Irani Riyal

When I returned from office today and parked my car, our chowkidar stopped me at stairs (as usual lift was not working due to loadshedding)… He said ‘sahib ji… ek baat puchni thi… he took out 2 notes from his pocket and asked inn ke kitne milen ge’.

The first note was 100 Soomali Shilling and other was 1000 Irani Riyal.

I said ‘ye to Pakistani ruppe se bhi gai guzri currency hain… kahan se mili?’

He said ’ ye choRiye… bus bataiye kitne milenge’.

I said ’ mujhe ziada pata nahin in currecies ka… per mushkil se 2-3 sau rupe hi milen’.

At this he felt quite relived and told me that he got all this for PKR 200. I told him that for converting that he has to go to I.I. Chundrigar Road or Shahra e Faisal and half of the money will go in fare.
When I searched I found:**

1000 Irani Riyal = PKR 4.28, 100 Somali shilling will hardly be PKR 10… choeekadar ka 185 rupe ka confirmed loss :bummer:

Now discussion point

Iran / Irani ruled world for a long time. Their influence on our culture and language is quite known. There used to be this phrase in Sindhi 'Farsi ghoRay ChaRhsi… Persian will lead you to ride horse meaning you will be officer… Those who knew Persian were considered some Turram Khans and hence Urdu muhawra ‘paRhe Farsi, beche tail’…

Now when Iran lost its prominence, I don’t think Persian is as popular as it was in past. Seems that languages are attached with economies. Good economy and hold on resources will give you opportunity to get your language flourished. At some point of time, it was Arabic.. Then Persian and now its English.

Any thoughts? :hmmm:

Re: Irani Riyal

United India was ruled by Turks/Afghans/Central Asians, under their domination Persian considered language of opportunity. In late 1800s, England was able to mange large part of India and that replaces Persian to English. England ruled this world and after that when many states got independence, they preferred to keep English system and that is why English is global language. :chai:

why English colonization was preferred and kept intact as compared to other colonizations?

Well, if Russia was successful in cold war, then Pakistan may adopt it as new foreign language. I am not sure, but many of the Central Asians states do have history of Russian language.

What was the original language of those Central Asian states before Russia ruled them?

Kazakh, Kyrgyz belong to same family of language.

Turkmen

Uzbek, Persian, Tajik and Dari are same languages...

Interesting facts about Farsi in India

Decline of Farsi language - Times Of India

According to noted medieval India historian Muzaffar Alam, Persian became the lingua franca of the sub-continent during the reign of Akbar. Alam suggests that Persian was used as the preferred language for different political and social factors, mainly due to its non-sectarian and fluid nature. The use of Persian became so important country-wide that even the Sikh king Maharaja Ranjit Singh made it the language of his court.

In the North the mixing of Persian and Turkic language speaking people with Indians, was already resulting in new forms art and culture by the 14th century. Sufi saint poet Amir Khusro is a shining example of that era who eulogised India as no one else had done before and even said the Persian spoken in India was better than the Persian used in Iran.

In the Deccan it became the court language of Bahmanis and their successor states such as in Bijapur and Golconda/Hyderabad. The language was not restricted to the courts alone. It burst out from the palaces and castles onto bazaars giving birth to Deccani, the language in which many sultans wrote poetry and became a catalyst in the evolution of Urdu. Though the Deccani was becoming popular, the Qutub Shahi sultans didn’t replace it as the court language. According to Mustafa Kamal, an expert on Deccani, no Qutub Shahi king, including the last one Abul Hasan Tanasha issued his firman (Royal decree) in Deccani.

He said there are instances where the Telugu translation of these firmans is seen, but nothing in Deccani. The Asaf Jahs who succeeded Qutub Shahi kings retained Farsi as the court language. The Viceroys and the residents corresponded with the Nizams first in Farsi and later in Urdu and English. The reign of Farsi came to an end in Delhi in 1830s and in Hyderabad in 1886. In the Delhi of British Raj, it was replaced with English.

