INTERESTING LIVES and INTERESTING FACTS

Re: INTERESTING LIVES and INTERESTING FACTS

---THESPIS---

*Actors are often called thespians. This refers to Thespis, one of the first great men of theatre. Somewhere between 600 and 525 BC, Thespis from Attica came up with the idea of an actor --- otherwise known as protagonist. His job was to interact with a chorus to tell a story. *

*Not content with one groundbreaking invention, Thespis added another when he thought of the touring theatre company, carting actors around in a cart from which they declaimed. *

*But then, touring theatre was never glamorous! *

That gives a whole new meaning to the Bollywood concerts in the US and UK. :cb:

**Worlds Fastest Snake Black Mamba **
[FONT=Lucida Sans]
Black Mamba
Genus: Dendroaspis
Species: polylepis

The Black Mamba is the most deadly snake in the world. They grow 14 feet in length, and can travel at speeds of up to 12 mph. They have a head shaped like a coffin. The Black Mamba is not actually black. They have a brownish-gray body with a light belly and brownish scales along its back. It gets its name from the color of the lining of its mouth, which is purple-black, and which it displays when threatened.

The Black Mamba lives in South Africa. They like open, low habitats such as savannas, rocky places and open woodlands. They are active during the day. They often sleep in hollow trees, burrows, rock crevices, or empty termite mounds, and will come back to the same place every night.
The Black Mambas feed on small mammals and birds, like voles, rats, squirrels, mice, rats, or bush babies. Once a Mamba was found with a parrot in its stomach, another with a full grown Forest Cobra! It will strike a large animal and then release it. It then stalks their victim until it becomes paralyzed. With smaller animals it will strike and hold on until the animal becomes paralyzed. Its flexible jaws and scales makes it possible to eat the animal whole.
The female will find a good place to lay 6-17 eggs. The burrow must be damp but not wet, and warm, but not too hot. After she lays her eggs the female leaves. The young snakes are about 16-24 inches long when they hatch three months later. They reach maturity when they are 3-4 feet in length.
The Black Mambas are found in pairs or small groups. They are very nervous, and head away fast when a human approaches. When the mamba feels threatened it will raise its front and head about 3-4 feet off the ground, open its mouth, spread a flat hood, and shake its head. When they attack they will make several quick strikes, and escape as fast as they can. They can strike from 4-6 feet away. Before antivenins were developed, a black mamba bite was 100% fatal.
They are invulnerable, because no animal can actually kill them. Their venom can kill just about anything, so they don’t have much to worry about. The mamba is mainly threatened by habitat destruction.

TIME !

Voltaire, the famous Frenchmen, was a dwarf in body and a giant in intellect.

In his ZADIG, a mystery of Fate *is found following question put to *Zadig by Magi;
"What, of all things in the world, are longest and shortest, the swiftest and the slowest, the most divisible and the most extended, the most neglected and the most regretted, without which nothing can be done, which devours all that is little, and enlivens all that is great?"

Here is *Zadig's *answer;
"TIME"
"Nothing is longer, since it is the measure of eternity."
"Nothing is shorter, since it is insufficient for the accomplishment of your projects."
Nothing is more slow to him that expects; nothing more rapid to him that enjoys."
"In greatness it extends to infinity, in smallness it is infinitely divisible."
"All men neglect it; all regret the loss of it; nothing can be done without it."
"It consigns to oblivion whatever is unworthy of being transmitted to poesterity, and it immoralizes such actions as are truly great."

TIME, my dear GS members, is man's most precious asset!

[FONT=verdana,helvetica,arial,sans-serif]30 Dumbest People In Hollywood
http://www.nbcsandiego.com/2007/1206/14787822_80X60.jpg
[FONT=verdana,helvetica,arial,sans-serif]Jessica Simpson is just one of the many celebrities on the list of Hollywood’s dumbest people put out by the New York Daily News. See who else made the list! More Details

Samson & Delillah (1959)   Shamsuddin Dilliwalla (Pakistan)
David Copperfield (1962)    Dawoodbhai Taambaywalla (Pakistan)

bwahhahaha

Let me add this one too

Starbucks (1971 - ): Sattar Bukhsh (2006-) (Pakistan)

GOOD ONE :)

so none of pakis have interesting facts in their interesting lives?

would love to have a chat n meet this person.

MANY...........the list goes on and on and on.....!!

Abridged details shall be cascaded soon....starting with SIR Anwar Pervez!

TITANIC.....*DOWN WENT THE SHP, UP CAME THE PRICES---*

After James Cameron's movie TITANIC *became the all time highest-grosser and reached home with 11 Oscars, the price of even the most obscure memorablia rom the real *Titanic shot up. Often, according to experts, by as much as six times the pre-movie price!

At a British auction held in January-1999 (in the town of Devizes in Wiltshire), a coffee-table leg that had been made out of driftwood from the ship--sold for Stg.800/-. Two coat hangers went for Stg.150/-. A letter written by one of the disaster's survivor fetched Stg.8000/-

yaar arjay i heard u are in pak showbiz industry, can u paste here things about paki showbiz industry and our people? i dun find these farangi showbiz tidbits all that interesting anymore. its beginning to look like the E! channel we get here

muchas gracias

QAZI WAJID...............................QAZI WAJID...................HMMMMMMM........KIYA BATAOUN K KIYA HAI QAZI WAJID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????????????????????????????????!!

TARASS NA KHAO....MERI SHIDDAT-E-TABAHEE PERR,
K UMRR BHARR YEHI LAIL'O NAHAR GUZRE HEIN.....

^lol Apnoun ki baari ayee tou yaad nahee ata kuch =)

I would like to know more about Anwar Maqsood, brilliant guy with great talent. Would love to know how he started his career n all.

Very nice and intereting thread

Shukriya! koi mil gaya! samajhne wala k koi cheez GENERAL KNOWLEDGE or INTERESTING bhi hoti hai.......jiss se hum loge
kuch seekh k...samajh k......apnay mulk mein profess karen...adopt karein.......

NAHIN HAI MERI NAZAR....SOOAAY KUFA O' BAGHDAD,
KARENGAY AHLE NAZAR....TAAZA BASTEEYAN ABAAD!

Thank you Zara.....and dont let these tid bits bother you...I know the reason behind such attacks from foreign lands! and I know how to counter them....ye bachhay...abhi kacchhay hein!

yeah I agree. We act according to our age but **some ppl **around here try to go way below too. but heck we let them enjoy this cyber world ;-)

Its a nice thread I agree, but this is something we can find online if we want n search but things n interesting things about OUR OWN artists is hard to find unless u have paki channels. As 5abi said, bring something interesting about our own ppl.

First...I was seriously considering to cascade some facts and figures and lives of our showbiz personas...but NOW..folks! I will continue projecting the WEST which is the BEST...so says our Country's policies and Govt also.

Khush rahein aap subb...aur apnay jazbaat ko qaboo mein rakhein.

:) ok

my land BAGHDAD

---FROST ON TELLY---

"Television is an invention that permits you to be entertained in your living-room by people you wouldn't have in your home."
--David Frost on CBS TV (not PTV or GEO or ARY) - 1971.

yeah true
sachi :)