Inzamam Obstructing the Field (all merged including video)

Re: Video: Inzamam Obstructing the Field

i have been lookinjg for this...

but

i get a page not found?

Re: Inzamam’s bizarre dismissal

‘The appeal was not made in a sporting manner’ - Inzamam

Cricinfo staff

February 8, 2006

Inzamam-ul-Haq: ‘I would not have imagined that Rahul Dravid and his team would do such a thing.’ © Getty Images

Inzamam-ul-Haq has said that India’s appeal against him for obstructing the field was within the rules but against the spirit of the game.

“If one surveyed the laws of cricket, the umpires’ decision was certainly according to the rules but, somehow, this law is something that I am not able to comprehend,” Inzamam wrote in The News. “I am also not in a position to say anything about it because the ICC code of conduct doesn’t permit me. In my role as the Pakistan captain, I would say that the appeal from the Indian fielders was against the spirit of cricket. Certainly, there are several modes in which a batsman can be declared out, but many of them are not in the spirit of the game. I am particularly referring to obstructing the field, handling the ball and hit-the-ball twice dismissals; also about the illegal practice of underarm bowling and running out a batsman while backing up.”

Inzamam was given out after he fended off Suresh Raina’s throw from mid-off with the bat while still out of his crease. The umpires upheld the Indians’ appeal for obstructing the field. This was just the third instance in one-day cricket of a batsman being given out in this fashion, the other two being Rameez Raja and Mohinder Amarnath. “However, such not very common laws need to be explained properly and in detail,” added Inzamam. “The Peshawar dismissal was in fact in direct contrast to my run-out dismissal in the Faisalabad Test match against England. If I had not brought my bat in front of the ball, it could have hit my body instead.”

He felt such incidents could have a negative effect on relations between the opponents. “I would not have imagined that Rahul Dravid and his team would do such a thing. I am not bothered about my dismissal but an appeal made in an unsportsmanlike manner by the visiting team can have an adverse affect on the relations between the two opponents. I have surely asserted on my boys not to make much of the Peshawar incident. However, in my personal opinion the appeal was not made in a sporting manner. Instead, it just might have left a bad taste in the mouth.”

© Cricinfo

http://content-aus.cricinfo.com/pakvind/content/current/story/236128.html

Re: Point of View

Inzi's earlier runout decision has nothing to do with this. It was an instinctive response from Inzi to avoid bodily harm and it was wrongfully interpreted by the umpires. No fault can be attributed to Inzi.

But in this case, it was not necessary for Inzi to be way outside his crease and bat away a ball (which probably wasn't hitting the stumps anyway) and then play dumb when the opposing team appeals. Sorry, but I knew it was out, heck my mom knew it was out, and we're just armchair critics!

Thankfully it didn't cost us the game, and like Captain Lota said we should learn from our mistakes and hopefully Inzi won't be caught napping again.

Re: Inzamam Obstructing the Field (all merged including video)

Can't download the video. Is the link bad?

Re: Point of View

Believe me his earlier runout decision has alot to do with this. Watch the ceremony after the ODI. He said to rameez something along these lines: "I dont understand the rule.. in faisalabad when i try to avoid the ball i got out. here when i defend the ball i get out".

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

So I guess run out appeal against Sachin in calcutta was also not in sporting manner. isnt it? after all he was in the crease and then collided with Bowler and then his bat and leg went into air and at that moment ball hit the wicket.

We cant pick and chose. Can we?

^ Inzi was obviously confused at that time and displayed his ignorance quite spectecularly. Subsequent statements by him suggests he now at least know which law he violated (good news), but thinks the law should not be applied by any team anyway, and that Indians should have shown "sportsmanship". No kiddin'!!

I guess, many Indian supporters would also argue that Pakistan should have shown "sportsmanship" and not opted to take the light offered by the umpires and continued to play the game to its logical ending. And Pak supporters will say "hahahaha..."

Lets move on.

stop crying Inzi, you are boring us now :nono3:

And this also brings to light my other pet peeve. The players should keep their traps shut. Why the heck do these players insist on opening their big mouths, especially in the middle of the series? On one hand he says “I can’t comment cz it will violate the Code of Conduct”, and in the same breath goes on to practically lamblasts the opposing team and captain. And all for what? That they enforced a law of cricket that our Captain had no knowledge of. Boo hooo :crying:

Oh shut up!

ok this is a stupid question but how can I view the video? It takes me to the "download file now" page then it takes me to "Upload file now"..going in circles..chunga yub aay bai..koi dussay..help karay. mehrbani

*^ Oye Shahzaday.. parhay likhay *_____ !

Wait five seconds on that download page and the reverse count down will convert to a "Download File link". Aik tau zara sa sabr nahi hai logouN mein, aaj kal.

reverse count down ???? This is something new for me.

Maaf karo smoothies..Professor Faisal lal boodhe ho gaye hain..

Yeah, 5-4-3-2-1.... you guys are so slow. Let me nickname you "tube light"

**Pakistan… Talking about Sportsmanship… Oh My God.. :cb: **

Remember shoaib coming in b/w sachin in 99 in kolkata??
Pak claiming a catch against sourav in chennai test when the ball clearly touched the ground
**I am happy that Rahul gave a good reply fo inzy’s statement!

^ Inzi's claim for 'unsportsmanship' is not good. As you pointed out an incident in past, I'm sure your side is not clean as well, so better not dig old issues (garay murday na ukharo).

Captain1, may be you are right, but do you have any proof for that? I don't have.

41.5 Saqlain Mushtaq to Ganguly, OUT:

India 82/5, Partnership of 9
SC Ganguly c Moin Khan b Saqlain Mushtaq 2 (25b 0x4 0x6)
Saqlain Mushtaq 14.5-5-19-2

Ganguly cracked this ball to ohard at silly point. the ball off his body fell down and diving Moin caught it off the ground very clearly and Dunne gives him out! this is clearly not out according to TV replays.

and MOIN KHAN, of all the people, is talking of sportsmanship !!
Khuda khair kare .....

I remember one incident when Ganguly claimed a catch when it wasn't, can't remember exactly where and when, I'm sure when everyone comes back tomorrow you'll have a list ;)