IPL 5

Re: IPL 5

sidin's latest on the IPL and indian fans...hilarious as usual:

How to write about the IPL without offending Indians
Easy-to-follow methods clearly explained, with helpful examples

Sidin Vadukut
April 27, 2012

Once again the Indian Premier League has burst upon the theatre of international sport, and subsequently relegated every other game into the dim, blurry background. This might make aficionados of other sports such as football or ball badminton uneasy, but it is the truth. More than ever before, cricket is permeating and influencing other disciplines.

For instance, it was impossible for me to watch the recent Real Madrid - Barcelona football match in the Spanish La Liga (The League) without constantly being reminded of the full-bodied, full-length dives that cricketers like Jonty Rhodes, Paul Collingwood, Yuvraj Singh and Sourav Ganguly have perfected into an art form. Clearly footballers are beginning to seek inspiration from their gentlemanly counterparts.

However, this poses a unique challenge for the foreign journalist and sportswriter, who has no option but to tackle this new, rich, powerful yet sensitive beast. Namely, how to write about the IPL and Indian cricket without being seen by Indian audiences as a jealous, vindictive, short-sighted, jealous, often English, jealous bigot, who is still steeped in orientalist theories.

Now some people think that this is just a matter of maintaining balance and neutrality in your reporting and writing. You couldn't be farther from the truth if you were a running Ravichandran Ashwin and the truth were the crease.

The Indian audience is perhaps the most sophisticated, nuanced, passionate and armed audience in cricket. This means that they have a unique, complex method of analysing cricket journalism that foreign media may not entirely appreciate. Let me explain with examples:

Example 1:
What you wrote: "Despite a dynamite cameo by Dhoni, England managed to hold their nerve and win the 7th ODI in…" What the Indian audience read: "Spoilt by the shameless, immoral wealth of the IPL, the little brown colonials once again succumbed to the undeniable superiority of the English cricketing machine. Sachin Tendulkar is overrated and an embarrassment. Go make me a curry, boy!"

Example 2:
What you tweeted: "Just landed in Mumbai. What a city! Hot but loving it. Can't wait for the match tomorrow." What Indian tweeters read: "Just drove from the airport to Wankhede past the poor slum hordes of this dirty, smelly, chaotic city. In June I can finally go back to Tasmania and civilisation. Phew! Watching Slumdog Millionaire on my iPad. Best film ever. Want to open window of taxi and let air in. But there are Indians everywhere. LOL #facepalm"

As you can see, the line between factual accuracy and intense cultural insult is a fine one. And journalists must learn to tread that line carefully if they wish to thrive in the lucrative Indian cricketing milieu. But how to tread that line, you ask? Let me be of assistance.

There are a few simple techniques to guaranteeing that Indian audiences will lap up your content joyously. I will present some of the most potent ones here to help you with your reportage.

Technique 1: Always, always, always start your article with a version of the line: "In India cricket is a religion and Sachin Tendulkar is its god." It absolutely does not matter what the content or tone of the rest of your article is. This line has the magical ability to soothe nerves, calm tensions and temper passions.

Illustration: "Everybody knows that India is a cricket-crazy land with Tendulkar the presiding deity. Majestic Pakistan beats hapless India by 278 runs to win the 2015 Cricket Karbonn 'Yeh Kya Kamaal Ka Cup Hai Bhai' World Cup."

Technique 2: If you must, on the rare occasion, criticise India, immediately make it clear that things are much, much, much worse in Pakistan. Do not be perturbed if you cannot find similar shortcomings in the enemy country. Any fault will do nicely for the purpose of narrative balance.

Illustration: "This week the eighth edition of the Indian Premier League kicked off in Pune. With two weeks of matches still left in the seventh edition of the Indian Premier League, this leaves several players in precarious positions. For instance, Mahendra Singh Dhoni is currently coach of the Chennai Super Kings, having retired at the beginning of season seven, but also simultaneously the captain of the Kochi Daredevils since he has returned from retirement this year. (Click here for an interactive slideshow of Pakistani cricketers in English prisons.) The opening ceremony was a glittering affair…"

Technique 3: The final technique is a very old one: the "good journalist-bad journalist" routine. Here you sandwich your legitimate criticism of Indian cricket, cricketers and cricket administration between layers of vague, generic praise. These platitudes act like speed breakers to the readers' high-velocity outrage. Thereby calming and confusing them.

Illustration: "By consistently refusing to adopt technology the BCCI is merely reflecting a broader bull-headed, regressive national tendency in India to resist change, distrust high technology and question everybody's motives for everything. This is remarkable coming from a nation that accounts for over 74,000 Microsoft employees, including Bill Gates. This adamant stand now threatens to create a wide rift in cricket that will cripple it for years. India, the home of AR Rahman, Shilpa Shetty and the Y2K bug, must step up now before it gets too late."

I hope these techniques will help foster warmer relations between foreign cricket media and Indian cricket fans.

Sehwag on fire! 5th consecutive 50! SRs of 150+!!

Poor Dravid couldnt do anything today except watch in frustrating as Sehwag ran away with the game.

