Inzamam's "tactics" on the field, his tradition of utilizing "innovation" and more...

:slight_smile:

Derived from the first ODI vs. India '05/06.

1. On a flat-batting surface, won the toss and elected to field, without Shoaib Akhtar, and of all the people in the world, (my mohalla’s Khala Khairan at least knows how to work magic with her fingers when needed) Arshad Khan is retained as a super-sub.

2. Waited for entire rounds of Power-Play to come to an end, when the likes of Pathan was sending every other ball towards the boundary. Absolutely no protection in the deep.

3. Without testing whether or not the pitch was turning (before-hand), Umar Gul was unfortunately taken out of the attack, and was substituted with the greatest finger-spinner of all time - Taaya Arshad Khan.

4. The local guy went for twelve (12) runs in his first over, and eight (8) in the next one. His other partners (Afridi + Malik) averaged approximately ten (10) runs in their spells as well. So far for ‘let’s wait and see’ strategy.

5. Arshad Khan was then brought back into the attack when Tendulkar was in the 90’s, just so we make sure no roadblocks are present on the roadway towards Tendulkar’s three-digit mark (even though only four runs were scored in his first over of the second spell)

6. Inzamam also has a habit of taking a ‘defensive’ approach when the going gets rough. We saw this instance in the last test match where Farhat dropped Sehwag’s (first) catch in the slips, and Younis quickly came into the picture, offering words of advice and mental support for the fielder. Inzamam hardly ever “attacked” in such a manner.

Keeping in mind the above, I really feel that innovation is the key here. Please do remember that I am in no way, shape, or form criticizing Inzamam’s mode of batting. It’s his ‘field antics’ that really sets his ‘captaincy’ tone in quite a negative manner (at least for me). His ignorance of the law(s), and his approach towards “his boyzzz” sets him worldly apart. Even though alot of people like to see “toned down” versions of team captains nowadays, (although I do not usually like to do comparisons myself), when Wasim Akram was captain, even the slightiest and tiniest misfield resulted in direct maa behan ki gaaliyan (of course with his “I am bigger than you” temper). However, Inzamam’s “quiet” captaincy mode can be related to Dravid (of some sorts), as they both have their likes and dislikes, but even then I think, Dravid knows, and applies the appropriate technique, felicitous mastery and the art of innovation in quite an attacking manner. Albeit a handful of plans (he and Chappel) implemented thus far did not result in their likeliness (such as sending Dravid as an opener), I very much liked the idea of sending pinch-hitters as one-down in order to maximize the profits of power-plays. On the other hand, we are, well, retaining the Afridis and Razzaqs in order to solidify the middle-order batting, when they should be used at the top of the order.

In addition to the above, I would also like to thrust your attention towards the following well-written posts (pertaining to the discussion in this thread):

1. Major glitches in our performance (Faisal)

2. Pinch-Hitters should be utilized at the top of the batting lineup (skhan)

Lastly, why in God’s green earth is Arshan Khan even near the vicinity of the Pakistani squad? Dear Lord, at least let the guy go back to the nets and give him time to practice his batting (obviously he can’t twist his fingers far enough to accomplish “Warne”-like turn), and then welcome him back in the team. Shoaib Akhtar, for instance, has improved his hitting by miles. Danish and Arshad, on the other hand, can hardly differentiate between the handle and the bat. How, is my question, and why, is Arshad Khan even here in the first place? Did Babu the toilet clearner resigned from his day-job?

I guess I opened up several points for discussion, but the main point still remains the same - Inzamam’s “mode of” captaincy, his optimization and his utilization of strategies, and implementation of the same.

:slight_smile:

Re: Inzamam’s “tactics” on the field, his tradition of utilizing “innovation” and more…

Points to saaray achay hain. And actually i’m turning out to be a big fan of Younis Khan’s aggressive yet polite style of captaincy ever since Pak’s tour to India last year. Mind you i was one of the first arm-chair experts questioning the appointment of YK as a vice captain.

I have at some point in time complained about each one of the above mentioned problems atleast three to four times. :stuck_out_tongue: Thing is, while Inzamam most definitely does have all the flaws described above, the advantages of his presence in the team are far too significant to be ruled out. He is a gel thats keeping the “boyzzz” together. Pakistan team at one point in time (2003 WC) had as many as 6-7 ex-captains playing. The team we have now only has one captain playing. Theres very less chance of factions forming up and mutiny in the camp, which was the case three years ago. Everyone looks up to him as a father figure and does what the captain and coach say. In a nut-shell, he keeps things going. Inzamam quitting from captaincy right now would be a big blow to the team.

