Rameez and Sanjay are mostly good…while as Saby said, Dean Jones is good and a pretty funny guy…and Imran Khan of course is good. But Why add Sidhu ![]()
toba toba sidhu ... oh bhai uss ko door hi rakho commentary box say....
I can never forget that day when he started shouting at Geofrey Bycott...in the one match where Sachin got banned cause of scratching the ball. He was gonna hit Bycott....shouting at the top of his lungs...
*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *
toba toba sidhu ... oh bhai uss ko door hi rakho commentary box say....
I can never forget that day when he started shouting at Geofrey Bycott...in the one match where Sachin got banned cause of scratching the ball. He was gonna hit Bycott....shouting at the top of his lungs...
he he.. seen that as well...on one occasion he entered into a spat with Alan Wilkins as well on Star Sports...ek to chillata hai aur upar se biased bhi hai...
Rameez and Sanjay form their core team and they will be there...no matter how boring and monotonous they sound..But no Aamir Sohail?? guess they too have dumped him...Imran Khan is a very good analyst, speaks upfront but is biased..
They should get hold of people like Barry Richards / Mark Nicholas / Tony Greig / Holding / Boycott / Gavaskar..
No Harshas / Siddhus / Shastris etc etc
Oh come on guys, Sidhu is one of a kind and brings a lot of humour to the commentary team. Got to have one of his kind there. I vote for him. :)
arre ehsan bhai..I too used to feel the same way.....shuru shuru main he looks very funny...but after some time his gig gets on to you..
Afridi scored 141 against India in a test match!
And he can also bowl well in middle of the overs from break through!
Why no dates yet for India v Pak Tour
come on guys ..
What is happening >?
When will we know exact dates for tests
& 1 days
A
http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2004/FEB/061701_PAK_06FEB2004.html
** Waqar rubbishes match-fixing allegation **
- Waqar Younis has hit out at allegations that Pakistan had deliberately underperformed in one-day tournaments in Morocco and Kenya in 2002. Responding to a letter by the ICC’s Anti-Corruption Unit (ACU) to the Pakistan board which raised the issue, Waqar, who led the team in both competitions, emphasised that there was no truth to the allegations.
“We just did not play well and we lost quite a few close matches. Luck did not favour us. But I know everyone tried hard to win,” he said, according to a Press Trust of India report. Waqar added that these stories were floating around only because Pakistan had lost the one-day series to New Zealand and had an important series against India coming up. "Whenever the team loses a few matches on a trot or an important series is coming up, you hear and read about such allegations about match-fixing. So this is nothing new for me.
“I can only say if the ACU has any evidence and is convinced any player is involved in corrupt practices, he should be exposed and punished. But simply making allegations or raising suspicions without proof is not fair on the players also. Pakistani people are very emotional and it is now customary to hear and read about allegations of match-fixing if the team does not perform to expectations.”
Waqar may feel that Pakistan lost a few close games in those tournaments, but a look at the records suggest otherwise. In Kenya, Pakistan suffered humiliating defeats against Australia – by 224 runs and nine wickets – while in Morocco, they lost to South Africa by 54 runs and to Sri Lanka by 39. Pakistan’s only narrow loss was by 8 runs to South Africa, a match they needed to win to qualify for the final.
Meanwhile, the report also stated that Waqar had confirmed his participation in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, Pakistan’s domestic tournament, in a bid to win a place in the Test squad for the series against India. “I have not given up hope of playing for Pakistan again, that is for sure.”
© Wisden Cricinfo Ltd *
India check Pakistan safety](BBC SPORT | Cricket | India delegation arrive)
The series is already generating huge interest among supporters
A three-man delegation from India will arrive in Pakistan on Monday to inspect security arrangements ahead of their team’s forthcoming tour.
They will visit Multan, Rawalpindi, Islamabad, Peshawar, Karachi, Faisalabad and Lahore during the trip.
“I am sure that after their visit, some misconceptions will be cleared,” said Pakistan Cricket Board chief executive Rameez Raja.
India have not played Test cricket in Pakistan since 1989-90.
They are due to tour in March and April, although dates and venues have not yet been confirmed.
The delegation will be made up of RS Shetty and Amrit Mathur, joint secretary and director of communications of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, and police VIP security division inspector general Yashovardhan Azad.
They will be accompanied by senior PCB officials throughout their eight-day visit.
"The PCB has no problems with the Indian delegation coming on a pre-tour visit. It has happened before and the PCB extended full support and cooperation to the visitors.
“It is a historic series and the PCB is determined to make it a huge success,” Raja commented.
Karachi is likely to be the most contentious of the seven prospective venues.
Only Bangladesh have played there since an explosion in 2002 which prompted New Zealand to cancel a Test match and abandon their tour.
There have been other bombings in Karachi in recent weeks, but the PCB insists it will be safe for India to play at the National Stadium.
**Waqar left out of provisional squad **](http://pak.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2004/FEB/062751_PAKIND2003-04_07FEB2004.html)
Pakistan today announced a 22-man provisional squad for the forthcoming series against India, with Waqar Younis and Azhar Mahmood the most notable omissions.
“We have selected the probables after carefully studying the current form and fitness of the players,” Wasim Bari, the chairman of selectors, said. “But that does not mean that the teams for the international matches against India will be selected from this list only. The selectors will continue to monitor the performance of the players in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy first-class competition, and any player putting up a good performance would certainly be considered for selection.”
