Inzamam has scored a century in each of his last six test series. Pakistan managed to win just one of those series and lose four but no blame could be attached to him.
In February in New Zealand he averaged 51.66. At home against England at the end of last year, it was 60.60, preceded in turn by 59.56 in Sri Lanka, 59 against West Indies, 71 at home to the Sri Lankans and 43.33 in Australia.
It is a consistency without equal, out of the reach even of India’s celebrated Sachin Tendulkar.
It has also been achieved with the minimum of hard work.
What do members think, will he acheive the same consistency and bring stability to the team during the series against England?
i dont know about that yaar. but i am pretty mad about this.
Team Played Won Lost Drawn Points Average
Australia 13 10 2 1 21 1.62
South Africa 15 9 4 2 20 1.33
England 14 7 6 1 15 1.07
Sri Lanka 13 5 5 3 13 1.00
New Zealand 15 6 7 2 14 0.93
West Indies 12 5 6 1 11 0.92
India 12 4 5 3 11 0.92
Pakistan 15 4 7 4 12 0.80
Zimbabwe 12 2 9 1 5 0.42
Bangladesh 1 0 1 0 0 -
what kindof a rating is this? india that cant dream of beating Pak in india or outside is rated above Pak. what kindof a horse sh*t is this. i think they should start the rating system from scratch to give everyone a fair chance.
Pak is one of the best test match teams today and they are ranked among zimbawe and bangladesh. teams that are ranked above Pak, newzealand srilanka india and westindies cant even dream of beating Pak in a series anywhere today. is icc on dope or what.
[This message has been edited by mundyaa (edited May 16, 2001).]
Mundayaa, the recent track record of Pakistan is very poor and these tables will always reflect that. 15 matches, of which 4 won and 7 lost tells its own story.
"Minimum of hard work" meant the amount of boundaries he hit. Even today the manner in which he batted was simply breathtaking, a century punctuated by boundaries galore.
well i have to so it was sooooooooooooooooo gd to watch him play it was fantastic it was the best , younis khan and rashid latif have done very well as well though
'Hate your enemy mildly; he may become your friend one day' - Hadith
'as for those who are slain in the cause of allah, he will not allow their work to perish ... he will admit them to the paradise he has made known to them' - Surah 47:7
I think Inzy is only trustworthy specialist batsman in pakistan side and today he prooved it again.
I do wonder about Saeed anwar's this weakness which costs him his wicket every time, I dont know when he is going to work on it (I suppose after he retires)
Well done to Inzy he has saved the day again.
Saeed Anwar has got out all three times in this series playing the same shot outside the off stump. Even though to be fair to him the ball did jump on him today and it was not his usual "slip practice catch" shot which he favours so often. Congrats also to Younis Khan and Rashid Latif. younis Khan is maturing fast and now can be relied upon. When Youhanna regains his touch and we find an opener to partner Saeed, this batting line up will be very good again.
Originally posted by ehsan: What do members think, will he acheive the same consistency and bring stability to the team during the series against England?
Good work Inzi, Remember my post before the series, I have firm belief on INzi n saeed n I still have faith that saeed will also do good ( Insha Allah )
I think Inzi's Consistency is coz he is not invloved in any sort of Politics . Just keep on working his game when others were playing POLITICS.
Another example is Rashid Latif . Now he is keeping his head down n concentrating on his game ONLY so he is goin fine.
Remember Last time when rashid was captain in Bangladesh. He was in so much tension that his keeping was worst even from MOIN KHAN.
CONGRATULATIONS INZI, Overall he is da only batsman in da pakistani team n try to maintain his form all da time. Others when not in form can't play as they know dat they are not in form n they can't be blamed for not showing good performance but this MAN can do anything at any time.Pakistan can't get a good opening pair yet.Afridi was to be good as he may play a few overs n score some 20-30 runs.
The other stupidity with us is dat when a player performs very well in crucial moments da next day we bring him as opener.Like if some day Shoaib Akhter or M.Sami scored some 30-40 runs in da next match he will be opening for pakistan. Nice planning they've got.uhh
Congratulations to Younis Khan n Rashid Latif also.
~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~