<-- Iqbaliyat -->

My dad showed me this one old antique-looking book he pulled out of the shelf in our study earlier. He told me my grandfather recorded down all of Allama Iqbal’s poetry in that book throughout his life. Yea my granddad was like a determined scholar from his villiage and I was really amazed when I saw this book. I can’t read any of the urdu, which is quite a shame. And even if I could read it, I still probably wouldn’t be able to understand most of it anyways. :disgust: Yea so it’s just hundreds of pages of small writing in with an ink-pen of shairs and quotes by Iqbal.

sigh Well he died before I was even born which is quite a bummer because I’m sure he’d have been a cool person to hang out with. :frowning:

So, here’s what it looks like. I was really careful while taking these pictures and flipping through the book because it’s so old and I didn’t want to break it :(.

**Anyways, so here it is. Iqbaliyat by my grandfather himself: Abdul Ghani :clap: I love you dada abbu :kiss: **

Front Cover: My dad re-made the front cover since the original one was all torn up.

First few pages: Title page and table of contents, i believe. :confused:

…and this is what the rest of the book is. Page after page of Iqbal’s shairs in my grandfather’s very own handwriting :). I’m not sure if you all can read this or not, but if you are able to read something, please translate some for me :).

[edit: pics removed on request]

Do Not Quote

Re: <-- Iqbaliyat -->

hey fati .. can u even read it :P .. even i cant :(

Re: ← Iqbaliyat →

That’s some great stuff… Iqbal the great! :k: Lovely handwriting your granddad had :slight_smile: Aapkey aur merey dada abbu kahiN ek hi to nahiN they? Same name… :halo:

Absolutely magnificient handwriting :k:

wow,

keep it safe and in a dry place, it's worth something

Pinky you must show this book to anu bhai.

wow :k: zabardast :k:

bombastic - lol yea i know it’s pretty small and blurry. inshaAllah i’ll learn to read urdu someday.

KN - wow same name first AND last?! :eek:

paki boy - thanks yh. it almost looks printed :slight_smile:

danial - yea it’s worth a lot for sure, but i would never sell it.

LUC - yea AQ yould love this!

janwar - thankyou :slight_smile:

Phati: you asked me not to quote otherwise I would have quoted each one of them. you are right. This is amazing. I am a fan of Iqbal too but I may not know even a little bit about his poetry for people have written thesis and received doctorate degrees on his poetry. Your grand father seemed to be one of those who read every word of Iqbal. I see Asraar-e-Khudi in your images. I love that. I see the titles of all of his books at one place. I only own Baang-e-Dara and Baal-e-Jibreel. I will love to get a hold of Armaghaan-e-Hijaaz and Zarb-e-Kaleem.

Can you send me the photocopy of Iqbaliat :clown: ?

no its not the writing but the lingo .. i think 70% of the words are in persian or arabic

ive seen some of Iqbal's books in real at my grand paa's house like
BANGE DARA
BALE GIBRIL
ZARBE KALIM
JAVED NAMA

.. most of u in pakistan might know him .. name was MIRZA ADEEB and matric course urdu book got some of his stories in them ex: DASTEK knock

p/s: my dad made me go to a friend painter to learn this writing b4 my matric exams .. I SWEAR .. we started of with that half edged EAGLE pen .. it was bare fun though. GOOD OOOOLD DAYS !!!

WOW

Thats amazing thing really

haha woaaa loll yea i have no idea what you’re talking about at the end all that Bang-eDara and Asraar-e-Khudi, but sure sounds interesting. You want me to send you a photocopy? of the whole book? :bummer: it’s like 500 pages! i can probably scan certain pages or something for you if you’d like. :slight_smile: i’m glad you liked it. i’ll bring it with me next time i come to jackson heights. :smiley:

yea yea i’m pretty sure i heard my dad saying my grandfather knew farsi and a lot of arabic. our ancestors were iraqi.

icono - thanks man :slight_smile:

Bull****. Jatts were never iraqi.

^ Don't tell me about where my ancestors were from. Yes I am Jatt. My father's villiage is about an hour from sialkot in narowal, punjab. right near the indian border. Our ancient ancestors migrated from Iraq to northeastern Pakistan.

If you'd like to think that my roots are a bunch of "bull****" then frankly, you can kiss my ass.

Well some Jatts did migrate to Arab land and they had a tribe called Zatt, in Lisan-al-Arab its mentioned that this tribe are Jatts of India.

I’m not Indian :smack:. I just have some ancestors that migrated to Pakistan from Iraq. Whether this wild side newbie chooses to believe it or not is his choice. :slight_smile:

wow, yeah your dada should have got an honorary doctorate. Amazing calligraphy.

nice:k:
take kare of it

Wow. I love his handwriting! :love:
May Allah swt grant him Jannat-ul-fildoos.