Interview with Yousuf Youhana

This ones a few years old and many of you might even have read this already but i thought i’d share it anyway. His is a perfect story of rags to riches but with sheer dedication and hard work. Everyday my admiration for this guy grows more and more. I wish him best of luck and may he heal quickly from his surgery.

-------------------------------------
Source](http://www.cricketnext.com/interviews1/interviews026.htm)

Yousuf Youhana understands only one language – the language of the heart. He has come up in life after a lot of struggle. His family lived a hand-to-mouth existence, not knowing from where the next roti would come from. Youhana, in fact, quit cricket to find a job, but fate had something else in store for him. In an exclusive interview to CricketNext.com, Youhana relates his struggle to survive, and his rags-to-riches story. Over to Yousuf Younana.

**Q: Say something about your background. **
A. I come from a poor family. My brother and I would tie a string around broken table tennis balls and play in the streets with a bat used for washing clothes. I used to stay in the railway colony and in that same locality lived the chairman of one local club called Golden Gymkhana, Haji Bashiruddin Chugtai. He told me to come to the nets, where I used to carry drinks for three years. It was only after four years that I got my first match for the club. Then in 1992-’93, I became the captain of my college and later started playing for Income Tax. That’s how I entered cricket.

**Q: Is it true that you left cricket after that? **
A. Yes, I didn’t do anything for Income Tax, and I left cricket in 1994. I started looking out for a job. I just used to hang around in the streets with my friends, as I didn’t get any work.

**Q: Things must have got quite tough for you and your family… **
A. As I said, I come from a poor family. But I received full support from my family. My family told me, either you play cricket, or you study. Don’t worry about work and money.

**Q: So what was the turning point? **
A. One day, as usual, I was hanging out with my friends. Call it luck or God’s wish, I got a chance to play for a very big club, which I still represent. One of my friends used to play for Universal Club. They were a player short, and he told me why don’t you play. Now, five quick wickets fell for 30 odd, and I went in and scored 125.

I got another lucky break soon after. There was this guy who used to arrange players for league cricket in England. He helped me get a contract in England, I played there for two seasons. There I became a top batsman for one season. After that, I played of WAPDA, and scored more runs than anyone else. Pakistan wanted a middle-order bat and my first tour was the 1998 Independence Cup in Bangladesh, which India won.

**Q: Your brilliant century against India has come after a long lean patch. Comment. **
**A: **Yes, I failed in Australia and Pakistan recently. The bouncy wickets in Australia were of no problem. I had difficulty judging the line of the ball. I was neither playing forward nor back. I was somewhere in between. A player can get out of form also sometimes, maybe I was out of form.

**Q: Pakistan has been producing fast bowlers in plenty, while India and Sri Lanka are struggling in that department. Comment. **
A: Pakistan mein daler aur jaandar log rahte hain, janab (There are brave and healthy people living in Pakistan). Of course, we have plenty of talent. Every side has at least two genuinely quick bowlers. Pakistan is a small country, but no other nation is this rich in talent.

**Q: What’s the set up like in Pakistan? **
**A: **The talent takes care of every thing. Whoever comes into the side gives his everything. Ladke galiyon mein se aate hain, aur perform karte hain (Boys from the streets perform at the highest level).

**Q: You are a very talented batsman yourself, but you are not consistent. Do you agree? **
A: I will complete my third year in international cricket. I failed in the last series in Australia and in a few matches in Pakistan, that’s it. By and large, I have scored in most of the matches that I have played. And now, by the grace of God, I have regained my touch.

**Q: How do you rate this Pakistan side? **
**A: **The senior players are there to help the younger ones. A youngster will never lack the backing. But our team is so great that everyone is a star. Every player has his place in the sun. Against India, five bowlers played, and all of them are top class. We have world-class all rounders, great batsmen… The wicket-keeper is our captain. There is encouragement for a youngster, yes, but that player has it in him to perform for his country. He wants to perform from the first match itself. Pakistani people are very emotional, they play with the heart. Dil se cricket khelte hain (we play cricket with heart).

**Q: Hitting the last ball for a six and getting your hundred against India here must be special… **
A: I am telling you, I was in no mood for a hundred. My only aim right from the start has been to see that the team wins, and I was hitting from the word go.

**Q: Why is it that Pakistan most of the times hammer India? **
A: You tell me, you are an Indian journalist. You will know more about the Indian team than I will.

**Q: Which bowler has troubled you the most? **
A: It was my debut Test series, and Shaun Pollock gave me a lot of problems. But I salute one great man, and that is Courtney Walsh. Even at this age, he is brilliant.

**Q: Who are your all-time favourite batsman and bowler? **
A: Without doubt Javed Miandad and Wasim Akram. Not because they are Pakistanis. Show me a better bowler that Wasim and I will say yes. As far as Javed bhai is concerned, we are nobody in front of him. He is the ultimate match winner.

**Q: How does Miandad motivate the side? **
A: I think he is the best coach in the world. He puts on the pads himself and shows us what to do. Not a single thing escapes his eye. He noticed that I was struggling judging the line of the ball, and me made me practice for hours in West Indies.

Re: Interview with Yousuf Youhana

old stuff

Good effort.

Yes i mentioned that already. Thanks for making my point for me. :stuck_out_tongue:

----------------cvabn----------------
Thanks cheegs, this is new for me,
Great stuff!

Way to go YOYO, :smiley: