How do you respond? Like you’re shocked or surprised that a person or people you might have respected before, bring out another side of themselves. The times now are close to painful for Muslims and other brown minorities in our country(USA) and the world. Racists have a bigger voice now and they don’t have to hide or suppress their hate anymore.
Examples of what I’m talking about is I made cookies for a group of “friends” just to be close to them and as a nice gesture so I could integrate into their group. One of them that was someone I looked up to mentioned a news story he read about how one of the ISIS members had poisoned the rest of group and killed all of them… before eating one of my awesome cookies. I took it lightly and said “it’s a good thing because we’re talking about a bunch of terrorists, aka ISIS, they are below gutter level for killing innocents”. The fact that he brought up a situation like that before sampling some of the food I made was so painful.
How would you respond to indirect comments like that?
I wish I could think of spur of the moment comical responses to blatant racist ignorant comments, direct or indirect. Just so they know that making jerk comments like that are just hate ridden and ignorant and it won’t provoke me to get angry.
As you said racists have a bigger voice. Thats true. But you have a right to express yourself too and you should utilize it.
Well first of all you need to make sure you dont lose temper in responding. You should keep your tone and words in check. And also keep it small, on-point, light and end up with a smile or laughter.
Most of the racists also happen to be ignorant as well. So they usually dont know things that you can explain to them. Also unfortunately, most racists have pea-size brain as well so dont drag yourself in any long exchange of words. Just make your point, smile and move on with your life. Society is full of these jerks but their negativity should NEVER bring you down.
And I think you should make the cookies again n again. Trust me that’ll do more than words.
I live in a super red state, you alls in NY and really diverse places won’t understand. You’re just minding your own business and all of a sudden bam, a racist comment but indirect so totally slimy. What would have been an example of something you would say to direct racist comments?
See I’m making a super delicious mango cheesecake for a Christmas party and I put a lot of hard work into it hoping everybody will love it. It’s these same people and people as racist(super hillbilly state) as them will be there. I mean the population of this place is me and another brown person that’s in another building and then the rest are all ignorant blacks and whites that surround us.
I want to prepare myself for “light hearted” racist, anti muslim, anti brown people comments. This time it won’t be as shocking. A good comeback. Give me something.
I mentor people to use sharp wit and don’t give people control over you to make you feel upset. You could just have laughed and said kind of like Europeans gave the natives smallpox..lol
**Actually if we look around the Whole Wide World for mixing of different races, you will find the White European Countries are more mixed race than our so called Desi Homelands like Hindustan and Pakistan Iran Saudi or for that matter any Asian Country or even African Countries like Egypt Sudan Kenya Uganda etc, so the Question is begging to be asked which countries discriminate against foreigners more?
Waisay Bhaion or Behnoun hum sub ko meray samaeth upnay garebaan mein mounh dal kar dekhna chaheeyay kay nahin?**
O in that case I’ll advise you to be extremely careful. I know what you mean. But unfortunately all hate crimes start with small comments.
And yes they are “red” and have voted a proven racist as the President for a reason. What these rednecks are looking for is a complete immunity to all hate crimes so that the govt provides a cover to them. Very similar to what cops have right now as they can get away with anything they do in the broad day light. Unfortunately, these kinda incidents will just increase multibound.
Yum. Yes you should have punch lines ready. But make sure you stick it with a smile or laughter and dont drag it into a debate.
You can always say things like, “I’ve made this with great effort for my lovely office family like you so lets just stay within the spirit of christmas and enjoy the party”..
If you are entangled into any patriotism topic you can be like, " you can judge me all what you want but i’m as american as you are and i love this country"..
Try to leave the spot where this kinda bitter exchange pops up.
Its terrible that you have to go through this but it is what it is. In the end of the day, we’ve to deal with it. Hang in there! :k:
there are two ways that we may want to respond depending on the situation and the audience, the best reply or comment/retort could be:
Our creator has told us: O men! Behold, We have created you all out of a male and a female, and have made you into nations and tribes, so that you might come to know one another! The Holy Quran Al-Hujurat - 49:13
or if you are in the company of Humanist and Evolutionists, simply say “you are entitled to the Darwin Award”
Your faith is your personal business and shouldn’t be discussed at work or outside, I have instructed my kids to never let anyone outside know what their faith is. No one at work knows about my faith. People would like to give you the bait you simply refuse to take that bait. In customer service we teach phrases like, I am sorry you feel that way. You can also say stuff like you are entitled to your opinion and I am not sure if anything I do will change your opinion, Can you please not say things like these, you are making me uncomfortable.
Always talk about a person’s actions and not about the person, don’t say stuff like you are a bully, ignorant or racist.
Plan an exit like I am sorry I need to go to the bathroom etc.
Hmmm..that would be tough to translate, brevity is not as effective in Urdu as verbosity.
Here is a quotation.
Therefore, since brevity is the soul of wit, And tediousness the limbs and outward flourishes, I will be brief…
I was just reading about the three young smart people of the Barakat family who were killed in a grudge/hate attack. It is really important to not engage the crazies and just walk away and not have lengthy debates and conversations. Some of these losers have nothing to lose, they have no families, no careers and no conscience.
Those were the standard lines we learned in our customer service and communications training. I was just trying to tell people to use brevity and don’t engage in debates or in trying to win them over. In a day to day life the rule is don’t criticize the person but just their action like my wife would say yai bahut dheet hai, aur nikkamma hai about children and we had to work hard for her to stop doing that and change that by hey Harris your room is untidy, it bothers me when your room is like that. Can you please clean your room every week, which day works best for you, Friday or Saturday?