inlaw issues

why oh why do people create problems when it comes to inlaws..

i thought, growing up here (OZ) people would have better sense, and their mentality might be somewhat more intelligent than those living back home in joint family systems… but ive realised its not

dont these people realise that what they are doing is affecting their lil toddlers? that their 2, 3, 4 yr olds are noticing the tension they create between themselves and their inlaws?

gets me so mad… why cant people leave lil arguments and forget things.. why get ur lil rugrats involved in trivual family pursuits..

sheesh

Re: inlaw issues

I think it all starts when people living under one roof start interferring in each others matters. If people stop doing that then problems will be solved. No one should give any advices or give orders to their inlaws or bahu unless someone comes up and asks for help. I think people should stop doing that.

hmm yeah.. its not even about living under the same roof. I see this happening with people living in the same vicinity.. where they are competing with one another to be the best "bahu" or watever... and often ive seen, the competition is only one sided.. its sad.. in the end, its ur kids who are gonna grow up with the same mentality..

why not just get over it? actually why even cause the chaos?

Don’t you even dare :rolleyes: .

^ This is what I dont understand. Men expect their wives to be obedient to their mothers. And the rest of their family.

If boys would only learn to grow up. When one marries, they take on a new family that needs attention - the new family is not subservient to the old one. Rather, it should be run along a parallel, as best as possible.

Separate houses are really necessary I think.

Even if there still are problems, at least they're reduced. At least a girl doesn't have to fall asleep in a house she doesn't feel like is hers.

i dunno PCG, i dont think separate houses are the answer... these problems occur if only u want them to.. otherwise they can be dealt with maturely..

a guy expects his wife to look after his parents.. only cus he knows she will do the same for her own parents... thats the problem. Why cant we girls get over that lil hill and just accept our inlaws as normal adults and respect them and take care of them.. there is absolutely nothing wrong with expecting that.. but then again i may be completely old fashioned.. i dunno

i know girls who have problems with their mother in law expecting them to clean and cook... honestly, wouldnt u do the same at ur parents house? or even ur separate home? whats the big deal?

this is life.. and the best way to live in it is to be happy.. and keep others happy too.. what i believe in neways... but having said that, i aint married yet, so who knows what im gonna be like...

the best example for any act is to do that act.... that's what i think

if i want my wife to respect my parents then I should respect hers.. also, i have seen in many cases where the distance between girls parents and her husband is alot.. after all its her parents whom she loves as much as i love my parents and if as a husband i can show her that respect towards her parents then she will also try her level best to respect my parents :)

just my 2 cents

Im glad someone agrees.. I think people just have so many issues because they dont treat the spouse’s family like thier own. Speaking from a womanly point of view… its natural to want attention from hubby but GOD !! these people raised him and they love him too.

Pyar karo aur Pyar lo.. koyee bhee inlaws ithnai stupid nahee key u love them like mom and dad and they dont love you back. :rolleyes:

Bingo.

why cant people leave lil arguments and forget things..

Sadz, while I totally agree with you, I don't think it is easy. Especially when someone is brought up with the notion that in-laws are competition. Mostly guys are ok with their inlaws because they are not brought up with such notions.

^ yeah.. ive just recently discovered that its competition that makes people fight..

i find it quite sick actually that peopel go out of their way to wreck another family members image.. fine u may not be blood-related.. but u r family now, so why not just be happy and forget the jealousy and competition crap..

ive just had a friend crying on the phone to me.. and it just makes me sad that she's always being badmouthed.. shes a hot babe.. if people (her sis-in-laws) have a problem with that or are insecure bout themselves.. then they should i dunno..do something bout their own image... why spread lies.. it's all getting noted down and one day its gonna come back to them.. sheesh

I think it's time for education. It duty of parents to teach their kids that how they are going to live their life.

Here we go:

Once of my cousin got married in Pakistan stayed their 2 - 3 months came back started working so she can get her hubby here. During her stay their she got pregnant now go a baby daughter. But since then she did not go back and I am talking abt August 2002. Her mum did not let her go back and she was teaching her how to contrl her hubby giving her all the tips n tricks.

My aunty has seperated her hubby from his mother, brothers and sisters no bad eh!! That's wot she is teachin her daughters now one of her daughter has got very old mother in law she does not cook for her or anything. Her mother in law is suffering and she got her hubby under her thumb.

I think parents from both side should look into it seriously. If parents start teaching their kids to respect their in laws and listen to them carefully and try to help them out then we won't have these problems.

That’s really sad Saqi. I think inlaws should be treated the same way you treat your parents. After all, when a girl leaves her home to live with her husband (what actually the tradition is) she should be knowing that she is not only going to live with her husband, but should make the other family members respect her. And that is only possible if the girl has enough respect, love and above all sabr for them as well. Sasuraal mein saas aur sassur hi maaN baap hotey hain, aur maaN baap ki burayi karney sey to Khudah bhi rooth jaata hai :slight_smile: Jo loog aisa kartey hain… Kya un logon ko Khudah ka khauff nahin hota?

The case you described above, I must say… A girl living in the west, doing all wrong things her mother tells her to do… Can’t she just think for herself and take her own decisions about what’s right and what’s wrong. I know, parents’ influence is big, but if she would see the whole issue through her own eyes, instead of her mothers’ I am sure she’d never do such things.

Personally, after marriage, I would never ever ask my husband to keep me on the first place… Because for me, my parents are the most precious in this world after Allah… and would like him to keep his parents on the first place as well… Kyunkey jo loog apney maaN baap ki izzat karna nahin jaantey, woh kisi aur ko kabhi izzat nahin de saktey :slight_smile:

sadzz will make a wonderful daughter in law

well my mom got along with my dadiyaal walay very nicely. and fortunately my inlaws are really nice. u need to respect ur husband's parents/family in order to get respect from him for ur own parents. thats how i see it. ajj mein kuch bura kaho gi kal meray husband meray parents ko bura kahay gai and no one likes to hear that about parents. :-)

and so will u :slight_smile:

suroor, exactly… in order to get respect, u need to respect others first..

a guy expects his wife to look after his parents.. only cus he knows she will do the same for her own parents... thats the problem.

Where the hell did you get that logic from? Because he knows she will treat her parents well? No. He expects her to look after his parents because its a cultural tradition and because daughter-in-laws are often mistaken for maids or nurses.

There are all kinds of situations and its unfair to stereotype them, really. In some cases, there is massively different treatment towards the daughters and the daughter-in-law. The daughter is allowed to have a job and do what she wants, but the daughter-in-law is expected to do most of the cooking and cleaning. Then there are situations where daughter-in-law manipulates husband. The list is endless, because the type of people are endless.

But I seriously don't think the reasoning you gave for that statement is valid - I think the husband is culturally conditioned to expect his wife to "take care" of his parents.

IMHO - they're HIS parents - he should work with his other siblings and their spouses in addition to his spouse to take care of parents in an event of a sickness, etc. It really ought to be a group effort, and the impression that I get is that its usually not. One of the daughter-in-laws ends up doing the majority of the work, and I think that CAN BE really unfair, depending upon the situation.

** Why cant we girls get over that lil hill and just accept our inlaws as normal adults and respect them and take care of them.. there is absolutely nothing wrong with expecting that.. but then again i may be completely old fashioned.. i dunno**

You're right - inlaws should be accepted as normal adults and respected. They're not the dirt beneath our shoes. However, I dont blame a girl who doesn't feel affection for her in-laws that she feels for her own parents. I don't think that every saas is a piece of paradise. Some people are complicated, but nonetheless, you should give them respect.

The other side of the coin is that, as Ansoon mentioned surprisingly, is what is the husband's duty to the girl's parents? My parents have us two girls - if we get married and move away - who is going to take care of them? They're old, they are beginning to fall apart and show signs of wear and tear. Will my husband pitch in a bit and be willing to house my mom if my dad dies, and she's got nowhere to go and barely any income to live off of?

