Re: Inter-Racial Marriages
grapes are usually sweet and tangy arnt they? :)
LOL
Right, I stand by what I said, I don’t have a clue what you’re talking about and I have this sneaking feeling that neither do you.
Muali, thanks for the heads up. Cheers.
I m the result of an inter-racial marriage i.e my dad is from Pakistan and my mom was an american gori. If you are worrying about how your cultural values will demolish, dont!. I m alhamdoliallah married to a pakistani girl (I was actually married in Pakistan) I know all of my islamic values and my pakistani culture and I plan on raising my kids the same way I was.
u have to have a little 'gora' in you to marry and then have a successful relationship with a 'gori'.. and likewise the 'gori' has to have a bit more latitude for 'desiness' for it to work out.
I don't see myself surviving a relationship with a goree but some from my family and close friends are doing it .. and it's all going well so far.. just cuz as far as i can see the above conditions were met..
Well i married a British English white male but he converted to Islam and hes actually more religious than me. We dont give a crap abt what others think-life is way too short spending it worryin abt what the likes of ignorant ppl think. Live a decent life and bring ur kids up in a good islamic way. From what i see of my mates married to fellow pakistanis, hub bless him, does his own laundery-never asked me to do anything-he cooks for me loads, helps with the housework and he takes care of our daughter in the evenings so i can go the gym every evening. My friends actually say that im so lucky to have a hub who does so much as their partners just expect them to do everything cos thats what they've been used to all their lives. So to every1 who thinks marrying a convert white male is a bad thing-well u can stick it as far as im concerned cos i know exactly how good ive got it!
grapes sour nahi meethai hain..ziyada hi meethai hain:D ..dil khanai ko na bi ho to neechai gir parhtai hain;) .. .point is har aik naam ka musalmaan nahi hota tum logoon ki tarha ..if u know wat i mean:p lol…goriyoun k liye adha gora bi bannena parhta hai which unfortunly ain,t a prob for u ..afterall ur marrying a gori ..chai deen jai who cares .jab marain gai dekhain gai kiya hota hai wali sooch hai aisai logoon ki
…
@amani how long did u dated him before u married ur good caring gora hubby???i m sure u didn,t met him in a mosque, did u???no offence intended!!!
i've been married to my desi knight in shining armor for almost 9 years now. I still love him more than life itself. And he and our 3 boys are the sunshine in my universe. Are there differences? Sure. But nothing that cannot be overcome. When there is much love and total respect between two people who can prioritize the important things and "put away" the small things .... what more could you ask for? Well except maybe to win lotto
Aahmed - Thanks :) Bless you and your wife - I can only imagine what you both had to go through at first. Funnily enough, my in-laws were concerned that I was after their wealth and property at first. He was the first to marry outside of his family and caste in their family, so it was a big deal. Do try to teach your kids Urdu. We taught ours Arabic, and of course they learned English, but Urdu sort of lost out along the way.
Knockout-artist - I'm sorry if you felt offended, but those were my personal experiences, others may have had different experiences.
Heart beat - I wish you the best in making this decision. For my husband and I, it's not a big deal if our kids don't marry Pakistanis, we only require that their spouses be practicing muslims. When they are old enough to marry that may not even be a concern for you anymore. You and your wife will have to decide what parts of your respective cultures are the most important to you, and go from there. Be flexible, because over time people and situations change. That advice really goes for every marriage though.
I think aahmed mentioned in previous posts about "being a man". If you marry this girl, you will have to 'be a man' in every sense of the word because there will be times when you may have to protect her from even your own family members. Don't interfere with every little comment, but don't let people walk all over her either.
The worst is usually over early on. It would also help if your girlfriend is thick-skinned. Some people are far too sensitive, and let every little rude comment upset them.
marrying christians jews is or people from other countries is fine for me but when it comes to hindus then its a big no no since its againts our religion while its ok to marry people from ehlay kitab.
@amani how long did u dated him before u married ur good caring gora hubby????i m sure u didn,t met him in a mosque, did u?????no offence intended!!!
No offence taken! :D Hubby and i got married within 6 weeks of meeting. We met through friends and within 6 weeks we were engaged and married. No long engagement or anything. He didnt want to "date" me. He wanted to marry me-plain and simple.And we did within 6 weeks of meeting-mad innit! :)
just remember one thing..... "at the end of the day" its ISLAM...that keeps your marriage going (if you hold Islam in high regards)...not what cultural background your spouse is from.
amana sound like a typical Desi bahu even though she’s gori, so susraalophobic, lol ![]()
PP - that's because I lived with my susraal for some time, and they come and stay for a few months every year. I have "been there and done that" and have seen just about every trick in the saas handbook. :)
BTW - I hope that you aren't truly promiscuous, and that you chose this nick because you don't actually know the meaning of the word. ...
so whyd u delete it?
i already read it :p
lol amana, no comment. ![]()
AE
acha phir batao ham ne kya likha tha?
about the type of person u want…the whole singing songs when ur upset etc…
i thought it was cute ![]()
Stop using word "US" so much other then stealing wealth from less advance country that "US" race hasn't left very many beautiful mark on humanity.
I agree with the above post. One can feel that the person mentioned has been raised up in a conservative environment and is the sort of person who will keep things to his/her heart and has difficulty grasping other person's POV.
I never said that all families were the same - I am talking about MY experiences. I was raised in a very tolerant family, otherwise my family would never have been so accepting of my husband. However, some members of his family have never mentally left the village - hence the **** that we put up with on a regular basis. I don't take things personally - but I'm not going to sit there and be steamrolled anymore either. I see where they are coming from, but I'm not a bank, punching bag, or visa service either.