India's greatest strength!

Population was going to be a huge problem…until Indians found out a good education can overcome even that!

**36% of scientists at Nasa are Indians: Govt survey
…as many as 12% scientists and 38% doctors in the US are Indians, and in Nasa, 36% or almost 4 out of 10 scientists are Indians.

If that’s not proof enough of Indian scientific and corporate prowess, digest this: 34% employees at Microsoft, 28% at IBM, 17% at Intel and 13% at Xerox are Indians.

Re: India's greatest strength!

its a old news... infact there was a nbc news report floating around on internet a while ago..

Yeh old news hain but anyways OLD IS GOLD. Overall more than Indians bragging about all this we have to infact think about how Indian companies perform on a Global arena. For example if I have to pick someone randomly and Question him please tell me the top companies you can remember of, I dont think so any indian company will be registered in his mind.
My dream is all the top 5 companies should be from India. But, that does not undermine the growth of india atleast in b2b level.

Re: India’s greatest strength!

That is beyond laughable. If it were even close to true, by the time you had factored in all the Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, Korean, Pakistani, and Middle Eastern physicians, you would be able to count the white doctors in the US on your hands.

According to the 2000 US census, there are 105,300 physicians and surgeons in the US who identify themselves as ethnically Asian (which includes all of the Far East and the Indian Subcontinent). Asians as whole account for 15% of all US doctors.
http://www.census.gov/Press-Release/www/releases/archives/facts_for_features_special_editions/001738.html

This outright lie, of course, casts doubt on all the other ‘statistics’ presented in your article.

I would have thought your country had higher journalistic standards that this.

2 Likes

OMG, its big time conspiracy theory against indians or probably its a type error it should have been 45% not 15%, jisne bhi itni badi mistake ki hain, ask him to pay $1 million i.e. sufficient for the time being otherwise i would have to report a case. LOL

we have a indian doctor here . .. his middle finger is insured for one million dollars :biggthumb

just wondering if those figures for msoft, xerox.. are just USA based or they include the whole world? If whole world then we all know where to get cheap tech support eh?

Tsk tsk tsk, dekho bhai mein shariff insaan hun, but wo alag baat hain ki ki chalo chodo yaar i will be banned.:)

I think 38% of doctors is overstated too. Obviously it is a plot demoralize others. I can believe 3.8%

Good for India.
I need to know where are these figures coming from ? In USA they keep record of ethnic background by asking in the job application about the ethnic background of the job applicant , the information is voluntary , not mandatory. But there is one category in the question it is Asian. Asian includes , Chinese , Japanese, Arab , Indian , Pakistani , Bangladeshi etc.. There is no other scientific or statistical method of finding out the statistics being quoted in Rajia Sabha . These companies and government bodies will not let anybody conduct this kind of outside demographic survey on their employees. I am sure the Honorable minister of education is quoting these figure as they are public record in USA

Overstated hain to likha kyon, anyways we have better things to talk about.
What makes me happy is an average indian overall has better knowledge about the happenings in the world as compared to individuals from different regions.
P.S. I am only stating from the POV of an Indian and might be generalizing, I am sorry if i have hurt anyone from Pakistan.

Re: India’s greatest strength!

From American medical Association
http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/12930.html

Source: Physician Characteristics and Distribution in the US, 2008 Edition. American Medical Association

I read somewhere that this whoe thing is a some internet hoax that's been going around..... excet some Indian minister took it seriously!

^ that is true. It is a hoax.

Even though the thread starter has used a hoax to support the title, I'd say the thread should be discussed in more detail.

So "What is (are)** India's greatest strength*(s)?*"

The people ofcourse

Their hate for Pakistan. They see many pakistanis are doing it with success to the max factor. Some have even used that hate to reach and contend for the premiership position.

As a side note: Times of india is a tabloid, and I don't trust it. Just going this weblink gets me three popups with multiple ads (thats with a popup blocker). There are 16 advertisements on their page itself.

Really !!! I never knew that Indians were looking at "Pakistanis doing it with success to the max factor " Yes we are watching as you use suicide bombings to settle scores. Yes you are very successful at that. You win hands down..

As a side note : TOI is not a newspaper which does charity. They need to sustain themselves. Please check the quality of the pop-up blockers that you have installed.

^ ouch

But it's possible alig was half sarcastic

Relax guys! Not every thread has to become a hate thread. There's enough misery without that!

India's **greatest strength! **Hate for Pakistan? Hmmm.

I don't thing a negative characteristic like "hate" can be a strength. It probably is a huge weakness.

FYI. Strengths are mostly of positive nature.

It's not really TOI's fault.

Apparently some govt. minister took an chain email and presented it to parliament as an official study. TOI was just reporting on the event.