Hi all ..
some of the best aromatic rice I have had , has been at Iranian parties .. they are not spicy yet so aromatic ..
Does anyone know any good recipes from the Iranian Cuisine?
Hi all ..
some of the best aromatic rice I have had , has been at Iranian parties .. they are not spicy yet so aromatic ..
Does anyone know any good recipes from the Iranian Cuisine?
Re: Iranian Rice Recipes
maiN to ab kisi Irani laRkii se hii shaadii karuuNgaa taa k jab vo khaanaa banaaye to ghar meN Khushboo hii Khushboo ho aur desi khaanoN ke masaaloN kii badboo kapRoNs e na aaye. :D
lol KFK .. desi masala’s make our food so yummy , you cant run away from their aroma ![]()
TRUE, at the end of the day, it’s our ‘love affair’ with our desi food that counts!
but, an Iranian wife who somehow knows desi cooking will definitely be more desirable! ![]()
My mum's Iranian friend makes these yummylicious rice with chicken in them. Anyway, the key ingredient is the authentic saffron, just dont skimp on it. And the rice is some special kind, not our typical basmati rice. In Canada we buy the Pameer brand.
I am not good with measurement, so I am just going to give the steps. First sprinkle salt and pepper and if you prefer some paprika or even red chilli powder and turmeric on your chicken. It'd be best if you use chicken piece where thigh and the rest of the...I dunno what's it called...is attached. Then set it aside for an hour and so and in the meantime, boil rice until they are half done...this is important...dont over cook them. Make sure you add lots of salt in the boiling water since you'd be draining all the water but you want your rice to retain some salt because we're not adding any salt once we cook rice with the chicken. Then take a huge non-stick skillet with big base...now splash some oil and turn the heat to max...then put the chicken pieces upside down, throw a few huge chunks of onions...then cover the chicken with your rice and pinch of saffron layer by layer. Put the lid tightly back on and cook for at least half an hour on max and afterwards turn the heat down to rather low and cook for another half an hour to even an hour. The steam wafting out should be laden with safforn smell..hmmm....thats how you know they are done. The chicken turns out so well, almost like a rotisserie.
This sounds really good .. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe Contra, any other recipes you can share with us? :@:
I love Iranian cuisine , but found it the hard way that only Iranians are experts at that cuisine , use desi's can find it quite a challenge to create that taste ..
Iranian Rice Recipes
I love Iranian and afghani cooking. Absolutely love it. It's not spicy yet very flavorable. Recipes are difficult to come by. The basmati rice found in USA go by name ahubara sela basmati. Need to befriend some afghanis. Love the food and kebabs.
Do you know about Ruz Bukhari??? I dont think they are Iranian but some claim they are ARabic and some claim they are Afghani, however they also have very less masala but what a great aroma. Do you want be to post recipe CB?
Iranian Rice Recipes
Yes please post any recipes. Recipes always welcome!
I love Zereshk Pulao, cooked with chicken and barberries. I will share the step by step recipe soon inshallah.
Iranian Rice Recipes
I live the pallau with raisins and nuts....yum yum. Again recipes are greatly appreciated. I haven't really been able to find too many recipes for this .
Irani Sabzi Rice
500 grams (1 pound) of Basmati Long Grain Rice
500 grams (1 pound) of Chicken (or any meat of your choice)
1 medium Onion
750 grams (1.5 pounds) of Fresh Herbs (equal portions of - parsley, chive, dill, coriander and 4 sprigs of fenugreek)
¼ tsp. Ground Saffron
Salt (to taste)
Black Pepper (Pisi Kaali Mirch) (fresh ground - to taste)
1/3 cup Cooking Oil
Wash the rice thoroughly in warm water, soak the rice in salted lukewarm water to cover by 2 inches for 3 to 4 hours.
Trim any fat off of the meat, and cut meat into small pieces (2 inch cubes), wash well and drain.
Thinly slice the onions. In a large pot add the oil. When oil gets hot, add the onions and fry well until golden brown. Add the meat, salt and pepper and cook over low heat until the meat is well done, (about 45 minutes to 1 hour) or until meat is done.
Clean the herbs cutting out coarse stems, wash, dry and chop finely.
In a large saucepan, bring 8 to 12 cups of water to a rapid boil. Pour off any excess water from rice and pour into boiling water. Bring back to boil for 2 to 3 minutes. Test to see if the rice is ready. The grains should be firm in the center and rather soft on the outside. Strain and rinse with lukewarm water. Toss gently in a strainer.
Bring ¼ cup water and 3 tbsp. of oil to a rapid boil. Add layers of the rice and the mixed herbs interchangeably building it up to a dome shape. The top layer should be rice. Make sure the herbs are dry before mixing them with the rice. Poke 5 or 6 holes through the rice to the bottom with the handle of a spoon. Close the lid. Keep on medium-high heat for 2 to 3 minutes or until rice starts steaming. Heat up ¼ cup of water and 2 tbsp. of oil and pour over the rice. Wrap the saucepan lid in a clean tablecloth and cover the pan firmly. Reduce heat to low and cook for (about 45 minutes to an hour).
After removing from heat, place the saucepan in the sink and run cold water under it to cool it down. Add ¼ tsp. of saffron to 1 tbsp. of hot water. Lightly mix 2 to 3 tbsp. of rice with the liquid saffron in a small bowl. Set it aside for garnish. To dish up, gently toss the rice and sprinkle lightly in a dish in a symmetrical mound. Garnish with the saffron rice. You can either serve the meat (or chicken) in a separate dish or mix it with the rice in the same dish. Remove the crusty bottom and serve in a separate plate.
Iranian Rice Recipes
Thanks fizza4u? Is crusty rice a specialty of Iran? Inshallah will try. What fenugreek? Fennel?
Chelo kebabs are the national dish of iran and i had it it is so yummmy