Iranian hardline cleric is complaining about terrorism from Pakistan!

This is after some of their army was attacked by the Jundullah group, which is a sunni group operating in the Sistan-Balochistan area. Iran has also closed the border crossings and told Pakistani villages near the border with Iran to vacate the area. Soon, they too will be making hot pursuits into Pakistan.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\03\03\story_3-3-2007_pg7_2

Iranian cleric says Pakistan becoming a ‘sanctuary for terrorists’

TEHRAN: A top Iranian cleric accused Pakistan on Friday of becoming a “terrorist sanctuary”, following a surge in violence on the two nations’ border area that Tehran blames on plots by arch foe the US and on Pakistan’s inability to control its border.

“Although Pakistan is our neighbour, little by little it is losing its neighbourly manners. Pakistan has become a sanctuary of terrorists who kill people in Zahedan,” hardline cleric Hojatoleslam Ahmad Khatami told Friday worshippers in Tehran.

Zahedan is the capital of the southeastern province of Sistan-Balochistan, which is home to a population of minority Baloch Sunni Muslims. It borders Pakistan to the south and Afghanistan to the north. Thirteen Revolutionary Guards were killed last month when militants set off a car bomb in Zahedan, and security forces also clashed with militants in the city when a percussion bomb exploded.

And on Tuesday, four policemen were killed, one abducted and another wounded in Sistan-Balochistan by rebels who then allegedly fled towards Pakistan.

“Pakistan should be careful not to fall into the US trap, since it will be the loser, undoubtedly,” said Khatami in a sermon broadcast live on state radio.

“Iran is a strong country. Certainly being Iran’s friend is much better than being the US and Israel’s friend. There is no benefit in being the US and Israel’s friend,” he said to the habitual chants of “death to America, and death to Israel”.

Iran summoned Pakistan’s ambassador after the unrest last month, and both sides agreed to reinforce border security. afp

Re: Even Iran is complaining about terrorism from Pakistan!

hardline cleric Hojatoleslam Ahmad Khatami

Now you believe some hardline cleric in Iran? Pretty weird meeting of minds considering your anti-clerical opinions.

The Pakistani insurgency is probably helped on by Iran anyway. But I dont see what Pakistan has to gain by seeing he breakup of Sistan Balochistan..it wouldnt join with Pakistan, and Iran is no threat to Pakistan in the region. But I think Iran and India as well as perhaps the US are behind some of the insurgency in Pakistani Balochistan.

When did I say believed him? I just thought it was amazing that Iran of all countries is accusing others of terrorism.

its the mollahs kehkashan, im telling ya!

No they are not. Read the headline of the story you posted it says “Iranian cleric **says **Pakistan…” - not the Iran government. You may not know that there are hundreds, if not thousands of clerics in Iran, all with their varied opinions.

In your zeal to do down the Pak govt you sometimes overdo it, and start quoting people who you go around castigating otherwise. At least be consistent. :rolleyes:

Re: Iranian hardline cleric is complaining about terrorism from Pakistan!

Pakistan is surrounded by nothing but enemies...

^^Pakistan doesnt need allies of any of its backward neighbours. China is its neighbour and real ally.

He is a top cleric in Tehran. You don’t get that position with the mullah regime by not begin connected to them. The Pakistani envoy was also summoned by the Iranian government and one of their officials accused Pakistan of not doing enough to stop terrorism. Iran an Pakistan have never seen eye to eye, but these are some bold accusations on their part. I wonder how this will affect the Baloch insurgency on bother sides of the border. There are apparently many balochis in Jundullah since they are mostly sunni. I can easily see a situation in which ISI might start supporting Jundullah to promote Sunni fundamentalism among Balochs in order to ween them away from Bugti style nationalism. Even CIA might lend a hand in order to stick it to Iran and we might end up with the Afghanistan war 2.0 debacle.

http://www.iranian.ws/iran_news/publish/article_20827.shtml

Iran fences border with Pakistan
Mar 2, 2007

Iran has started building a concrete wall along its border with Pakistan, from Taftan to Mand, to stop illegal border crossings. According to reports received here, the wall will be built from near the border town of Taftan, about 700km west of Quetta in the Baluchistan province. “The Iranian authorities started work on the wall about a month ago,” according to Barkat Ali Khan, a Pakistani border town administration official.