The one solution could be to train him on these matters. I cannot imagine Bob Woolmer not noticing these things. But then again we are just arm-chair experts and they are the guys running the show so they definitely know way more than we do. Another thing ive noticed is that Younis Khan usually takes a step back and cant be seen offering advice to his captain very often. I mean look at the Indian team, pretty much every game you see mini meetings of sachin-sehwag-dravid-ganguly. Matter fact sometimes they have those meetings after every delivery! Maybe Inzi and YK should communicate more often.

As for Arshad Khan.. i’m just as clueless as anybody else on this board! Last i heard the bank that Arshad worked for didnt allow him to leave work to play the ODIs.. wonder why he’s still playing :konfused:. I mean agar off-spinner ki zaroorat haiy to Shoaib Malik kia anday de raha haiy?

Anyway Inzi is not captain material. He has worked real hard to get where he’s at no doubt about that. But there are some traits of captains that are very rarely acquired. For example.

When Pak wins under Imran Khan, the expression you see on his face says *“Ha ha, now thats how you make a plan work. Trapped those suckers so bad they didnt know what hit them!”

*When Pak wins under Inzamam, the expression you see on his face says “Holy sh!t we won! LOL ROTFL ROTFL. How the hell did that happen?? LOOOL”

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Re: Inzamam's "tactics" on the field, his tradition of utilizing "innovation" and mor

Nicely parlanced, Captain Lota! :)

I definitely agree with you on the subject matter that at this current point in time, an admirable model such as Inzamam has largely affected the backstage atmosphere and the attitude of the cricketers in a positive direction. Absolutely, yes, I think that is, and should always, be a key point, and the credit for the gigantic transformation to the prevailing unit all out goes to Inzamam, Woolmer, and the likes. They have done a tremendous vocation in order to stay and maintain, not only theirs, but their fellow players' fitness levels, physique, and most importantly, the devotion and the unity within the team. Major plusses right there!

Regarding Younis's captaincy, I basically see him as an attacking captain (as you mentioned). However, you are right on the count that there is hardly any evidence of 'mini' meetings , as all signs have pointed at little to none team collaboration. A simple look at the tactics deployed by Dravid in the field suggests the fact that such actions have more or less helped the team exploit the opposition's weaknesses, and keep them on their toes throughout the duration of the game. One more thing I have noticed, in addition to the above mentioned, is when you substitute Inzamam with Younis, the latter looks so much more agile, fresh and nimble. His behavior and his body language just drips all over on the definition of "attack". Younis constantly keeps in touch with the players, almost after every delivery bowled, and praise/criticize accordingly (and within a 'good spirit' of the game). Inzamam, on the other hand, barely offers such prospect, and the lack of abundance in his mindset generally translates into him making 'age-old' decisions.

Inzamam is a great mental and moral leader with his transfiguration and metamorphosis, no doubt, but his "defensive" antics sets his 'mode of' captaincy back in the timezone of Neanderthals and Eskimos.

Re: Inzamam's "tactics" on the field, his tradition of utilizing "innovation" and more...

Very nicely done and well articulated comments by Dhobi bhai and Captain Lota. Really really interesting.

I personally am a big fan of Inzi particularly when he is batting. One thing, that really puzzles about Inzi in the field is that he sometimes just goes plain dumb. Just like Dhobi bhai mentioned that Inzi doesn't really goes to the player to either appreciate or either shake them up. I do see that quality in YOunis Khan esp. when he sets the field.

No doubt, Pak team is playing as one unit under Inzi and there's no worry about factions as whole team looks @ only one person as their mentor and that's Inzi. Inzi does do a good job with the "boyzzz" but sometimes Inzi is completely lost in the ODIs. Last game, he employed the power play3 from overs 16 to 20 even though our bowlers were smashed to the 4 corners of the ground. It would have been better for the team had Inzi utilized the Power Play3 later on so the run flow could have been stopped.
I am still not sure that our wonderful coach Bob Woolmer hasn't consulted about this with Inzi or Inzi just goes plain for Power plays.

Arshad Khan, I like him in a sense that he squeezes the run flow but yea, why do we have Shoaib Malik after all if we need to utilize Arshad as a spinner. Also, I really think that Pak should use an allrounder or Yasir Hameed or either Imran Farhat as the super sub. Hope that Pak inshAllah outperforms India in all the ODIs..
Aright, gotta go!!
Umer579

Re: Inzamam's "tactics" on the field, his tradition of utilizing "innovation" and more...

