I often hear people (girls especially) saying things like, “I want a guy who is intelligent.” I personally feel everyone has intelligence so I dont really know what is meant by that statement. If anyone can clarify that would be great. Thanks.
Now then, a friend of mine once said that she cannot be with a guy who is less intelligent than herself. Obviously there seems to be some measure of how one assesses their own intelligence in order to make such a statement. As to what that is, I dont know.
My friend made the claim that, she wanted someone who was well attuned to world culture, the arts, science, etc. To me, anyone who likes to read can know about those things.
So my question is, do you think that you want to be with someone who is more or less intelligent than how you perceive yourself? Is intelligence important? What is your measure of intelligence?
Would you feel comfortable with someone you feel is less/more intelligent than yourself?
I remember asking my mom and dad a long time ago who is more intelligent than the other. Mom said dad is very intelligent, but when I asked her if she is less intelligent than dad, she said she had intelligence as well. Oh and dad said “your mother is very intelligent” with a wink in his eye. hehe. Mash’Allah. grin
Intelligence is very important in my opinion. I would prefer someone who is worldly and keeps up to date with current events. It is nice once in a while to have some converstaion on various topics. The one thing I dispise is the typical brain dead desi girl who is so sheltered. I do not mind explaining things to someone but i hate having to repeat myself 10x. Ok I'm done :D
*Originally posted by Munni: *
I personally feel everyone has intelligence
i totally agree with on it .. our assesment of other persons intelligence is limited by our own intelligence...
i had a friend who once told me, actually corrected me, on who is to be called "jahil". I was under the impression that the person who doesn't know how to read and write is known as "jahil" but in reality the person who knows the truth and hides it is known as "jahil" .. it doesn't matter if the person can read and write english or arabic .. its how that person uses his/her brain... intelligence goes the same way i guess.. :)
I had a similar discussion with an old (50+) relative of mine and he seemed totally against the idea of marrying an intelligent woman. He said, "Oye yaar maino biwi chai-dee hay, prime minister nahee".
I take the view that an intelligent mate is more desireable, as it would have a better chance of producing more intelligent (and thus probably more successful) offspring.
Mat and Asif, why do you feel women are more intelligent than men?
see they got u.. women how much intellegent is weak with ears.. man can play with words and easily get better of her..
In my view for a good compatible marriage both should have different frequescy level of intellegence.. like -ve and -ve charge repel.. and so is +ve ans +ve.. good undersytanding and care is key to successful marriage..
Lussi - this tells you how much mating experience you have .
An ugly but Intelligent mate can really make the mating hot. On the other hand mating is dull with a hot but Dumb mate, it is as if your playing with yourself.
As you said it yourself, everyone probably has their own criteria of intelligence.
From my experience, in Pakistan this intelligence is measured with education, the more "jamataiN" you have under your belt, the more 'intelligent' you are perceived to be. I guess same is the case everywhere.
Based on the above definition of intelligence, IMO, intelligence is worth nothing if your spouse isn't mature. I mean, would you rather have a rocket scientist who can't handle two kids at the same time, or would you prefer a primary teacher who can take on the world & still be smiling at the end of the day? I would much rather go with the second! Intelligence is good but it doesn't rate up top on my spouse criteria.
I don't think it's intelligence, so much as wavelength. For example even if your "spouse" was "clever" , if you were on a different wavelength and could not connect on an intellectual level then what would you talk to them about, how would you communicate? etc.
And not everyone has intelligence. Some people are plain stupid.
*Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT: *
I take the view that an intelligent mate is more desireable, as it would have a better chance of producing more intelligent (and thus probably more successful) offspring.
Ok maddie sahib! But i think everyone is intelligent. Its just that people get experience with life over the years and some get less of it. If you dont know how to calculate pie, it doesnt make you dumb. And for producing a intelligent offspring, well i have seen cases where the father and the mother were poor and barely educated but thier children have gone into universities and mashallah one of the family's daughter is completing her medical.
No mater how intelligent man is, After marraige wife can teach him like parrot. I think women have a God gifted telent of Brainwashing men, at any age they like. They can teach their children and husband at same time :D
*Originally posted by punjab da sher: *
Intelligence is very important in my opinion. I would prefer someone who is worldly and keeps up to date with current events. It is nice once in a while to have some converstaion on various topics. The one thing I dispise is the typical brain dead desi girl who is so sheltered. I do not mind explaining things to someone but i hate having to repeat myself 10x. Ok I'm done :D
I often hear people (girls especially) saying things like, "I want a guy who is intelligent." I personally feel everyone has intelligence so I dont really know what is meant by that statement. If anyone can clarify that would be great. Thanks.
Yesterday i went to yahoo chat, my nick was parii. The guy asked for asl. I said 20 usa. His next question was are you M or F. I was like what a dumb and stupid person he is. And he was not the first one, i have come accross 100s of such guys. Yes " I want an intelligent guy" who really can make my time worth, instead of asking stupids questions and trying to amuse me with his low sense of humor.