“The concrete wall will be 10 feet high (3m) and 3 feet(1m) wide,” he said, adding that hundreds of workers could be seen building the wall.

Iranian border security forces have reportedly given an ultimatum to the residents of a Pakistani border town to vacate the town within 10 days. Residents of Sorap in the western Mekran region in Baluchistan told a group of visiting journalists that they did not know why the Iranian border forces were asking them to leave their homes.

The intensified security along the frontier comes in the wake of a bomb blast in Zahidan on 17 February which killed thirteen people, including nine Iranian Revolutionary Guard officials, and another incident in which four people were killed, and two kidnapped from along the border.

Pakistan said on Friday it was not concerned at reports that Iran was erecting a concrete wall on the shared border between the two countries.

“The fence is on the Iranian side of the border. We have no problem with that,” said Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Tasnim Aslam.

According to reports, Iran is building a 10-foot high concrete wall reinforced with steel rods along its shared border with Pakistan’s Balochistan province.

The spokeswoman denied any link between the fence and a bomb blast in the Iranian border town of Zahidan, and a clash earlier this week in another border region.

“Those were incidents inside Iran,” Ms. Aslam said, and denied that Iran was blaming these incidents on elements from across its eastern border.

“We are not being blamed.”

The spokesperson also described as wrong reports that the Pakistan envoy to Tehran was summoned by the Iranian Foreign Ministry following the February 17 Zahidan bomb blast that killed 13 persons, nine of whom were officials of the Iranian Revolutionary Guard.

She said the envoy had “a meeting” with an Iranian official in the Foreign ministry.

On Wednesday, the Iranian news agency IRNA said police clashed with armed bandits in the Iranian town of Negor on the border with Pakistan. Two policemen were killed and four others were taken hostage by the bandits. The report quoted the police chief saying the armed bandits had fled across the border.

I have never seen the 5 star general in such a furious mood when he had a press conference about A Qkhan ...his face was red and he said...iran is now getting pardon from europe and IAEA ....(rengatai huai arahay hai...muafia mangi ja rahi hai...pakistan nai koi muafi nahi mangi..aur na kabhi mangai ga) !!!!!!!
See... the laguage of a status of presiendial level...you know how the tough time for Pakistan was...whole closure of Pakistan Nuclear program...... !!!!!!!

a full aeroplane of documented proofs was sent to Viena that P1 and P2..the code name of pakistani made centrifuge machines ...and thier parts were sent from Tehran...shiek rashid disclosed this in front of President .....But general was out of control that day !!!!!!!

Hum to doobay hai sanam , tumhay bhi lay doobay gai !!!!!!

*Aik do pal ki baat nahi yai 1400 saal ka qissa hai *!!!!

sorry to say this "reality" !!!!!

The time has now come for the corrupt and pro-India regime of Tehran to be overthrown. Let us hope the US attacks Iran soon and if it does I hope Pakistan and Saudi Arabia take full advantage of this to neutralise this threat.

If they ever do cross the border with troops we should support the US in leveling Iran.

I cannot forget the cherish moments of the day 28 may,1998..it was very hot day....and on night ..PTV showed the clips of people specially young children on the streets of Gaza in Palestine......all were shouting like mads...singing...dancing......tearing thier clothes with joy...and saying ...Yes ...now we have an Atomic Bomb.....now we will crush this illegimate Israel......it was a complete joy to see that .......also in saudi arabia..bangla desh...malaysia ..indonesia..muslims sent sweets and mithai to neighbours...in whole of muslim world...there was a kind of electric waveform......it was unbelievable for them.......the most dangerous and biggest weapon of the world...for the first time in 1400 years ...and the country was Pakistan....virtually a poor and backward country.....having no resources and facilities ...but we had done the mission...while gulf area having billions and trillions of dollars have no such prestige !!!!!!!! at 3:15 pm on 28 may ..pakistan virtually become the leader
of ummah.....

and it was a kind of feed-back to whole islamic wrld....after that "Intifada" started and fo the first time Israel knew how suicide bombs can crush her.....after that kashmir movement blown into full swing that average 10 soldiers weer killing a day...aero-plane was hi-jacked..parliment was under attack..and two forces of about 1 million were eye to eye in front of each others at borders....Checniyya movement crossed all limits challenging the super-power like russia.....