Inzamam is not really the planner in the side, I dont think he can handle captaincy. I am sure Woolmer is the guy who does all the work and then tries to get his planning implemented via Inzi as well as messeges from the dressing room. Plus Inzi is just plain ol lazy so he doesnt walk up to talk to his players. Younis jumps around so much that he keeps everyone on their toes, you dont necessairly have to jump around to keep people alert, Imran harldy use to do that but he was an effective captain. Inzamam barley makes the moves, he waits for things to happen. He is lucky that he is playing with a talented team so normally things do happens but more so cause of the talent of his players then his captaincy.

Inzimam has led by example, shows determination, commitment and modest approach. With qualities like these add bunch of talented players, highly professional coach, some important victories and you have created a leader with established credentials for others to follow and emulate.

Not all leaders will be alike, some can be laidback yet firm while others can be bubbly yet loose in administration. Inzimam is not the perfect captain and Guppies know very well how I have criticized him in the past, but this guy can be defined as a late bloomer and somehow the big guy up there likes him which makes all the difference.

My issue with Inzimam and his leadership is his insecure style of administration which he tries to compensate by being overly authoritarian in team selection and player control. His insistence on playing Arshad Khan, appointing Mushy as bowling consultant, persisiting with Malik as opener, not allowing younger players to take chances its reflective of a management style which does not wish to risk loss of control.

Till now the Pak captain has stood and delivered on sub-continental pitches, in Australia our erstwhile Cap chose to sit out with his 'we are fine' back problem. In my opinion, the real test will come when he leads the team to England.

Inzimam may seem dumb due to his laidback approach, but I am sure he's anything but. He has a lot of experience on the cricket field, and is well-versed with all the nuances. If we, as armchair critics, can read a situation and offer our opinion on what step should be taken next, then I can assure you Inzimam, being ON the field, and having played 100+ tests and 350+ ODIs can read the situation better than all of us. His decisions may not agree with us, but I am sure he has reasons for them.

Why did he take all the powerplays consecutively? Maybe he thought it was best to get them out of the way so we don't have to deal with them later. Why does he play Arshad Khan when he has Shoaib Malik? Arshad is a better spinner and bowls a tighter line and may have better value to the team than say, a batsman in an aready packed batting lineup. Now some of his decisions may backfire, but rest assured, he's doing whatever he thinks is best. Granted, some of the innovations such as supersub and powerplays might be new to him, but then it should be the coach who should make sure Inzi knows about them.

Another reason why he's captain is that he is by far the senior most person in the side, and commands respect. Even Shoaib Akhtar in his recent interview, credited the captain for gelling the team together. Younis Khan, on the other hand is relatively junior, and might have problems dealing with Akhtar, Afridi, etc.

Lastly, let's not forget that Inzimam's win record is pretty impressive. While Dravid may be praised by all for his smart captaincy, intelligent bowling changes, communicating & interacting with players, utilizing power plays, etc etc., but what good did it do him? India still ended up on the losing side!

Well Imran Khan was quoted as saying Younis will make a great captain,and when the great Khan says that, he must have seen something in YK. Leadership qualities are an entirely separate game and a great batting talent like inzi( or sachin for that matter) doesn't mean the person can be a great leader. Younis's ability to motivate players,innovate and boost a player's morale after he has commited a mistake is very impressive. He certainly can prove much better leader of men than Inzi.

Re: Inzamam’s “tactics” on the field, his tradition of utilizing “innovation” and more…

I also would very much like to believe what you have said. Certainly it makes sense. But in reality things are different. I still remember that atrocious decision to take the light in New Zealand, his asinine obstructing the field dismissal, his persistence with Arshad Khan at all costs. Zero imagination shown in taking powerplays. His bowling decisions, remember Razzak’s last over in the final ODI against England? But he is new to the job, he is learning.

My guess is that Woolmer is behind most of the innovation that does go on. Sometimes the way Inzi captains it’s as if he has a tried and tested formula for doing things and he is determined to follow it regardless of the situation.

His ability to inspire and lead is not questioned, certainly he handled all the players well and has the respect of the team. But I for one would certainly love seeing some more imagination and flexibility from him.

100% agree with Dhobi_Bhai. Nicely wriiten - well done.

Only other thing I like to add is regarding Arshad Khan. I will find it very difficult to believe that there are no better off-spiners than him in the country. I am sure there are - others whcih need to be hunted by the selectors and management rather than playing same person over and over again.