Irani Riyal

Bechara chowkidar

English is the language of Computer, goras are ruling hence their language is ruling. In the future Chinese could take this slot, who knows.

so economies affect languages?

I have always wanted to learn chinese along with a few other languages, maybe its time I start learning it :hmmm:

Yes, just like Dollar is the defacto currency of the world.

That language would be powerful where the R&D of the world is. When Muslims were ahead in that field their languages ruled the world.

Its always good to learn different languages.

Yes languages of rulers also rule, but sometimes language of ruled ones also flourish. Like Urdu / Hindi is flourishing in Europe / USA due to workers from India Pakistan

The rial is like the lowest currency unit in the world i think. even iranians use toman (10 rial)when talking about money or price.

Economy is important. So is the number of speaking countries/lands. Look at Urdu/Hindi vs Arabic. One has more speakers, but the other is more popular and probably has more learners outside it's borders (than the other), But there's the religion aspect too. Same with Spanish with all it's countries.

French went down to English and same could be said for Arabic to Persian and then Persian to Urdu, and/or English. These things come and go

:halo:
The West is “spoiling” Arab world - Qatari Sheikh - Culture & Society - ArabianBusiness.com

Western influence is “spoiling” the Arab world, which is slowly losing its identity, a Qatari sheikh and former minister has warned.

**“I used to travel with my wife and see families around us from the Middle East. They all spoke Arabic. But now they deliberately speak with their children in English. That’s a big problem,” Sheikh Mohamed AJ Althani told Arabian Business in an extended interview.
“We all now take our children to a Western-influenced school. But if it was up to me I would leave the first years for children to really remember this part of the world; religion and culture are very important and if they miss out on that they get lost later as they grow up, so it’s a big challenge.

“And that’s something I’m worried about.”

Sheikh Mohamed, who recently published his second book – a biography of his grandfather and founder of Qatar, Sheikh Jassim Bin Muhammad Bin Thani – said modern technology, Western fashion and the English language were infiltrating the Arab world, casting tradition and custom into the shadows.

“There is a spoiling factor here, where people forget the basics and I think the foundations of basics are very important,” he said.

“They do learn [the country’s history] but I don’t think it’s enough.

“People have taken the - I would say false - perception that you need to be in this fast internet age and unless you have a Western kind of education you will be behind. I think that’s not true.

“It’s happening in the whole region.

**“Technology and the way people have perceived this world [are to blame]. All these advances that we see are coming from the Western, English, Anglo-Saxon dominance… that is the influence.”
However, Sheikh Mohamed said advancement in Arab cities, including huge developments and the influx of international brands, was a good thing. There just needed to be more balance, he said.

**“We have to realise that today there are no barriers, you cannot stop your children or your people from knowing and seeing and hearing what’s going on in the world, so the best way is to embrace it but try to be ready for it and try to educate your population, your children, your people, that this is coming and we have to live with it,” he said.
**“We cannot just close our doors. In fact, I would like to see more innovation here that would match this.
“We just want to make sure they have passion for their culture, they have passions for their history and they realise that – sorry to say – if you speak with an American accent it’s not going to take you anywhere. What will take you everywhere is your education and your heritage and belonging to a place.

“We just want the people to belong to a place and feel proud to be Qatari.

“If you are from a country you should be proud and if it’s not making you proud then make it make you proud. It’s your country, you were born here, you learned here.”

“We just want to make sure they have passion for their culture, they have passions for their history and they realise that – sorry to say – if you speak with an American accent it’s not going to take you anywhere. What will take you everywhere is your education and your heritage and belonging to a place.

:biggthumb:

What is situation of Persian in Iran? Are they also facing same issues as they also remained American influence for long time. Do they also feel the same danger as this Qatari Arab?

It's pretty good. Probably a little looser than Turkey, but on that type of level.