Introducing The "Gupshup Reading Club"..plz give me your views...

Hi! I just had a idea! (Not a v. original one!!). Why don’t we have a sort of online monthly reading club on GS?

The idea is that each month one of us picks a book which everyone (who wants to!!) goes and reads and then we give our views on it etc.

We can mutually agree (online!) on which of the books put forward we will choose for this month etc.

what do you think?

my book choice for this month would be Twilight in Delhi by Ahmed Ali (see amazon.com)

the idea came to me as a way of encouraging apnay log to read as we seem to have lost the art!! I even have a name for this GS club, “IQRA!” (Read!)

Asif, wah ji wah, khud tou book already parh li ho gi aur baqiyoon ko meseebat daalo....book khareedo aur phir parho bi....na ji na like our professors r not enuff ab yahan bi reading assignments milne lagi:)
i am not going to read any book which has more than 150 pages!! NO WAY JOSE!!

The idea is good but I don't think I can handle more than 10 pages a month. I would like the person who proposed the book to give a synopsis please.

Asif Gee,
could u advise me a good dutch book. I promise i will discuss it here with you.

Asif, a good idea but many, like you said, have moved away from that habit. We like instant gratification and reading a book means having to sit for periods of time and not do anything else. Also requires patience that is declining as time goes by.

A good idea, nonetheless.

[This message has been edited by jannu (edited November 07, 2001).]

We like instant gratification and reading a book means having to sit for periods of time and not do anything else

Dude, whatever you do with your copy of playboy is your business, you don't have to use explanatory excuses.

Well, that's a damn waste of my well intended reply. Roman, I wasn't even thinkin about it. You did. Means you have! Means you think "funny things"?

Or else this wouldn't have come to your mind, nahiN? BTW, you meant the desi...um..., well, uh, see...I can't even say that! Got a clean mind, ya' Nauw!