My dad has diabetes, had multiple strokes and open heart surgery (quadruple-pass) so Im always looking at things on the American Diabetes Association websites. And also because I know Im at risk now.
I found this Health Advisor really interesting…its a quiz that assesses your risk for diabetes as well as other problems.
Take it, hopefully we can all maintain healthy long lives Inshallah.
stumped on the very first page of the quiz. no matching race choice.
desis living in north america and europe have a much much higher incidence of diabetes than desis living back in south asia. even when they follow the same food habits. latest blame goes on not enough vitamin D produced by desi skin in the scant UV sunshine at these lattitudes.
I have stopped eating fast food...very very very rarely will I have fast food. Its either ghar ka khana or a salad if I have to eat outside. Dominick's is my best friend because they have a full service salad bar and I love making my own so it works well. No dressing, ever. We eat only haat ki roti at home now, from wheat flour. No naan (only for guests) and only whole wheat bread for breakfast. Not a lot of red meat and mostly veggies and daal...I love daal just like that with no rice or roti. No sodas or pop anymore. Only water. Most of our food is cooked with low salt too. No parathas (as much as I love them) or fried food either.
I have a sweet tooth so instead of having a slice of chocolate cake or a full cookie, I will have a small bite of it or minute slice and call it a day. That takes a lot of self control from me...Ive no idea how I do it. When my dad fount out he had diabetes, he had just had a bag full of grapes and had passed out from the sugar. Scares me.
I have my blood pressure, cholesterol, blood tests, etc checked more often now.
I workout more and walk more.
What Im trying to do is not look at these things like a diet...more like a permanent lifestyle change.
Good job Reha, especially if you can keep this up with your children later i'A.
This has been much been how our family has always been. We never ate out as a family when we were younger and still rarely do. As we siblings started getting older our dad was really strict that we eat dinner at home over outside, obviously that's not always going to be the case but it has made it a much more occasional thing for us to eat out with friends even as adults. Whereas it's the norm for a lot of people I know. Carbonated drinks were never in the house unless for guests and juices kept at minimum. My mum always mixed brown ataa with the white.
Because that's the way it's always been it doesn't feel like you're denying yourself anything. We prefer to eat healthy home cooked food and no one has developed a taste for fizzy drinks. None of us 6 siblings would ever consider eating junk if we were hungry, it makes us sick to think about it and we'd rather be a lil hungry til dinner. Chocolates, biscuits, cakes etc are for the taste of something sweet after meals as opposed to a peckish snack where one ends up eating too much.
stumped on the very first page of the quiz. no matching race choice.
desis living in north america and europe have a much much higher incidence of diabetes than desis living back in south asia. even when they follow the same food habits. latest blame goes on not enough vitamin D produced by desi skin in the scant UV sunshine at these lattitudes.
Dont such genetic problems skip a generation? ie in your case Reha, your children would be more at risk. Thats what I always thought. Perhaps I am wrong.
But for you to take precautions is a good thing. Introduce some bitter taste in your diet. Fenugreek is great sugar regulator.