Introducing the Bottle

Nescio, please open another thread if you want to discuss the benefits of breast vs, bottle. The topic here is introducing a bottle to a breast fed baby.
Afia, I quite agree taht we often think it is necessary to introduce a bottle when in fact it isn't. But the person who has to decide that is the mother.

There are many reasons why women want to introduce a bottle. I won't go into that here. But from my own experience I just want to add something. Exclusive breastfeeding should last 6 months (according to WHO). When you look back on your lives and that of your children, what is six months? If you can put the rest of your commitments on hold and relax and enjoy the baby, it will be a wonderful memory to look back on in later years. The work will always be there and the baby doesn't care if the windows are sparkling. She wants you, her precious, special mother. Soon she will be older and wanting to do all sorts of other things and you will probably be saying, "come here!" - so enjoy this while it lasts!

Faisal,
Noor was also born by C-section but she wouldn't take a bottle or finger-feeding from the nurses....in fact not even from me.
She had no trouble taking to the breast and what you have mentioned, that when bottle-fed infants give up the breast, is my fear. I don't want that to happen either.

Afia,
I want her to take a bottle so that I can do things like go grocery shopping or skip a feeding and get in a few good hours of sleep without worrying that my baby is hungry.

Believe it or not, when your baby is hungry, it becomes impossible (emotinally) to focus on anything but feeding her. I've even felt my throat swell on the inside so as to prevent any food going down if I happen to be eating when she gets hungry and cries. Strange huh?

Shirin, you are right.
After reading those links that you posted, and after discussing the subject with many folks, I think I'll just wait a bit longer on the bottle and carrying on nursing.

You make a very good point that one of my aunties agrees with....6-8 months out of an entire life time is nothing. On my side of the family Noor is the first baby to arrive in ten years....so everyone is crazy about her and want to hold her all the time. Some even look for excuses to wake her from her naps (like "accidentally" bumping into her playpen so that it shakes/moves and wakes her) so that they can pick her up. In the beginning I was worried that by being carried all the time she would become spoiled and would not play on her own. This aunty questioned me and said, "So what? As soon as she can crawl she will not LET you hold her and you will want to. What will you do then? Enjoy holding her now, while you still can."

Since I've had this approach, I've noticed that instead of her becoming fussy and wanting to be held or rocked or carried around, Noor, thankfully, likes it when she is put in her bouncer or laid on her back to kick and play on her own.

I wonder if sometimes we just worry too much about things.

*Originally posted by EntityParadigm: *
my bhabhi used to start with breat-feeding and then after a while [few mins] she would put in the feeder in baby's mouth. worked for her perfectly. :-)

I agree... try it it will work... sure....

in my own opinoion this is the best thread i have ever seen.... it is like we are family members here and discussing things like sitting in a living room.... great feelings.... i dont know how many of you will agree with me but it is like that....

Noor such a nice name....

Allah us ka naseeb achay karay....

Aur allah karay ka wo bottol accept kar lay taka hamari bhabhi ke parashani khatam hoo....

Bhabhi i can feel how you might be feelings when you go out and see the bottols you might be thinking ohhh this one is fine and noor will like it... i am sure you like it when you feel that way....

May God give Noor a long life with full of happinesses... give her a kiss from her mamoon............ or you can say Chaha Mamoon not chanda mamoon....

chalo jee…u urself asked me where i got that info from…because first, i only mentioned it (the reason for only mentioning was cuz this was a thread on feeding the baby, not bottle vs breast)…and to answer ur question i elaborated on bottle vs breast,… to ult mujh ko hi sunna par raha hai ke dusri thread kholoon…:konfused: