I recently started my new job.
Very interesting situation.
I am the head of mfg.
27 people - from a mind boggling variety of cultural backgrounds.
Situation, as explained to me, prior to my joining, was that the company is expanding at an exponential rate and now they are facing problems with attitude of the workers. Too much politics. Haram khoori etc etc.
The president is such a nice gentleman
He asked me “Do something - Clean up the place”
As if I am a Bhangi
Anyway,
There is this couple, 2 fellows, who are the root cause…
They are experts at everything, politics, manipulation, influencing others etc.
And they are also the most experienced guys technically
The management has given me a free hand - to fire these 2 bull dogs if I have to. I have to weigh the situation - If I fire them, maybe I will have a disciplined department, but I would suffer in terms of productivity
And they are smart enuff to know that I put another person UNDER them so that they can train him - it means that the KICK is comming soon
anyways, let them think whatever they think, simply hire someone and makesure that this new employee gets good training from them.
I’m sure they won’t tell him everything - ON PURPOSE.
So what, you are there - you can spend sometime to show him around and train him too or some other employess can help too.
I know it would be time consuming for you in the beginning but in a long term, its gonna be so much helpful.
Keep in mind that in today’s corporate world, anyone can be replaced.
aik tu samajh nahi aati, if you’re serious or not
iss main maira kya qusoor hay bhai jaan
** anyways, let them think whatever they think, simply hire someone and makesure that this new employee gets good training from them.
**I wish it was that simple. When someone thinks that their authority is being challanged, they resort to vicious tactics.
** I’m sure they won’t tell him everything - ON PURPOSE.
So what, you are there - you can spend sometime to show him around and train him too or some other employess can help too.
**Other employees are under their influence. They are at the moment observing who emerges the winner. They dont want to take sides right now.
** I know it would be time consuming for you in the beginning but in a long term, its gonna be so much helpful.
**True, I am looking for a long term solution. Not a short term - like Firing…
Keep in mind that in today’s corporate world, anyone can be replaced. mmm .. okay - but sometimes the replacement carries a very high cost
yeah, but this plan has so many assumptions what if the these guys are smart enough to understand (and it seems, they're). And they may have some other friends there too.
Unckeel has just started working there - he doesn't know much about all those employees. He dosn't know who is with whom. Maybe in a couple of month, he will be able to grab the politics game there but not now.
do not get into a shouting match with these guys. use one of there own guys to create a problem for them and then back the other guy up.
this will literally show the rest of the workers to step up. spend a day in the back. listen to people.
mai na kia farmaana hai. mai tu aik adnaa si cheez hoon
anyways, ofcourse other employees won’t trust you at this point. They don’t know you. Give them some time, show them some of your capabilities (don’t be over strict with them but make them to report you everything, they do. Besides, try to be a little (with some distance) friendly with them.
Give it some time and you will see that majority of them (not all) will be with you and will start liking you. And that will be your first win.
then go from there. In the mean time, keep looking for good resumes.
at lunch time..take those 2 outside for a joint..if not take them in some corner..and whatever u wrote here.....verbally speak it out to them and let them decide as to what they wanna do with thier lives...whatever u do, just dont fire them!
For the time being i am playing Mr. Cool - no worries
I will have to decide within a couple of weeks
At my last job when i ran into a similar situation, I PROMOTED a dude and gave him a desk and a telephone. Clerical kinda job. Dual benifits - he was no more part of UNION and also he was effectively removed from the mainstream activity. Just a nominal increase in salary, so the company was happy.
thats right.
What I’ve observed, employees who aren’t used of working properly, who have a habbit of wasting time, being involved in all that stupid politics:
they hardly change themselves - Do whatever to them and they just can’t appreciate it.