I’m not talking about Islam. I’m talking about Muslims today.
Do you feel they are intolerant ? Racist? Have you seen such stuff?
I’m not talking about Islam. I’m talking about Muslims today.
Do you feel they are intolerant ? Racist? Have you seen such stuff?
Re: Intolerance of Muslims
Yes , yes and yes. A vast majority of Muslims stereotype , they label folks and they have this attitude of holier than thou.
I would have such a good impression about some religious and pious person then out of the blue they would start spewing hatred for some other religion , nation , sect , cast or creed.
yes to all your question. we are today anything but a ‘true’ Muslim that our Allah and our Nabii-e-Kareem [saws] preached us to be. it’s not just sad, it’s alarming also that more and more Muslims are deviating from the right path and Islamic teachings.
Muslims? Pfft!
The worst kind of people who walk on earth today.
Add that to Pakistani Muslims, Karela Aur Neem ChaRha!
Stay away from those people, you will be safe.
Hope you feel better. ![]()
Definitely. I think I’ve been seeing some weird ideology emerging where so and so is declared non muslim and making it okay to verbally abuse and physically harm innocent people. Empathy is just dying out and the sheer ego of it all is astounding.
My super religiously knowledgeable grandmother flat out said to my mother that instead of focusing on making me a better Muslim it would better to make me a good human being. This might seen strange coming from a hafiz e Quran lady but as I’m seeing people steamrollering over everyone else to proclaim their piety or doing the opposite of their own teachings I can see why her stance was such.
Read my blog, we have people comparing ISIS to “westernization of Islam” such as Christmas trees in arab malls and candlelight vigils.
I have no idea where to even start.
No idea why this reminded me of Theorist. NVM.
That’s called Secular Humanism.
oops I just labeled it.
I think there are good and bad people everywhere. In my personal life I have not found Muslims to be intolerant. StrangeOne i am sure you are like the beacon of tolerance in your city. I think desi Muslims, whether Pakistani or Indian, are amongst the most tolerant. There is also the Sufi heritage of the subcontinent.
^ you’re patronizing right?
No, i’m not. Hear me out. Obviously, as a non-Pakistani, I don’t have an insider’s point of view. I know people have posted about Taliban apologists, government policies, MPs, the system, about apologetic Mullahs and intolerant people in society and online. I know they exist but in my interaction with the Pakistanis especially abroad I haven’t experienced any intolerant views. I have close friends who are Pakistanis.
Then you have the Lal masjid issue. There are people who are sympathisers and intolerant like this guy who refuses to condemn the Taliban. Scroll down till you get to the video. https://www.facebook.com/rehmanifrahimband?fref=photo Then you have this guy who gives an inspiring speech on the need to stop people preaching hate and those who have taken over the mosques and won’t let liberal Pakistanis offer prayers for victims inside Lal Masjid. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7kNIdfZLhk
I have Pakistani friends who support human rights of minorities, and are taking part or supporting the Lal Masjid protests and they tell me there is a wave of change taking over society. So as someone who has not had personal contact with apologist views i would say the people representing Lal Masjid protests are the tolerant Pakistanis that we don’t hear voice of often or they are hidden by Pakistani media. I hope this protest gets good coverage in Pakistani media so these views can be heard. The Lal masjid protests had people of different backgrounds like this Pakistani Hindu guy called Kapil dev mentioned in this article. Maulana Abdul Aziz feels the heat Pakistani Christians and Hindus held vigils for their fellow citizens and it must be because they have also received love and respect from Pakistani Muslims.
Why should we see Muslims of different countries, rather than Islam as a religion, as a monolithic group. Middle eastern Muslims can have differences in culture compared to white converts compared to African Muslims compared to Bosnian Muslims or desi Muslims. So if a convert Muslim commits a crime then why should desi Muslims feel responsible. Actually only the individual should feel responsible.
**Most Muslims of the subcontinent do not agree with what strict Wahhabis in middle east say so for me I’d say they are more tolerant. We can all name human rights activists from Pakistan (Salman Taseer, Rashid Rehman, Eidhi, Junaid Hafeez etc), entertainers from Pakistan who have made impact on world stage and don’t mind mingling with people of other cultures. We know in Pakistan majority tolerate another religious person’s right to practice their religion. A Pakistani writer, Reema Abbassi, wrote a book on historical temples in Pakistan. Can a middle eastern or Saudi Arabian writer write a similar book? I can’t name any such activists from middle eastern countries who have made such an impact. Or who have given up their lives for a minority’s rights to practice their religion. Then there are countless social media fb pages where lot of Pakistanis speak out for human rights. Are there any Malalas from those countries who speaks for rights of females like Malala speaks for rights of females in Jordan, Kenya, Nigeria.
Then there are the inspiring examples of the following people who may not get media exposure but have risked/sacrificed their lives for others.
Maybe being from subcontinent and feeling a cultural affinity towards Pakistanis my views are biased but this is what i think.
A description of the people from above from the site. Now i guess people could say they were fighting against intolerance but intolerance exists in all societies. Pakistan and India are relatively new countries and it will take time for us to become established like countries in the West. I think 70 years after Independence the US had a civil war if i’m correct. But these are examples of tolerant Pakistani Muslims.
Ammar Fayaz is the Chairman of the Sindh Human
rights Organisation and an active campaigner against the abduction and forced conversion of hindu girls in Sind. Is missing since Nov 25, believed to have been abducted as well.
Pakistan’s polio workers, of whom 65 have been
killed so far by militant fanatics, are aware of the risks to their lives as
they go from home to home vaccinating children against a crippling disease for a compensation of Rs 250 per day. Yet they continue bravely.
