Inferior Complexity

One of the things I have noticed in the past couple years is the tendency of some desi men feeling inferior when they are confronted with another man who is broader in physical stature then your typical scrawny desi male.
This is coming from personal experience. Recently, I have started lifting weights and I have become bigger (not too big), and I have noticed couple tiny desi men at the masjid not socializing with me in the same level as before.

Why is that?

Re: Inferior Complexity

Why do u care?

Haraam, brother, haraam. :nono:

You are way too concerned about appearances. Did you ever consider building up your personality?

I am not concerned with anybody’s appearance. It is some people’s attitudes that I am questioning.

Not even the ugly sidekick?

It looks like you have the habit of bringing different topics into different threads.
Lets stick to the topic please.
If you don’t have anything to contribute please do not reply.

May be they have figured out you are not as smart as them, and they want to keep as much distance as possible from you, not becuase you are muscular, but because you lack the necessary neurones to have come up with such a ludicrous disjointed logic.

Not my opinion, just something they might be thinking.

I think the answer to your question is in the first half of your quote – no?

Umair,

I understand what you mean. I don't think it has something to do with the appearance. It has to do with the state of mind, one's religious and cultural background and the way someone perceives his surroundings. Personally I am quite a tall person but skinny. Poeple meeting me somehow get an impression of seriousness and confidence from my face even those who are well built.

It simply deals with the fact whether you are able to see the positive side of your personality. If you only see negative aspects the result is what you described. If you recognize your positive and negative aspects, you have a balanced personality. If you only see positive and nothing negative, you can be quite insulting and paranoid kind of personality......

The cultural background playes a big role. The families where socialization is not considered important, childern growing up develope avoidance, dependency and shyness. This is another reason why people behave like that not because they have some sort of inferiority complex. This is the case with our desi people......................They are mocked and ridiculed for tiny little things, for variations in physical features, skin color etc, so they are at a more self conscious level than the normal people.

The reason why I questioned this logic was because I have only discovered this attitude in some desi male. I have many Vietnamese, white, black, Hispanic friends but they are all normal.

In the past many desis I have come to know have actually felt inferior when acquainting with white people (they act really nice to them etc) but are quite the opposite when they confront a black person or someone with a darker complexion.

^ I understand but the reason is the same. When desis meet me they behave in a real desi way but not with the White people because they think this guys is "Like me", a desi, they pre-suppose and assume about me and the way I'd behave. But they always face a different attitude from me.

If you feel you have an edge over the other person and he is feeling inhibited then you should make him comfortable. Physical attributes shouldn't mean much...nor we should give or take credit for them.

The typical desi man is scrawny :konfused: hmm ok…well i think if anything it cud be men’s nature in general (not just desi men)…but maybe, just maybe (and i’m gonna say this in the nicest way possible)…do u think that since u have become “bigger” that maybe u’ve become a tad bit more arrogant about ur body? :blush: Cos they mite be sensing a vibe or something, and think ur showing off :smooth: Otherwise i dunno y some guys u know suddenly changed how they talk to u.

r u sure that just b/c of ur build ur old frens from mosque are not hanging around with u ?

Actually I know very few scrawny Desi guys. Well we're Pathan, so men in my family are athletic and muscular. You can't just assume that it's your build that causes guys to not speak to you anymore. It could be that your self-confidence has increased and you are different somehow. They may sense this change of attitude. Just a guess, but you won't know until they tell you.

wai yaara chhordo yeh body ka chakkar tum kin baton mein pard gai hai. tum apna kaam akro tumko is se farq nai pardna chahiye k log kya sochtay hain.this world is full of freaks.may be for them we r freak.but u know wat i really think that to some extent every person has psychological problems and they do not want to admit it.dont mind and no offense but i think this is ur psychological problem.i have 4 girls in my class 2 of them talks to me and 2 of them does not.because one of them is sardial and she looks at me like i am a freak and the other one is very intelligent so she has the superiority complex.wat difference does it make.if the other 2 stop talking to me i really dont mind i have a life style of my own.and they r not very much important for me.i am a psycho too and i accept it.i am very conscience about many things.i am an emotional eater.so try to avoid these kind of things.kuch log khud ko superior samajhtay hain is liye nahi baat karte aur kuch log khud ko inferior samjhte hain is liye nahi baat karte.to chill yaar.tum khud ko aur doosron koitni importance na do.simple

:-) i can see where u coming from.. cuz my trainer went through this ..and reason he's a trainer now BECAUSE he used the complex and now he's a head-turner when we go to the desi areas here..

so far i've noticed this thing only in desis.. and i THINK it has to do with our growing up training.. most of the guys that are from pk, and when i say this,i AM stereotyping, are brought up with low self-confidence and scare of rejection (girl, interview, prospects, friends, etc) so anyone whose in their circle and gets an edge over them, they try to avoid him..

listen to fayz... its a nice way... MAYBE you can convince them to join gym.. and this way u guys will be able to work it out..

I don’t think its my attitude that has changed. If that was the case then my non desi friends would react the same.

Anyways, thanks for replies, I thought I was the only that has happend to, but I am not the only one.

cool umair @ big muscles!!!
dont go with da flow cuz the flow goes down......
yeah sometimes people get jealous of your achievements...but then they arent friends....

by the way ...have u ever wondered if maybe YOU started acting like you are all dat???nothing wrong with that either by the way lol.

Is it inferiority complex or inferior complexity?
If you work out too much, your neurons do start to degenerate. fact. i should know, i have started working out too.