On a side note, I'm quite disgusted to see chor kutta Jadeja as part of TV panel in one of the broadcasting channels. Proven corrupt cricketers should have nothing to do with cricket. How can other honest players like Manjarekar etc sit next to this chor????

is Jadeja on panel which is doing commentry for IPL? or he is just on any panel on some TV channel.

some TV channel..I think Sony.

he is not at the stadium as part of the official commentary panel

Just seen some of the best hitting EVER by ABD! He really is one of the best today.

RCB needed 39 off 18 balls. Steyn would bowl 2 of the last 3 overs for DC. Stey has been absolutely brilliant this season - unplayable most of the times barely giving any high scoring overs.

And this is what ABD did to Steyn in the 18th over.

6 2 4 6 4 1 (last 1 take purely to keep strike) - One of the best hitting I've seen EVER!! against THE BEST fast bowler in cricket today.

19th over - 4 4 6 1 4 DONE. ABD 47 off 17. What a player!!

Who is ABD

^^
AB Devillers from South Africa

Thanks Storm. Sharabee uses more abbreviations than a government agency!

DD have a big challenge on their hands. Chris Gayle (128* off 62 balls incl. 13 sixes. His IPL cheque should be even bigger next year) totally massacred their attack

RCB 215/1 (20/20 ov)
Delhi Daredevils 51/2 (6/20 ov)

http://www.espncricinfo.com/indian-premier-league-2012/engine/current/match/548372.html

But should a player of Gayle’s calibre not be playing for his country?

Incredible to think that he’s blasting bowlers in IPL when he should be playing for West Indies. They could have done with Gayle’s runs on the first day of the first test against England today.

Chanders 87 again to the rescue!
WI 243/9 (89.4 ov, S Chanderpaul 87*, SCJ Broad 6/72) - Stumps | Live Scorecard | ESPN Cricinfo

Not only him but also Dwayne Bravo and Narine (although IPL is the one which realized his talent and picked him up for a huge sum while the Windies Board was snoozing) should be playing for Windies right now … their test team would be so much stronger with these three playing

Is the power of the $$$ that much?

DD 194/9

RCB won by 22 runs despite Taylor heroics (55 off 26 balls)

First IPL game I watched this season

I agree brother your country’s cricket should take preference over IPL. If Gayle, Bravo and Pollard were all in WI they wouldve beaten AUS, WI gave them a good fight even without them. Narine looks great although he may not have been selected for WI cuz hes new, but now he’s proven himself and should be selected.

Sehwag wasnt playing.. varna.. :D

Looking forward to the playoffs!

Neither Sharaabee’s DD nor Gayle’s RCB made it to the final

commiserations to both!!!

Can Chennai make it a hat-trick of wins?

Form favours neither team (Head to head in IPL 2012: CSK 1 win, KKR 1win)

Kolkata v Chennai, IPL 2012, final, Chennai: KKR seek maiden title; CSK hunt hat-trick | Cricket News | Indian Premier League 2012 | ESPN Cricinfo

**Pakistan players to participate in IPL 2013 - BCCI

**Indian Premier League (IPL) chairman and BCCI’s vice-president Rajiv Shukla has assured that Pakistani cricketers will be allowed to take part in the next edition of the cash-rich league, former PCB chief Ijaz Butt disclosed it to Dawn here on Friday.

“With the consent of the incumbent PCB chairman Zaka Ashraf, I met Rajiv Shukla and former president of the BCCI Sharad Pawar in New Delhi recently and discussed the progress on the Indo-Pak cricketing relations,” said Ijaz, who reached Lahore on Wednesday and met Zaka Ashraf on Thursday to inform him about the developments.

“In New Delhi, Rajiv Shukla has assured me that Pakistani players will be allowed to play in the next IPL edition,” Ijaz said.

“I informed Zaka Ashraf about the entire situation and now the chairman will take his own decision according to the situation,” he said.

Barring the inaugural edition of the IPL, no Pakistani player has been assigned to play in the IPL, mainly in the wake of the Mumbai attacks of December 2008.

However, now the ice is breaking as the BCCI has already allowed the Pakistan T20 champions Sialkot Stallions to feature in the upcoming Champions League for the first time.

To a question, Ijaz said though some ifs and buts were yet to be cleared for the resumption of the bilateral cricket series, the visit of PCB chairman to India this week to witness IPL’s final in Chennai will be a good occasion for the two cricket boards to reach a consensus on the issue.

It may be mentioned that Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had announced on the occasion of the World Cup 2011 semi-final between Pakistan and India in Mohali that Indian cricket team would go to Pakistan for a short tour. However, the tour never materialised.

Recently, President of Pakistan Asif Ali Zardari in his one-day trip to India had discussed the resumption of ties and there was a report that Manmohan had issued strict orders to the BCCI for making effort on the resumption of cricketing ties with Pakistan.

However, many doubts still exist over a possible Pakistan-India cricket series in the near future as no concrete step has been taken by either the BCCI or the Indian government to revive the cricketing relations.

The PCB’s financial position has also suffered considerably due to absence of any international cricket at home.

In a recent interview with Dawn, Zaka had admitted that the financial position could be strengthened tremendously if India and Pakistan revive the bilateral series.

Pakistan players to participate in next IPL edition: BCCI | DAWN.COM

A year’s a very long time in Pakistani and Indian relations :afridi:

:frowning: DD’s core couldnt perform in the knockouts. They were too heavy on pace and the spin tracks exposed that.

Chennai is as usual stepping it up when it matters!!!

KKR Will Win this time :hbk:

^ I hope so, CSK has won twice already. But they are 67/0 in the 8th over right now - looks like will post a big total.

Dhoni's mantra of "peaking at the right time" seems to be working again.

kkr wins the cup

good match,once again dhoni is the best captain in the world......

dude plays when it matters bad luck this time

tightttt game.. wouldve loved a superover!

it kind of ruined it for me though to see SRK dance around like a 15 yr old.. ABEY TUNE KYA KIYA HAI?????

lots of praise for Gautam this year.. he led them well..

Player of the Season is Sunil Narine. Narine: "It has been a pleasure coming here and performing. Hopefully I am picked for the England series, and I can go down there and give it my all."Loud cheers as the great Rahul Dravid walks up to receive the Fairplay Award. Dravid: "Don't think the award had to do anything with me. The boys bowled their overs in time, and that had a big part to play in it. It was an incredible final."Orange Cap to Chris Gayle, Purple Cap to Morne Morkel, presented to his brother Albie*Mandeep Singh, the Kings XI batsman, is the Rising Star of the tournament. Mandeep: "Would have felt even happier had my team made it here. Had a good domestic season, and my preparation was good as well. Would like to thank Vikram bhai [Rathore, the Punjab coach]. Dream is to play for India, for at least ten years." Not a bad dream to have, and looks like he has the capability to make it come trueManvinder Bisla* is the Man of the Match. Bisla: "Feeling very happy, I played my part, Brendon is a class player, his record speaks for himself, due to Balaji's injury, we had to leave him out, I am lucky I got a chance, Till the last ball, it did not feel like we had made it."From being the joke of the IPL for the first three seasons to champions has been some journey for Kolkata Knight Riders. They invested in a different team, they invested in a new leader in Gautam Gambhir, and they have the title in the second season with the new teamThe highest chase easily in an IPL final this. Only once has the side batting second won the IPL, when Rajasthan Royals chased 163 off the last ball in 2008, against CSK. Today's pitch was the same on which CSK chased 205 against RCB earlier this season*Manvinder Bisla: "I don't think I have hit as well, good to play this in the finals to help win it for my team. There was no plan, wanted to go out there to enjoy, after Gambhir got out, I felt a tad tensed but after getting one or two to the fence, I got the confidence. Kallis is a legend, batting along side him was a great opportunity, he asked me to keep it simple and get going. I am happy from inside (when asked to smile by Pommie Mbwanga!)"Brendon McCullum: "Pretty satisfied. We have had four hard years. To come out in tough conditions and chase 195 against CSK is very satisfying. People back in Kolkata and Bengal will be proud of us. We have been relaxed the whole way through. We never lost the belief in our own abilitiesTrevor Bayliss, KKR coach: "We played a team game throughout. The partnership between Bisla and Kallis was the winning one. People said we could not do it without Gautam scoring runs, but we proved we could tonight. Wicket tonight was a lot better batting wicket than the one we played on here few weeks ago."Shah Rukh Khan: "i want to thank Gautam and my boys."L Balaji: "We are one family and we did what we wanted to do from day one. We stuck to each other, ultimately it paid off, great feeling to lift the trophy."Jacques Kallis: "No, not easy to run those ones and twos, lot of hard work, you put hard work and get results like this, it feels good. Being an allrounder is hard work. CSK are a champion side, credit to our guys to beat them at their home ground, they don't get beaten a lot here. Chasing 195 It is a little bit old age I think [jokes about the hamstring]. But it should be alright. We did not panic, that was the key. At times, you can panic chasing 195."Brett Lee: "It is not only about those who played tonight. Everyone has done a brilliant job, guys who played through the tournament, coach, support staff. I had my batting gloves on, I was very nervous, but that is T20 cricket. That is why Jacques Kallis is the best in the world."SRK is embracing whoever comes close to him.Yusuf Pathan: "The way Gautam has captained in the last two years, it is comparable to Shane Warne [at Rajasthan]. He has supported the players a lot. We have played as a team. We enjoyed each others' success. I got to play the role in the semi-final, today Bisla and Kallis did it. The way Bisla was in and out of the team, he did very well. It was tough to leave out a top player like McCullum."Sunil Narine: "Coming in a big tournament and having a big impact is huge. But it is about 11 players."Wasim Akram: "I have won World Cup for Pakistan, but this is very different feeling. I am very happy. Knowing our owner SRK, it is going to be a madhouse."Shakib Al Hasan*: "I dont think we will be able to sleep tonight. I think Shah Rukh has gone mad. I dont know what he is doing."