Is Crab halaal?

salam guppies :wave:

i m just wondering if Crab and Shirimps are totally halaal or no :konfused:

i mean i hav always eat shrimps thinking ke all the sea food are halaal…
but some one just said its makrooh i dun knwo if thats true or noo…

Please do post if Allah said somehting in Quran about sea foods :slight_smile:

jazakAllah.

As far as I know, everything to eat from the Sea is Halal.

Actually the general rule is that everything has been made halal except what has been specifically prohibited.

ermmm i had heard dat shrimps r makrooh…buh it don’t matter to me since i don’t eat shrimps or crabs o sea food :hoonh:

There were a number of discussions on this topic. Search for "shrimps" in the Religion Forum for more detailed responses and links to scholar opinions. Then make up your own mind.

ive done the search on GS and often found this comment by various users, which is also in this thread by Islamabad:

*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
As far as I know, everything to eat from the Sea is Halal.

my question: What about eating a shark??????

clearly a shark is haraam cuz it is carnivorous, so the above statement is immediately incorrect.

According to the Hanafi Mazhab only Samak (Fish species) is permissible to eat from the sea animals, therefore crabs and lobsters will not be permissible to eat.

so regarding this ^^ it all depends on which fiqh u follow u could be following Shaaf’ee, Maaliki Hanbali or hanafi. although all of these fiqh’s are on the path of truth they still have different rules to each other at times.

From seafood, only fish is made Halaal for us. Rasulullah :saw: said,

** 'Two carions are made Halaal for us; Fish and locust. ’
(Mishkaat vol.2 pg.361). **

Fish is classified as a Vertebra. Crabs and
lobsters are not vertebras but they belong to the Crustaece group, hence, not permissible.

Crab is not strictly "sea animal"... it also lives on land. Why would you be interested in "insect" class anyway? For survival in case of no food makes sense, but for "pleasure"?

Isn't anything that crawls on the ocean floor with claws not allowed in Islam? (ex. shrimp, crabs, lobster, etc)

When the Prophet (saw) said that everything from the sea is Halal, so that includes shark also. Allah knows best. (its my opinion, i may be wrong)

my 2 cents ,

All sea food is halal.

crab meat = awesome

Shark Fin soup = have it and you will hate chicken corn soup

*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
When the Prophet (saw) said that everything from the sea is Halal, so that includes shark also. Allah knows best. (its my opinion, i may be wrong)
If you are not sure 100% according Quran and Hadees, then its better to not answer!
Religion does not follow personal opinions! If its not clear from Quran n Hadees, then Islamic Scholars will have to sit and come to a conclusion which must be acceptable to all of us, 'FITWAA' no doubt they will conclude that according to Quran n Hadees, and will be responsible infront of Allah...
If we are not clear in anything, before issuing any personal Fatwaa, we should consult to any Certified Scholar, and even after that we don't agree then better to leave the things giving advantage of doubt,

It seems to me some time, we all will be making an another new Firqaa Internet Firqa, based on hate to other religions, zidd, and personal opinions!

May Allah help all of us aamin

ps: plz don't take it personal, its for all of us, including me !

i m just a simple plain muslim.. who first follow Quran then Sunnat and then Hadith… i dun believe in sects in islam… plus i dun think that one fiqqa can eat sea food and one cant because its not permisible :konfused:
hum ain aur kaforoan main kya farq bacha :S

so far i havent seen any satisfactory answer…

anwayy Faisal bhia.. thanks i will search on previous threads..

*Originally posted by NeSCio: *
my question: What about eating a shark??????

clearly a shark is haraam cuz it is carnivorous, so the above statement is immediately incorrect.

there are many fish that eat other fish and other aquatic life forms. do we investigate the eating habits of all fish?