Innate Cooking Talent?

Ok here’s my question to all you ladies out there who have been married for a while and been managing their place and children quite well MashaAllah - have you known cooking since like always or you gradually learnt the hard way? :stuck_out_tongue:

I just moved to the UK with my hubby like 2 months back …and been married for a few months now…despite knowing how to cook basic stuff …i had no practical experience and practice of daily cooking! So far all the women I met who have been married for 5/6 years here are culinary experts! Esp with my in laws here for a visit too..I kind of envy them for their efficiency and their over all talent :wink:

SO …does it come with time? or is it something of an innate trait? How did you learn to cook ? What could you cook when you were married?

I’d wait for some encouraging replies :wink: lol !

Re: Innate Cooking Talent?

aww enigmatic , do saal guzarne do , you will become a culinary expert too :cb:

The food that we get at the restaurants in the UK is so horrific that you will more or less start making food at home even for dawats ! I didnt know alot before i got nikkah’ed , I even got the reputation " ye her cheez ki kheer bana deti hai " :omg:

Anyways, cooking is a learning process, just tell us what you wanna learn and we will teach you the recipes … inshallah … cook bana kai hi chorein gai :sahar02:

i like ur talkingsssss CB :cb:
wanna se ur pic :@: pata nhi qn dekhna ka dil chah raha hai

PS : kuch ghalat nhi sochnaaaa :blush:

aww apple :hugz:

But CB, you knew how to make roti’s and stuff from an early age right? It helps a lot because it saves time and therefore you have more time to focus on practising other stuff.

yup stoppit , thats true … lekin the fact is , cooking isnt rocket science , its just about learning the technique .. roti was the only thing i ever learnt making at an early age .. every thing else was kheer !!!

Infact roti is much easier to learn … its the other stuff that needs careful handling … and believe me, if you carefully observe the technique used in cooking , everything will become so easy to pick up :@:

Devil is in the detail … as they say …

I make Australian Map rotis :bummer:

:omg: daffy i will teach you to make gol gol roti’s … but first thing first , lets open up a thread for you … where if you are willing to learn , we will teach you… what say?

Muft ki lessons :@:

I love the idea! Yes please open a thread and teach me every little thing every cookign expert knows here. Consider me a student in your class and danto dabto magar sikha do kisi tarah :bummer:

sigh well, i can make a good range of things even though i don’t do so very often. from salans to kababs and roasts and things like lasagna and quiches. howeverrrrr, i’m still crap at making roti’s. i don’t even bother to try now and rather leave it until it’s necessary for me to do it everyday. the only long term practice i got was a few years back when my parents went for hajj and i took care of the siblings for over month. food side of stuff was fine and i tried a lot of different stuff but i think in that whole time i just made a handful of ‘good’ rotis. most of them were not round and a bit too crispy. that really put me off. i’m one of those people who is usually good at something quickly and it frustrates me that i couldn’t master that.

awww stoppit, here are the tricks to a good roti :

1- Make sure the dough is round , if the dough is not round and when you even the dough , its not balanced , the roti will not come out round… to do the dough, take some ata in your hand, then start folding the corners into the center , in all directions .. until you get a nice round …

2- make sure you use enough dry ata when rolling it out … otherwise the more it sticks the more it will lose its shape

3- do a roti on a really hot tawa on medium heat .. if you have a cold tawa or low heat , it will become stiff and crispy …

Try thse tips next time you make roti and let me know how it goes ..

thanks CB. thing is, i know all the theory. i think i’m just too impatient. there is technique involved and that’s what annoys me.

usually i hate my mum showing me to do.. i’m a ‘doing’ learner. but for roti, i tried really hard to watch her and then replicate with her guiding me.. still not great!

:k: for all tips but speially for no. 3 :biggthumb:i learnt it the hard way :frowning:

stoppit :no: Wish you were close by , I would have made sure you learnt to make gol gol roti :cb: chalo koi bat nai , I think I am getting bored of gol roti’s , together we can start a trend of tear shaped roti and australia ka map roti :lifey:

Rosetta , me too :cb: .. I learnt it the hard way too …

sigh yes, australia or africa.

I have the exact same problem.. I’m the kind of person who’s always been good at everything I’ve tried to do, and I have never cooked anything that hasn’t tasted good (alhumulillah!) but roti is one thing that I still cannot do, even after 3 yrs of being married.

And on top of that, my husband LOVES homemade roti. but my rotis are always either hard or rubbery, and they are always half under-cooked and half burned :S

saks, tells me, what type of a stove do you have? that could be the culprit why you are not getting evenly cooked roti’s :hmmm:

just a normal electric stove. but its not the stove, its me. because whenever my mom makes rotis they turn out perfect! (on the same stove)

maybe i keep the stove heat too high.. and how do i make a perfect soft dough?

Why I keep on reading the the title of the thread as inmate cooking talent ?