Inzamam retained as Pakistan Captain for Another Year

Well deserved I say… he showed signs of some active and aggressive captaincy - hoping to see more of that.

Source: http://content.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/207380.html

Inzamam retained as Pakistan captain

Cricinfo staff
April 25, 2005
Inzamam-ul-Haq has been retained as Pakistan captain for another year following an impressive tenure to date, which includes their recent success in India. The Pakistan board announced the move shortly after their one-day series victory. “He showed good leadership qualities,” the Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Shaharyar Khan told BBC Sport, “therefore we decided to extend his tenure for one year.”

Inzamam was originally appointed to lead the side until the end of Pakistan’s tour of West Indies which starts in May and comprises two Tests and three one-dayers. But his contract was extended following the drawn Test series against India and the successful one-day series where Pakistan came back from 2-0 down to win 4-2.

Now Inzamam will be at the helm for two home series against England in November and India the following February. The Asia Cup will also come under his leadership. The vice captain Younis Khan will continue in the role of deputy, but his position will be re-evaluated after the tour of West Indies.

Re: Inzamam retained as Pakistan Captain for Another Year

Great! Inzi deserved it.

well Inzi was a gem in the last series but i am always convinced that he is not a pure captain material....having said that, i hope that inzi's aggressive style of captinacy would continue and he will not return back to his first-gear slow mode......best wishes for this great servant of pakistan inshallah...we all love you Inzi.....

thats good...we should retain captains for long term for a change...current combination is going good

Inzi matured as a captain in the Indian tour and now retained as one for another year, by end of his term WC '07 will be just an year away and it’ll be less likely to make a new captain … hence chances of Inzi being captain in WC’07 are higher now. Good luck to him and Pak cricket :k:

Lets hope Ganguly retains his cpataincy too forever...

I think it was pretty much a given. There are no viable alternatives anyway, as Shoaib has been stuck with politics and Younis is too green in the role of VC. And obviously Inzi was very effective in India, and improving all the time as a leader.

:jhanda: :mash:

well deserved actually. he has been great servant of pakistan cricket since late 1980s.

and captaincy is indeed a reward for him.

and for some one like me who is his all time big fan its always treat to see

Late 80s?

regardless of his captaincy, atleast it brings much needed stability to our cricket setup

Phoenixdesi Bhai, its just like saying,

Jab Mai jeeta hou tou kehte hai ke marta bhi nahi, aur jab mai marta hou tou kehte hai ke jeena houga:D :stuck_out_tongue: :smiley:

itni ziyada jeenay/marnay ki baatayn? Allah khair karay, kia keh diya doctor ne? :-|

All one has to do is beat India...and he is made...has anybody checked Inzi record as captain? He is one of the worst captains we have ever had in test and one day cricket, only reason why he suddenly looks good is becose we beat India in a one day series? Comeon guys, out of the 15days of test cricket played, it was 9-10 in favor of India, two draw and three-four Pakistan. Pakistan needs a captain who can think for himself, doesnt have to depend on others in throwing out the competition, someone who is confident enuff to tolerate any other big player, someone who is not insecure of other bigger players...someone who doesnt feign injuries in Australia....someone who remembers those who were nice to him when he was dumped and doesnt stab them in the back...

Basically, someone with character and leadership skills....not size and weight..

^ I have been against Inzi's captaincy since he was made one, but in this last series he really has matured a lot and no one else is ready for the responsibility as of today ... so let him be on the front and let Younis Khan grow.

Captain,
One ODI series does not make a trend. Yes, he has improved no doubt about that. But for how long will we have to endure mediocrity simply because it is whatever is available or he is the best choice available. I disagree. Pakistan is blessed with talent, its a matter of testing the waters and making decisions free of kinship and personality cults.

Did Inzi or Yuhana ever captain domestic cricket teams? No. Inzi and Yuhana dont even play domestic cricket anymore. They are just too big for our poor cricket circuit. Captaincy must go to the player who can lead Pakistan against all teams, not just India, Bangladesh and Zimbawe. Why is it that Ricky Ponting, Ganguly and other captains play for their domestic circuits? It snot that it has more money, on the contrary its lowly paid, but much more rewarding in terms of building team spirits and getting to know other players.

Its good to know Woolmer had chosen to travel with Pakistan A, this shows his honest, professional approach which will make him a better judge of players rather than relying on his GUT or somebody’s UNCLE..

Inzimam under Coach Miandad was a disaster
Inzimam under Coach Woolmer is a Cap10 revitalized
Team has learned errrr,,,correct that to read "TAUGHT" to ,,,

Listen
Understand ,,, through translation aid if needed
Application,

Repeat this on hourly basis and you have a well disciplined squad synchronized on instructions well relayed by the coach.

Minus Woolmer and plus + a biased 'Desi' coach would actually show how many miles Inzimam has traveled on this road to be in the league of Cap10s.

In the last 2 ODI in India Inzimam has showed us how much of a 'Poor Cap10' he can be if his rudder is not adjusted on daily basis,,,, Go figure you people,,,,,,

Bob Woolmer ,,, I understand you are being 'modest' n all,,,,,, Please come on stage and take a 'Solo Bow' may you have many more wins up your sleeve,,,,