I'm sure most desi guys would not be able to handle that kind of a situation.

i know girls who have problems with their mother in law expecting them to clean and cook... honestly, wouldnt u do the same at ur parents house? or even ur separate home? whats the big deal?

Big deal!!!

If I live with a group of girls in a college dorm/apartment, we all cook together - we take turns cleaning and cooking. Or we make a deal and say - each person cooks for themselves and no one eats each other's food.

I live with my parents - we make deals doing cooking and cleaning. I always clean like most of the house - my mom takes care of her own bedroom. AFter eating, I do the dishes - sis cleans table - mom cleans the kitchen and puts away leftovers, and dad takes over if sis and I are studying.

Its a TEAM effort. When a daughter-in-law enters a house - all of a sudden she is expected to do all of the cooking and cleaning and the mother-in-law gets a break.

It doesn't work that way- you live under a roof, you help clean and cook under it. Whether you have a penis or not, and whether you are 60+ in age or not. (unless if you're in bed due to sickness)

^ PCG, ive many married friends.. and to be honest, most of them have never been treated in such a manner as u’ve described.. they’ve never been pushed to clean or cook.. infact none of them knew how to cook in the first place

why do u assume that every desi man… ok, lets leave the desi bit out.. but why do u assume that every man expects his wife to look after his parents? and even if thats the case… why is it wrong? i would expect the same from my hubby as well.. looknig after doesnt mean doing EVERYTHING from A-Z for them.. it could mean respect, acknowledgement, kindness.. watever… why make it such a big issue…

yes, in a lot of cases, daughters and daughter-in-laws do get treated differently.. but blame it on the fact that u havent had the same relationship with ur mother-in-law.. havent had the experience of growing up under her roof.. u cant expect to be treated equally.. u need to i guess earn that right

i know lots and lots bad problems happen.. but it doesnt make every inlaw bad.. and doesnt mean urs are gonna be bad either..

im no way saying that problems dont happen or its easy… but if u look at things from a positive angle u may realise that not everything is bad.. not every man is out there to control u and make u into some cooking cleaning maid…

with the right approach anything can be achieved… and dont assume that a desi guy isnt capable of being the man hes meant to be… if u show the right attitude, maybe it’ll rub off on him (if he isnt like that already) and he may respect and love ur parents just the way he wants u to love his…

we have an example already in this thead… Ansoon.. :k:

KN Very well said I agree with you 110% but the cases I am talking about they r not intelligent as you are and they got married when they were under 20. Their parents just found the guys and hitched did not ask them if they want to marry them or not.

Fasaad ki jar competition hai agar yeh competition/comparison (meri bahu aisee hai wo jaisee us ne yeh kiya us ne woh kiya) khatam ho jaye to sari duniya aman se baith jaye. iss maiN 50% fault mard logooN ki bhee hai they don’t think some of them listen to their mums and some listen to their wives wot they have to do is listen to both parties and then sit down and think who is right here and who is wrong. They have to think as a third party as a Judge no as part of that problem. Another major problem we have is we don’t have enuf knowledge of religion guys can learn from the life of Holy prophet PBUH and gals can learn from the lives of Ommohaat tul Momeineen but in order to do that we have to study the holy prophet’s seerah. Lekin Seera ko parnay keliyeh humarey paas waqat he nahiN kiyounke hm kaam kartay haiN aur shaam ko bas TV pe baith jatay haiN bahanay to koi hum se seekhay na…

Yes it’s true respect is main element and it is foundation of any relationship. We respect out inlaws as much as we do our parents. I help my mum to do the dishes wash for her and dry for her and I would not mind doing same for my wife because she will be someone mother and I will do same for my inlaws I will help my mother in law to do the dishes hovering and wherever I can help I will.

If anyone wants respect then they should learn giving respect first it’s give n take. Lekin aajkal to yeh hai har koi lena jaanta hai dena nahiN