Shahabaz Bhatti, first Federal Minister for
minorities, an outspoken critic of the blasphemy law, campaigner against the attacks on the Christian community in Gojra, had been receiving death threats since 2009. Had foretold his own death in a recorded video shortly before he was assassinated as his car was sprayed with bullets in March 2011.
Salman Taseer, bravely spoke out against the
blasphemy law and campaigned for justice for blasphemy accused Aasia bibi. Was shot by his guard Mumtaz Qadri at pointblank range in Islamabad in 2011 for asking the blasphemy law to be “reviewed”.
Irfan Ali Khudi was a peace and human rights
activist fearlessly campaigning against persecution of the Shia Hazara community. In Jan 2013, two bombs shook the predominantly Hazara Alamdar Road area in Quetta. After the first blast, Irfan was one of the humanitarians who arrived to help the injured at the scene. When the second blast occurred, nearly 100 people had lost their lives, and Irfan was one of them.
Aitezaz Hassan, a 14 year old student from Hangu, stopped a suicide bomber from entering his school in January 2014. He
saved 2000 students but lost his own life when the suicide bomber blew himself up near the school gate.
Rashid Rehman, lawyer and regional coordinator
of the HRCP was well aware of the risks to his life when he agreed to defend blasphemy accused Junaid Hafeez. A staunch champion for the rights of the oppressed, Rehman lost his life when he was shot by assassins who posed as clients and entered his office in Multan in May 2014. Four days back Junaid’s second lawyer Shehbaz Ali Khan Gormani’s house was fired upon, it takes a man of indomitable spirit to stand for life of an individual whose first lawyer had been already martyred!
Dr Mahdi Qamar, US based cardiologist was aware
that a trip to Pakistan was a serious risk to his life as he belonged to the bitterly hated Ahmadiya community. Yet he ignored the risk and returned to do humanitarian work at a hospital in Pakistan. He was shot by assassins in May 2014.
@**Shaas**avera
Individual’s and exceptions do not define the collective mindset of a community, nation or society.
There are good people in Israel who support humane treatment of Palestinians and creation of a Palestinian state immediately, does that mean it defines the mindset of the entire Israel? I guess not.
God revelations, and Prophet Muhammed (SAW) is for the benefit of all mankind unequivocally. While there maybe a fundamental theological difference in the teachings of Quran and Sunnah compared with other man-altered religions, the majority of the teachings of Islam are related to equitable rights ,responsibilities, love, peace, justice and mercy. Its mostly based on how human being should strive to live on earth among each other given the plurality and diversity (not by eliminating it). There are only two groups of people identified in the Quran: those who side goodness and love and righteousness, and those who are staunch opposers to it (Kuffar - not just a theological difference)
So with that, whoever deviates from those teachings will create harm, do injustice, propagate evil regardless of what they like to refer themselves as: Hindu, Muslim, Christian, Jain, Athiest, Buddhist, Jew, etc. In this light, I see no Muslim human being different than any other human being as heedless people’s behavior will always be motivated by political alignments, emotional irrationalities, cultural sensitivities and taboos, ego, and ethnocentrism.
Having said that, the media including TV news, films, books, magazines, cartoons and general contemporary orientalist literature contributes heavily in propagating misinformation about Islam, and malice sentiments regarding Muslim community in general. The way you have phrased the question is very much reflective of this polemic indoctrination.
This. Well, the bolded part at least.
Either way, from the people I know, I wouldn’t say that Muslims are particularly any of those things.
a good muslim and a good human being are synonymous. become a good muslim and you will automatically be a good human being.
As for OP, just too much spewing against Muslims (and Islam) already and everywhere on the forum. Looks like some people were just waiting for a chance to pounce on muslims and whatever. bored.
I see your point and that is true. I think the fact that PCG, you and others are having this open discussion shows there are tolerant elements that can one day convince the wider community to define this mindset. I know there are intolerant elements in my community as well.
I watch Pakistani dramas and I admire the way people interact on there and the values they show. I don’t see it very different to mine like respecting elders, listening to parents, caring for parents in old age, guiding younger siblings, responsibilities of marriage involving family, being hospitable to guests, treating teachers as second parents and considering strangers like family (Aunty, uncle) etc. So when i see that I think it is unfair that there would be outsiders (from West, elsewhere in world like middle east) that would think that my community to be any more tolerant than Pakistani Muslims when we share lot of similar values. I don’t really know the culture of Turkish Muslims or Arabic Muslims or African Muslims because i am not exposed to it so it would not be fair for me to make statements on them.
Like there are examples in Peshawar tragedy where a teacher, Saima Tariq, got burnt protecting the children. She does not look any different or dressed any differently than anyone would look like in my family.
The principal of the school Tahira Qazi when asked what the children mean to her she said she was like their mother. Seeing students as your children and you as a parental figure is a very subcontinental thing. A few years ago there was a Beslan massacre where 160 children were killed by terrorists. Can we let our societies be defined internationally by terrorists like Taliban and can we let their thoughts infiltrate society? The Lal masjid protests show that there are people who were already there but are awakening and that there will be a collective awakening.
Holier than thou is an understatement. They think that they are the chosen one .
Yeah, that’s what she meant. Clean heart takes to religion easily. She taught so many people Quran in her town and probably saw them grow up to become the same old corrupt clogs of society so it must be disappointing.
Like in her town people were thrown out in the middle of the prayers for being the wrong sect (don’t have a clue what deoband/barelvi are but neither likes the other in their mosques to the point of physical violence)