Is Alisha a Muslim name?

Is Alisha a Muslim name? I have searched the net n keep getting different answers, mostly that it is not a Muslim name.

Also what about Alishba and Aleeza?

Re: Is Alisha a Muslim name?

So long as it has a good meaning, it’s an Islamic name. Or do you mean is it an Arabic name?

As long as it is Islamic,

There’s a bit confusion on whether or not it’s a Muslim name.. It doesn’t have any ‘bad’ meaning tho so regardless of that it would be ok to use if you wanted to..

It’s one of my favourite names..

Alishba and Aleeza are used by Muslim names and, as SGC said, if the name carries a good meaning, it’s an Islamic name. if it’s culturally an Islamic name then it’s a different story…however, we do NOT have to follow the cultural traditions. in our culture, most Muslim names are of Persian, Arabic and/or Turkish languages.

well whats the meaning of it? is it a good, positive meaning?

It means protected by God. So it does have a good meaning.

I have a question, what do people mean when they say a name has a “bad” meaning? Surely, people would not choose to name their child after something bad and thus, the meaning of most names is either positive or neutral.

^ Interesting point. What is a bad meaning name?

Well, for eg, I love Amara and was considering it if this baby is a girl. However, the Latin root for the name means bitter or sour. That’s not a positive / good meaning. I think it probably happens inadvertently because not everyone looks into or cares about the meaning as much as Muslims tend to, they just go for the sound of the name. I also like Adriana but it means “from Hadria” which is some area somewhere and what the heck lol. It’s not a bad meaning- it’s just not relevant to me kwim?

Interestingly, Hadria is another spelling for the city of Adria, which is in northern Italy. :smiley:

Iram is a beautiful name but it’s not advisable to name a child because it was the name of the garden that King Shaddaad made in order to tell his people that it was the jannat on earth. he did NOT believe in God and he told his people that he was kinda god and this was his jannat.

it’s irony that he could not see his jannat. he died before it was completed.

similarly, Aaniyah is also not acceptable Islamically because it means the the 'boiling water that will be given to folks in jahannam.

however, there is another meaning of Aaniyaa which means chashma [in English, a stream?], which is quite popular among Muslims.

i wouldn’t name my child because of the other meaning which most Arabic speaking people will take.

Prophet [saws] did NOT change anyone’s name who converted to Islam except a few which were against Islamic beliefs.

^ I did not know that about Anya! How interesting!

Some names might not have a meaningful translation and not necessarily have a bad meaning. For example Laraib, though a common name and an arabic phrase means “iss main koi shak nahi”

And certain names like Saif means Sword should not be kept on its own without Ali or Ullah after it.

I also really liked the name Malaika but read somewhere that this name should not be kept.

^ do you remember why re: malaika?

It means “farishta” or “angel” so that’s why you shouldn’t keep that name.

My friend wanted to use this name for her daughter and checked with local imam regarding the meaning.. I believe he said that the origin was Greek so while it means protected by god.. Knowing geek history you are like which god were they talking about.. She decided not use the name because of origin not because of meaning.

Hope this helps :slight_smile:

Sgc.. I don’t know if you can or cannot name the child malaika but remember it’s a plural (angels)
I have heard malak ( angel) as the name of an Arab girl :slight_smile:

Indian aur other dramay dekh dekh ke hamaray loag ajeeb naam bhi rakh rahay hain, even bohot se hinduana names