Re: Iqbal Day - November 9 -

hum zinda qoum hainnnnnnnn

painda qaum hainnnnnnnnnn

hum sab ki hai pehchaan

hum sab ka pakistan pakistannn

hum sab ka pakistannnnnnnn

:jhanda:

typical stereotype about him... He also delivered sermons which are part of Pakistan's history. His Vision - and more importantly a vision of a Pakistan that was to be built on the Principles of an Islamic Welfare State. Also, do notice the Messege poem I quoted in the first post....

His message is nothing but Islam

Islam kaa peghaam hai, Iqbal kaa peghaam
Iqbal kaa peghaam zamaanaY ko sunaa dau

unless, we think that Islam can not take us out from the stone age :~)

:smack:how can we forget such a day

:bummer:

umm thanks for wat u granted us

no offence AQ but do u expect me to be inspired by messages of islam from a poet who couldnt write unless he was drunk? what was the point of his vision its not like it got us anywhere. Pakistan on the principles of islamic welfare state - what a joke. If iqbal was really wise he wud have opposed the creation of pakistan and let it remain with india.

pakistan, get over iqbal

Happy Birthday Allama Mohammad Iqbal!

Prove it ... Bohtaan lagaanaa buri baat hai.

oh... Altaf Hussain said the similar things :~)

Voice: It's a shame that you have such thoughts about Iqbal just because this is what you have "heard" from others. Only, if you would have read him, I would have argued with you but I would not.. I would rather keep my thread clean than spitting out filth in the similar fashion.

Pakistan, get rid of traitors of Pakistan who we have made our leaders out of ignorance.

Oh ive read about iqbal - only the school textbooks which have nothing but praise for him for our naive students. Quite frankly, im not inspired by poems,if u want to say something say it clearly in paragraphs. Iqbal must have been wise but the inspiration that he gave to his readers doesnt seem to have done anything for pakistan but im glad i got a holiday :sadiyah:

that's why i said you are sometimes dry .

if you don't respect iqbal , don't , it will not harm anyone
but don't judges ppl like iqbal just by mere guessing :)

because if we were in Pakistan, we would’ve remembered it… we get a nice holiday there…

voicey have u ever thought ke if there was no Pakistan , there wud be no Pakistanis

main to penguin hoon apna socho:@:

least we can do is be grateful for it

i dont want to get started on pakistan so i’ll stop here :slight_smile:

iraj - u need to check ur definition of dry :smack:

ohh sowwy – :rotfl:

pata hai nai kya bolri ho :smilestar: “voice is dry voice is dry”

I love you for starting this thread.
I always thought I was the biggest admirer of Iqbal.
But love to see so many people loving him equally.

my fav book------> hard core what else but “Zerb-y-kaleem”

AQ bhai I love to have your thoughts on that book.
I don’t mind a next thread about it.

2 Likes

There is a sticky thread in Poetry forum.. I am sure you will love it too :)

as for Zarb-e-Kaleem, I have not read it in it's entirety... The only two books that I own and read completely are Baang-e-Dara and Baal-e-Jibreel...

I am currently reading Zarb-e-Kaleem online...

By the way, the poem quoted in the first post is from the beginning of Zarb-e-Kaleem :)

if some1 cud translate one of his poems into english and post id be grateful :)

dry means ironic

is that better

ur kidding me right :aq:

dry means boring

I am sure you know it.
Allama Iqbal's language was much difficult in bang-y-dara but subjects were simple.
And by the time goes by he bacame so much more mature and in zarby kaleem --words are so simple but subject/idea are mind blowing.
As if he has the secret of life/death word I mean every thing.
I have all of his udru book but in pakistan. Read them in grade 13-14.

I have his poem on my wall too.
this one
"ber ter ez andeesha y sood o ziaan hy zindgi
kabhi jaan aur kabhi tasleem y jaan hy zindgi
"
my fav it
"zindgany ki haqeeqat koh ken ky dil sy pooch
joey sheer o tesha o sangy gara hy zingi"
Beautiful.

naa to me dry means

eatiung fish without cold drink:phati: