information about pakistan

Okay i kno this is stupid but i mite be spending four-five months in pak, Lahor to be precise, and I need the help of some ppl who acutally live in Lahore.. I’d like to knwo if the following things are available easily and in what price range…

hair straighteners

Ipod accessories, such as a charger

high speed internet connection (DSL or cable, i forget which is the best, but i know both r better than that dial-up crap over there)

i’ve such a hard time buying basic necessities over there… everyone says you can get everything for so much cheaper, u jus gotta look around and know where to go/who to go to, but like whas the point if u dont know anyone who will take you around? I’d rather spend the money and buy stuff from here instead of go through the hassle of buying freakin lip gloss in hte mein bazaar :rolleyes:

Re: information about pakistan

You guys know nothing :grumpy:

hair straightner....i just brought my own from canada and purchased those adapter thingies to convert the voltage
ipod..hm...dont know about that...what dont u just bring ur own if u already have one....
internet...all depends on wherever u are staying has internet or not...best bet woudl be goign to those internet cafes and check there..i dotn know about lahore, but in isb, i think they were getting the cable internet speed..

basic necessities..well makeup..bring ur own..dont trust the paki imitation of everytring...like scrubs and all....toilet paper....my mom used to bring it from toronto, but for me, whatever..as long as it does the job, no worries about the texture and stuff....
toothpaste..use paki stuff..no big deal..same with shampoo..unless u have nasty kinky hair like me...i need my smoothing, frizz free shampoos...
hope this helps!!! have fun!

Sara, everything is available in Lahore, as per IPOD, mine came with all the accessories. Nowadays, all chargers have 100 to 240 V input which works all over the world. If you want to buy any hair Products check Fateh Store or H karim bakash in main market gulberb. if these stores doesnt have any product, they can order one for you,

2 months left :blush:

Lucky git.

13 days to go wooohoooo !!! :bhangra:

Okay so ummm ladies a question.. :blush: Is there anything similar to Victorias secret over there ?? :blush:

Not the same Sara but Intimate is a chain of intimate apparel and lingerie for ladies in Pakistan.

Yeah i know there’s no VS thats why i said “similar”.. that sounds nice.. like wat kind of stuff do they hv? is it all old fashoined ugly granma stuff? anythin trendy etc etc? :blush:

high speed internet? hahaha very funny sara.

why are you so worried about pretty lingerie anyways? just take some from VS and im sure it will last a few months :(???

DON'T GO TO THOSE INTERNET CAFEs. OMG !!! PoRNO CentRals..

That is what I've heard.

some of the malls in karachi have fancy lingerie stores with frosted glass, so men cant see inside (but they kinda can)....so i'm sure Lahore has some of those too in the malls

Shweet, by pretty i meant anything OTHER than those chest-length granny panties and no shape two pieces of fabrics sewn together bras.. VS is too mUch $$ :(

hair straighteners… yes.. :rotfl: silly question

cable internet… yes, but depends if there are any cable connections (or whatever) in ur area. Thats the only problem.

Makeup… dunno..

iPod & accessories… I’m pretty sure they do. 3-4years ago, when MP3 Players were the thing, I went to Pak & bought an MP3 player w/ accessories, so I’m assuming that they have iPods now aswell.
I bought mine from this electronics shopping centre across PACE.. forgot its name though.

Sara when are you going? And for how long? I envy you...

My turn to use :(

What’s so funny about that? There are many areas in Pakistan with cable connections and also a few with DSL connections. Pakistan itna bhi backward nahi hai, jee.

Ok umm can someone tell me abt the gyms n stuff in Lhr? :blush: I know of one gym but i can’t find their website :bummer: There’s 1 that someone told me abt, “Shapes” or something.. it’s loc in Gulberg, does anyone know wat i talkin abt?

YEah I have heard of Shapes.

Here is there address and also website address. They are meant to be really good.

Lahore Branch
Shapes Health Studio
50-E/1, Gulberg III , Lahore
Tel: 042-5712205, 5762205
Fax: 042-5752205
Email: [email=“[email protected]”][email protected]

Actually, there are some new lingerie boutiques in Gulberg. I can’t remember the name of the center, but it’s like a small shopping mall. City point? City towers? Something like that. These little boutiques actually have name brand western stuff in it (including Victoria’s secret), but the selection might be limited. Also, the department stores carry lingerie. You can find non-granny things for sure.

Hafeez center is a good place to look for electronics, cell phones, ipods, computer related accessories.

And you can find hair straighteners at any large department store.

Thanks Rani :blush: Slightly off topic but i hate hate hate hate when there’s guys in womens underwear sections, like in VS.. sharam ati hai :frowning:

Okay, if i’m not mistaken, ther’es a NIke shop in Pace rite? Im gnna need to pick up some stuff.. i checked the Nike website n it doenst list Pakistan, but i cud swear i saw a nike shop inside Pace :frowning: