Aandhi (released in 1975) is my all time favorite movie for its songs, for the story, for superb performances by the actors and amazing plot. I read that the movie was based on Indra Gandhi’s life and was banned for 2 years during emergency.
How the story of the upper class woman falling in love with a middle class man relates to Indra Gandhi?
Did Mrs Gandhi sacrificed her marital life for political career?
What was the story behind marriage and love of Indra and Feroz Gandhi?
Oh I just came to know about this movie on this weekend on radio, they were discussing the same issue, this movie was first offered to vijabtimala but she refused on the same ground tht it is on Indra Gandhi life n she didn't wanted to have any conflict
amazing movie... nothing can beat Gulzar's writing.
to my knowledge, the whole Indira Gandhi reference was inaccurate - even in the script writer's own words. Apparently, the only similarity was in the demeanor of the lady politicians and this was falsely being publicized by some distributors as the story of Indira Gandhi. Since Indira Gandhi wasn't in a politically strong position, her Govt. banned the movie until the movie makers agreed to insert a new dialog where Suchitra Sen says she's a big fan of Indira Gandhi... just to dispel any rumors about her being Indira herself.
Thats interesting. But how Feroz Gandhi and Indra met and how they separated is still not well known. Indra seems to be always interested in politics like the character in movie who was comelled by her father to take part in movie and sacrifice her marital life.
^ again, to my knowledge, Feroze was pretty active in politics himself pre-partition and also post-partition. The main reason why Indira's father opposed their marriage was because he was parsi - and later after the marriage, they weren't on good terms because after Feroze was elected in his constituency, he criticized Nehru's govt. quite a bit.
Dharam bharsht hone ke bad Nehru ji ki raaj neeti bhi bharsht ho rahi thi Feroz ki waja se. I read somewhere that Feroz Gandhi was a relative of Mahatma Gandhi, but his being Parsi (some people misunderstood him as Muslim) made me confused. So the guy was himself a politician as against the hotel manager in the movie
^ haha yes... many ppl think he was related to Gandhi (last name) or he was Muslim (first name). Nehru was pretty desperate because he even tried to get Mohandas Gandhi involved to try to get Indira and Feroz to breakup - but to no avail.
yes Feroz Gandhi was a politician and later a businessman (ran a newspaper I think) and I think he met Indira Gandhi during a college political rally or something.
yes... she did - and I think it's because he looked after her mom during her last days.
BTW, now you've reminded me of Aandhi, I want to watch Gulzar's Lost Love Trilogy (Aandhi, Mausam, Ijaazat) - all great movies - gotta dig out the DVDs this weekend.
When it comes to being womanizer, Feroze is far better than Nehru:), Edwina's case is one in many hit targets of Nehru:D, secondly expecting Feroze could survive after leaving Indira with other woman is near impossible:D. Henry Kissinger can't outmaneuver her, Feroze ki kya majaal:D
When Indira and Feroze decided to marry the surname was chosen Gandhi instead of Indira's or Feroze's natural surnames:)
PS: Muqawee123ji, its Indira not Indra:)
Thanks the kaur for pointing the mistake.
What do you mean by natural surnames? Wasn't Gandhi surname of Feroz, which was adapted by Indira and her children.
When it comes to being womanizer, Feroze is far better than Nehru:), Edwina's case is one in many hit targets of Nehru:D, secondly expecting Feroze could survive after leaving Indira with other woman is near impossible:D. Henry Kissinger can't outmaneuver her, Feroze ki kya majaal:D
So Feroz Gandhi didn't marry after Indira. How were the relationship between the children of Indira and their father? By the way, is he still alive?
^^^
Gandhi is also Punjabi Arora caste surname, means grocer, even some sindhis have Gandhi surname along with Gujju seth:)
Thanks the kaur for pointing the mistake.
What do you mean by natural surnames? Wasn't Gandhi surname of Feroz, which was adapted by Indira and her children.
Don't know what his surname was, but it was decided that both of them would carry surname Gandhi, in the name of Mahatma:), Feroze died in 1960 hence the father-children relation is less talked about:)
They already started living seprately before Feroze died:) meanwhile senior Congressi called her Goongi Gudiya:) but when she found that her career would go down she resorted by dividing Congress party and was called Congress(Indira):), Unlike her public image, Indira resorted to action only when nothing else seemed working but her actions used to be too tough and highly powerful be it emergency, 71 war or action against Punjabi terrorists:)
Whatever happened the lady really had to face ups and downs in her life, before becoming so rigid (as portrayed). I kinda remember that there were some problem between Indira and her DIL (probably read in Khushwant Singh's book)
Her younger son was active in politics, Sanjay was also responsible for the atrocities committed during emergency and Maneka was partner in magazine publishing with Khushwant Singh, both of whom were Sikhs:)
Indira, contrary to her image mostly took decision when it was near impossible for her to act otherwise. every damage be it emergency or Operation Bluestar was result of Indira's attitude of "Too much Too late" she always got away with it but finally her death was result of handling Bhidranwale in the same way:)
Of course, she commanded brilliantly during 1971 war and India miss her losing early:)