Injured Shoaib Akhtar pulls out of India tour

The sorry saga continues.

Injured Shoaib Akhtar pulls out of India tour](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/050218/3/95iq.html)

LAHORE, Pakistan (AFP) - Fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar pulled out of Pakistan’s upcoming tour of India saying it would take him at least a month to recover from a hamstring injury.

“I am disappointed to say that I have pulled out of the tour of India because my hamstring injury would take another four to five weeks and I don’t want to play half fit,” Akhtar told AFP on Friday.

His pull-out will further weaken a depleted Pakistan bowling attack with two other frontline pacemen, Shabbir Ahmed and Umar Gul, already ruled out of Pakistan’s first tour of India in six years.
He denied the decision was linked to a 500-US-dollar fine handed down by the Pakistan Cricket Board on Thursday for a disco outing during the recent tour of Australia and three other counts of indiscipline.

“No, I have nothing to say on the penalties, I don’t want to have breakdowns on the tour,” said Akhtar, who broke down during the Sydney Test last month and twice in the tri-series before returning home.

Akhtar, regarded as one of the fastest bowlers in cricket alongside Australian Brett Lee, said he would still try to play the one-day series scheduled for late March and early April.

"I have informed the Pakistan Cricket Board of my decision and will inform them as soon as I get fit so if the team needs me at that stage I am available.

“I would love to play the one-day series provided the team needs me.”

The 29-year-old, who suffered the injury during Pakistan’s tour of Australia last month, aggravated it while training two days ago and consulted former players and specialists before reaching a decision.

“I am a fast bowler and face such injuries. But this is an honest assessment that I can’t be fully fit and that I need time to get match fit before I play on an important tour like India,” said Akhtar.

Akhtar has taken 144 wickets in 36 Tests and his 120 one-day internationals have fetched him 186 wickets since making debut in 1997.

He became the first bowler to bowl over 100 miles per hour on two occasions but his career has been dogged by a row over his action – which was reported as illegal on three occasions – as well as by injuries and off-field controversies.

Akhtar has been on the wrong end of the PCB’s displeasure since his departure from Australia and the publication of pictures of him in a disco in Australian and Pakistani newspapers.

But Akhtar insisted his decision to pull out of the Indian tour was not linked to differences with team management.

“I have no differences with anyone, I have always tried my best for the team and never lacked in commitment. My pull out is an honest assessment, and don’t read anything into it.”

Akhtar, dubbed the Rawalpindi Express, was also subjected to a medical inquiry for an feigning injury during Pakistan’s home series against India last year.

His disappointing seven wickets in three Tests against India raised doubts over his commitment and fitness, although medical reports confirmed his injury was genuine.

Re: Injured Shoaib Akhtar pulls out of India tour

shuker hai...at least he wont occupy a spot in the team and then not play any tests due to his injury...or maybe he knew he wasnt gonna get selected for the series to so he backed out himself ;)

good :k:

yeh baat .. :k:

I’m extremely disappointed

I feel they same way as Indian’s do when Tendulkar don’t play in the game, :frowning:

I hope he recovers in 3-4 weeks and then rejoins the team.

I feel that this is a bold decision by the speedster ahead of the tour. Some how I see a backdrop overview. Later, :rolleyes:

The reason might be that Pakistan is not going to play in Mumbai, so our hero cannot visit the disco’s or the Indian actresses, so there’s no point in going as far as he is concerned. :rolleyes:

not good :)

Khuskam Jahaan Paak.

Better to get rest or whatever to get the attitude and fitness right !

:smiley: you read my thoughts.
injury at the age of 29 seem a bit irregular.

---------Z-X-C-----------
Rukhi-Khala
:smash:
:silly: , Shoaib per dhiyaan na do,appnaay ‘Un’ per dhiyaan do,:smiley:

Good for the team, at least the team will be playing with full spirits... good for Shoaib too as he would've most likely left a game half-way thru due to "injury". A win-win situation :D

-----------x-c-------------

You mean the Feel Good factor for the team

Dekhtain hain jee :bukbuk::k:

Wonderful

I am pleased to know that he is not playing. Definately a moral booster for the team.

Good Luck boys

If he is not fit, fine, let him take some rest. I hope his injury is not of a serious kind.

Now guys, move on. Lets pray for our hard working and determined medium pacers to hail in the tough tour. Also that Sami beta will try to give his heart out in the presence of Rana and Rao. Its good that all youngersters will give their 110% to cement their place in the side. This COULD be a historic tour if they can put up a close fight. Their career will depend on it.

Having him in the team fully fit surely bolsters our bowling. So it is a blow indeed but lets see how we cope without him in the toughest conditions for the fasties.

Time to lose the series 3-0, homies.

-----------x-----------

Yup!
Even PCB is now saying that they are willing to delay the start of the tour by 4-5 days.
Might as well give the series to India on a platter

I wonder what will change by delaying the start of the series to 4-5 days, my friends said that tendulkar and …etc of indian team will be fit to play so what, we have good players yaar

kis nay bola pakistan loosing 3-0 haaaaaaan :o :bailan:

and on tendulkar issue he is not a match winnier when it counts so its ok if he is in or not, great talent above the rest of the batsman/ class act Ofcourse! will he make runs in the series? probably the most but its alright you wanna match to the west side they have really good players as well…

its the team not the player that counts!

Game Bhai, not that I am gay or anything like that but I dont know why I feel like:hug: and :kiss: you.

aejaz bhai,^Kabhi to ‘closet’ ka derwaza khulna tha naa akhir,:smokin2:

hum chahtain hain kay aap khush rahoo, aisay hee,:smiley: