India's "Post-martem" - Who's to blame for the heavy defeat?

Re: India's "Post-martem" - Who's to blame for the heavy defeat?

I think Ajit Agarkar's absence cost India this match and the series.

Waise ek baat hai....I did not think that India defeating Pak 4-1 had depressed some of my Pak friends here so much.....I mean , just see how many of them suddenly crawled out of their holes (referring to Funguy, niz_b, armughal, skhan..even Faisal) to gloat over India's defeat......!!

^ Out of holes? I was here through the thick and thin. When Pakistan won the tests and won Pakistan lost the ODI's. Too bad the same can't be said of our Indian comrades.

^I did not see you analyzing the first two India-England Test Matches.

he was so much involved in analysis that he didnt get time to post his views ....... thats the only reason , otherwise ..... he is wise.

I think kambhat has a point here.. India is doing badly in test recently. But i think they will turn the corner soon. Its only a matter of time before they get their stupid batting line up in order. On the positive side, indians were able to bowl out the english batsmen in all the three test, two times.. i think that is some credit. Consider that to what we did in pakistan i think thats an improvement.
Exception of Jones, Englans were not handicapped much in their bowling department, while india had to cope with non-form batsmen. England did play admirably well and full credit to them.

Re: India’s “Post-martem” - Who’s to blame for the heavy defeat?

true.. skhan was around.. but armughal, funguy,niz_b and Faisal.. these people..i havent seen them for ages. :halo:.

Faisalabad, Lahore Test + the subsequent ODIs had one thing in common … a good Batting track … Til Karachi Test the Contest was PAK-Batting vs. IND-Batting … Then all of a suden in karachi we had a real Bat vs. Ball contest … and we saw that in the 1st Innings of each team … After that all happend was Pressure of a Task beyond belief (not reaching 600 but surviving 2 days) …

Except Yuvraj and partly Ganguly no one even really looked like trying to fight it out … It was like Team India or the major parts of were already looking forward to the ODI series … where usually the spectator watches more of a Bat vs. Bat contest than a Bat vs. Ball contest … this pattern is a worrying prospect for Team India’s Tests

It was similar when Pakistan visited India … It was similar when India toured Pakistan (as mentioned above) and one can only guess which way it’ll turn out to be in the ODI’s series

An interessting article in The Daily Pioneer
http://www.dailypioneer.com/indexn12.asp?main_variable=EDITS&file_name=edit2.txt&counter_img=2

actually i didnt analyze pak sri lanka series either, was away

and lets be honest, this eng-ind series has hardly been exciting, the runrate around 2 mark, yawn

pak-eng was a lot more exciting

seems like u had to provide urself atleast something to have a cheer … BTW the ppl u mentioned r not the only ones who r gloating like this … to go by the Mumbai Crowd or parts of it half the City was happy the way things went and sure a few in Calcutta :hehe:

Now back to the original Topic … i guess u agree that in Test cricket one has to face different sort of pressures not just for 50 overs (or less overs) … That’s why it’s called real cricket … It’s sad to see how quickly Desi ppl will forget how mediocre a player is if he fails in tests but the does well in ODIs … coz majority of them want Entertainment … atleast i’ve this impression … a positive for me in the last few seasons is the emergence of Akmal (ofcourse one has to see how he copes with green top in England) and Jaffar … but that’s it … everyone (even Sreesanth who BTW showed to the rest how to play a forward defensive stroke) can spank the ball when his side is on top and he has nothing to loose

All the talk about the Pitch-Condition blah blah blah … U r a professional and it’s ur job to it as the situation requires and not as u see it fit … what did Kumble eat other didn’t … when he batted u could see the determination as well as Sreesanth when he hoiked Flnti over Long on for 4 after a few bouncers

And if u really wana know what went wrong then go ask Dhoni why he repeated the shot … his Answer is for u the state of Indian Test Team

Well…Hasnt it always been like this with these 3. I think NARAguy is dead.Otherwise you would have seen him jumping out of his pajama too.

It is the same for both sides. :rolleyes:

haha! you guys are such jokers. I wasn't around GS at all...check other forums too...i was on the road with very limited access.

For God's sakes......

no..Its not..Tell me how many times you see Indians posting useless Pak bashing post after each Pakistan defeats against other countries. These 3 are the chumps who always do it.

^Oh come on..there are very few occassions when pakistan gets beaten....so you guys don't get much chances...otherwise you are not a "farishta" either..

Dhobi bhai, Ehsan bhai, Some1
I really enjoyed reading all of your opinions. I got some and let me shed some light on it.
I didn’t watch the 3rd test match but kept a focused eye on it just being a true Cricket fan. The target of 313 with the whole day left, in my view should have been chased or even India could have tried for a draw just like they did in Nagpur. One thing that struck me is that they crumbled after lunch for only 25 runs. That’s 7 wickets gone for only 25 runs. Something to look for the future!!!
Also, I read that Anil Kumble was the 3rd highest scorer from India (as one of the Guppies mentioned). If this doesn’t strike bullets in the head, what else will? Where in the world was Sehwag or even Tendulkar? Believe me, Shaun Udal was on the mountain when he god Tendulkar dismissed. Anyhow, at the age of 37 and his birthday just passed, Udal made his day and his team’s day as well.
I think there was a very good sign for strong and renovated Indian bowling line up. Let’s take Munaf Patel and SreeSanth. They both did splendid in the test series. Munaf Patel enrouted Eng. batsmen to the pavilion with some reverse swing yorkers and that’s a very nice site if you are an Indian. SreeSanth was very effective as well as he bowled very much within the line and got some strong batsmen out like Strauss and Collingwood. Apart from these two, Kumble was outstanding as ever but Harbhajan wasn’t at his best. I think either he’s not getting the “doosra” bowled well or he’s lacking self-confidence. Pathan wasn’t as effective but overall Indian bowling was way better as they outdid Eng. batting in all 3 tests. Yuvraj was in good perform but didn’t click. Nevertheless, India had a strong batting lineup and full credit goes to English team for outdoing them in their home.
English side, on the other hand, would be taking the series as a victory rather than a draw. Let’s take it. Vaughn, Trescothick, Jones & Giles, all didn’t play a single test but the whole team was steadfast. Their debutant Cook and Panesar provided firmness to the batting lineup and bowling line up respectively. Also, Matthew Hoggard performed brilliantly and he outdid Sehwag like he himself is outdone by Kumble or Kaneria as easily as ABC. Also, England were really well captained by Flintoff and it might produce goosebumps for Vaught..:confused:
I’m sure India and Eng both will be looking forward to the ODI series starting in Delhi and it’s going to be a good contest. I’m looking forward to Sehwag to strike back and from English side, I want to see how Flintoff and Pieterson take inhale the wind..
Also, I’m very optimistic that India will strike back in the ODIs but the win for England will definitely help them for the confidence needed for Ashes in winter and also against Pak in summer.

On a funny note, “what did Arun Lal said after the loss to Eng??”
Till than, take care,
Umer:D