there is this bbc interview from same article as well BBC World Service - Assignment , Inside Gay Pakistan I don’t think there is any gay rights movement in Pakistan or anything to feel threatened by. It’s the BBC they’ve probably sensationalised it. I think they intended to show Pakistan as being a tolerant place not that it is a place where there is gay relationships.They’re saying that gay relationships do not survive in Pakistan but people can have encounters. It’s not coming out or gay rights in the way it is seen in the West. Something also common in other countries of subcontinent. Most of the people mentioned in the interview are not planning to come out or even be open about it. Many of them are married and hiding it under marriage. There are also celibate gay Muslims. Yahoo Search - Web Search I don’t think it is widespread in the same way underground parties are not widespread. In Pakistan, underground parties push the boundaries At the end of the day all this is hidden world and not in open and probably not the biggest issue to focus on today. If someone has those feelings and they are Muslim it is probably better to be celibate rather than just have a wife out of pressure and then cheat on her on the side. Why spoil the life of a woman?
Couldn't understand what the writer wanted to say about Abdullah Shah's Mazar on Thursdays. Seems the writer is one of the category which was calling act of males embracing each other on Eid day as gay.
T*here is a hadith where he pointed to his face, hands and some say feet but hands and face are definitely allowed to be uncovered.*
I was talking about the gay phenomenon when women are shunned like in the extremely conservative pashtun society which is also part of Pakistan. You can teach your kids but barring that, how else do you "stop it" other than not allow public displays of affection?
I forgot on what account did he say that.Let me search!
Twenty years ago, one of my closest friends in Pakistan walked in on her husband in bed, unclothed with another man. My friend and her hubby were a beautiful, stunning couple from a Pathan background. That was the end of the marriage. She later remarried and moved the US, and the now ex husband moved to Europe. It was the talk of the town. Both were from extremely wealthy and prominent families. Her marriage at the time was the highlight of the year. It was very sad to see her, his parents, her parents and all involved.
I once worked with an Afghan woman who had a very low opinion of Pakistanis because of her experience as a wealthy refugee going to a girls boarding school in Peshawar..... she was bullied for not being willing to engage in homosexual behavior with the other girls. She mentioned that although she knew on a logical level that it wasn't true, emotionally she's felt that Pakistan is a nation of perverts after that that experience!
i had a childhood friend whose parents sent her back to Lahore when we were in high school. she was enrolled into Kinnaird College, lived in the dorms there and whoa baby…when she moved back to the US for uni, the stories she told about all the lesbian activity going on there was
There are a lot of lesbian wanabes in LUMS.
really?i think they might just be really friendly towards other females. in the end they probably all marry. it's probably a time pass thing.
really? but i think in desi communities you can’t really tell. All same sex friends are so close. guys hold hands, females cuddle, share same bed. Things that might be seen as gay/homosexual in West but are just extension of friendship love. might just be deep friendship love?
that’s crazy. i dont want to make light of the situation but from the Pakistani girls perspective maybe they had different intentions. Maybe they just wanted to be close friends with her and wanted to show it in an affectionate way. And they felt like she was distancing herself. It could have been a form of ragging which is also very wrong. couldn’t she have told the principal and told those girls she will tell if they bully her?i think if that happens in Peshawar it probably happens elsewhere in subcontinent. Afghanistan kuch kam shareef toh nahi hai. worldwide people know of this. Stuff like that is not found in pakistan.–> Bacha bazi: Dancing boys of Afghanistan - the Typewriter that is really perverse/disgusting and i would say it is pedophilia more than adult homosexual behaviour. You can’t judge a country because of 1-2 experiences.
That article made me so sick right now... ^
sorry i should have put a warning before it. It was quite disgusting and the documentary is even worse. But the thing is in that story of an Afghani woman is making value judgements on whole of Pakistan because of 1-2 experiences she had when something like this is meant to be "traditional" culture practiced by tribal people/warlords in Afghanistan. People who would have little interaction with the west and otherwise live married lives. I find it slightly hypocritical.