All was result of that Atomic-Feedback ........!! but
tere came in 2003 ...our neighbours and ***country
"islamic revolunist" turn the tables !!!!! that why this country is now the leader of ummah....jealousy..hatred......why not we the biggest oil-poducers....how this small ...poor..
*tat-schools **boys and scientists done that......why a sunni country...... so cap thier program by providing proofs of everything so that this little ..poor country cannot stand alongwith us.....

On other hand..Saudi arabia was so happy and rejoice that Prince Adullah came to Pakistan and Nawaz sharif took him to KRL where even Benazir was not allowed by Army...and after sanctions...he ordered to give 1 billion dollars oil free to pakistan (60 arab Rs.)....do you imagine totally free..and pakistan recieved this till 2003...such a happiness in ummah

So you choose to ignore what China is doing to its muslims:

HETIAN, China – On a recent Friday, the holy day of Islam, crowds swelled inside the antique Jame mosque, the largest in this ancient town in Xinjiang Province in the far west of China, home to the nation’s small but restive Muslim minority.

The turbaned and bearded clerics who preached to the gathered faithful had all been vetted for their political beliefs by local Chinese authorities, who determine what sermons they can give, what version of the Koran they may use, and where and how religious gatherings can be held.
The Chinese government forces all Muslims in China to adhere to a state-controlled version of their religion, and banners placed around town warn locals not to stray from the official faith. The imams are not even allowed to issue the call to prayer using a public address system.
The Chinese government has tightened its constraints on the Uighur ethnic minority in western China amid official fears of a rise in militant Islam. The Chinese are acutely aware of the growing strategic importance of Xinjiang in Central Asia and the large oil and natural gas reserves under its soil.

Source: http://www.boston.com/news/world/asia/articles/2006/11/19/muslim_voices_rising_in_china/

all I know is that iranian hardline clerics are very trustworthy, level headed and relaibale people, not only should we take all his allegations as the divine truth but also try to get him to tell us next week's winning lottery numbers for the mega millions lotto.

Who told you that BS?

What I know, Saudis were giving around 500 million dollars worth of oil, NOT FREE but on differed payment, that started after nuclear explosion and the reason was that, Pakistan was finding shortage of dollars. That means Saudi gave Pakistan a part of Pakistani oil requirements on understanding that Pakistan would pay the money later (Today Pakistan imports over 6 billion dollars worth of oil a year, differed payment was for 500 million dollars, or 0.5 billion dollars worth of oil).

Well, just like Jews, that never leave the interest, Saudi took interest (Sood) on that money in form of blackmailing. As when time came, they blackmailed Pakistan to free Nawaz Shareef else they (Saudis) threatened that they would stop giving oil to Pakistan on differed payment. Thus, they took away the crook Nawaz. Nawaz is the person who along with his cronies stole many billions of Pakistani hard earned dollars over the years he ruled.

Nevertheless, why Pakistan needed this facility from Saudi? Main reason was that the crook Nawaz Shareef and his cronies stole most of dollars Pakistan had just before nuclear explosion and transferred that abroad. Thus, shortage of dollars in Pakistan was result of Nawaz crook actions. Result was that, when Saudi blackmailed, Musharraf government had no choice. There was little option for Musharraf to do anything other then give NS to Saudis; else Pakistan would have suffered problems due to dollar shortage.

China has universal policy towards all faiths, stop playing the muslim card wrt china or perhaps you should joing Falun Gong for first hand experience.

How many Chinese do you know personally? It is obvious nopt a single one. I know dozens, I speak Chinese and they all tell the same thing. No religious freedom in China. Basically you are free to not practice a religion. Your hatred for India and love for China clouds your intelligence.