created the sufferings of the hunger , the injuries , the deseases etc... and if he is telling you to help the one who is suffered by me (GOD) ... So what big he is doing here..... And How with these attitutes he qualifies to the most merciful...

It all seems like a JOKE... He gives pains and suffereings etc and then he tells others to help them

Originally Posted by: Diwana_Desii

And of all the good things God gave you, you saw some sorrows, yeah God made water for us to drink, differnt fruits to taste the joy of , gave you two eyes to see the world around you, two hands to do what you want.

No fellow, there are not some sarrows,

It is God who had created thrist in you, so what if he is giving you the water.... The requirement for water is created by him... Isn't it playfull.

Why not you are seeing that... It is God who made meat more tasty then vagetables... In this way he is inducing you to kill other living things again created by him... He tells you to eat those animals( most of them) and again when we kill the animals they feel the pain..

My question is if those animals are created for us, Then what is the need to give them unNeeded pain... when they are killed ... Why this creator is So cruel that he gives pain even to animals, who didn't have the conciousness... O.K. If he is doing this But How then he is claiming to be the most Mercifull... What are the Grounds...**

waiting for responses...

The idea of a revelational god is full of holes because it makes no logical sense whatsoever. See Here

To begin with, it is impossible to prove existence of such a god or his attributed revelations.

The other problem is the conflicting descriptions of that god as we find in these allegedly divine scriptures that are said to be revealed by god himself.

Here one has to think about what does word merciful mean. It means the one who is full of mercy. If one is full of mercy then there is no room for such a being to not to be merciful. If at any point such a being lacks mercy then one cannot be claimed to be full of mercy.

The universe we see is said to be purpose built by this god but if that was the case it ought to make perfect sense but it does not. How can a god purpose built something that does not serve its intended purpose?

Allah says in Quran (I don’t want to translate in english because I am circumspect of the fact that translation sometimes change meanings of verses.so, those who don’t understand urdu, plz accept my apologies.):

Aur jub bhee tum par koi afat utertee hai woh Allah ki taraf say nahin hoti balkay tumharee apni kurtotoon ki waje say atee hai. :subhan:

Is IMHO a hard lesson but...

Perhaps God's way of teaching empathy.

Words,

Do you think God should have taught only pleasures?

If God only taught pleasures then how would one feel empathy toward another?

Isn't empathy nearly synonym with mercy?

If one has never experienced need for empathy or mercy...

Would one understand what mercy is?

Would one know the meaning of empathy?