He added that the squad had been finalised after consultations with Inzamam-ul-Haq, the captain, and Javed Miandad, the coach, and that only 14 players will be selected for each match. He said, “We don’t want to carry extra players, instead we would like them to participate in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy and strengthen their claims for selection.”
The squad for the first Test will be announced on March 8.
Squad Imran Farhat, Taufeeq Umar, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Asim Kamal, Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Bazid Khan, Faisal Iqbal, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Saqlain Mushtaq, Danish Kaneria, Moin Khan (wk), Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Shabbir Ahmed, Umar Gul, Rana Naveed-ul-Hasan, Rao Iftikhar, Shadab Kabir.
So thats pretty much erases any hopes for Waqar's recall unless he produces stunning performances in Quaid-e-azam Trophy and forces his way in. Good to see Saqlain back though.
waqar and azhar left out ![]()
Don't worry yaaron. You bring any deaf dumb mute blind 11 into Pakistan team and Indian will make sure they loose by 1 run.
No Waqar or Rashid. From the team which visited nz Azhar and Saleem Elahi are missing. Junaid Zia didnt make the squad either.
Included in the squad are : Bazid Khan, Faisal Iqbal, Saqlain Mushtaq, Shdab Kabir and Rao Ifitikhar.
Anyone has any info on Rao Ifitikhar.
A good initial Squad.
**Waqar left out of provisional squad **](http://www.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2004/FEB/062751_PAKIND2003-04_07FEB2004.html)
Pakistan today announced a 22-man provisional squad for the forthcoming series against India, with Waqar Younis and Azhar Mahmood the most notable omissions.
“We have selected the probables after carefully studying the current form and fitness of the players,” Wasim Bari, the chairman of selectors, said. “But that does not mean that the teams for the international matches against India will be selected from this list only. The selectors will continue to monitor the performance of the players in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy first-class competition, and any player putting up a good performance would certainly be considered for selection.”
He added that the squad had been finalised after consultations with Inzamam-ul-Haq, the captain, and Javed Miandad, the coach, and that only 14 players will be selected for each match. He said, “We don’t want to carry extra players, instead we would like them to participate in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy and strengthen their claims for selection.”
The squad for the first Test will be announced on March 8.
**Squad Imran Farhat, Taufeeq Umar, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Asim Kamal, Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Bazid Khan, Faisal Iqbal, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Saqlain Mushtaq, Danish Kaneria, Moin Khan (wk), Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Shabbir Ahmed, Umar Gul, Rana Naveed-ul-Hasan, Rao Iftikhar, Shadab Kabir. **
Thread title needs to be correct. Probables have been announced, not squad. ![]()
I am still figuring out how Pakistan will make up for the Sixth bowler 'cause there ain’t any. Why are Abdul Razzaq and Shoaib Malik in the squad for heaven’s sake since both have struggled in the Test series at home and abroad? Azhar Mehmood and Shahid Afridi should have been there instead.
Since Shabbir Ahmed has suspicious bowling action why is he in the squad? Daryl Foster will work with him but does PCB have a gurantte that Shabbir will work things out before the Test series? Vicky should have been there instead.
Saqlain Mushtaq? I’d have picked him for ODI series instead. It wouldn’t be justice to give Saqlain a chance over Danish 'cause it’s either Saqlain or Daniesh will play a Test match.
I think the selectors took much attention to the batsmen than bowlers. Perhaps, Shoaib Akhtar has declared to pick 60 wkts in the Test series. You have Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq and Asim Kamal with Inzamam and Youhana already there. Then, Faisal Iqbal and Bazid Khan s/o of Majid Khan fighting for a place. It’s already known some of them ain’t gonna make a cut then why you have them in the probables?
Rao Ifitikhar is a right-arm medium pace bowler. Another uncapped kiddo from the block who doesn’t have good economical record in the limited overs Cricket. But last time when Zarai Tariqiati Bank Limited (ZTBL) turned the tables against WAPDA team, he played a major part with Abdul Razzaq. Maybe, that’s the reason both are in the squad errr probables.
Waqar and Azhar left out and Faisal named in the squad?
Goes to show you what Javed can do for his nephew, who definetly doesn’t deserve a place in the team.
Mat Runs HS BatAv 100 50 W BB BowlAv 5w Ct St
10 403 83 23.70 0 3 0 - - 0 7 0
I wonder if this kind of record really deserves him a chance to be in the squad…
*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
Thread title needs to be correct. Probables have been announced, not squad. :p
Tiger bhai jaan I did that to avoid a really long title. :)
well waqar i guess will get to prove his worth in the patron's trophy... looks like pcb is sticking with shabbir... i read that they're pretty high on him... right now hes in australia working with daryl foster on his bowling action... so i dont really think it matters if its "under question" he should be ready to go come march... saqi should be on the team hes too good be be left out... i think he'll be back with a vengence....good move not to put afridi on the list of probables... we dont need him... it was a wise move to keep shoaib malik... one bad series doesnt mean he should get dropped but unfortunately for azhar it did.... shadab kabir will get to prove himself as well, good move and also bazid khan, i know nothing about him but itll be interesting to see what happens... fasal iqbal.. well i have nothing to say about him... younis khan... probably there for experience purposes but he doesnt deserve to be... but then again these are all probables so he might not even make the squad... but still theres so many other guys that deserve to get a chance... good move to keep moin khan
Great to see Shabad Kabir on the list. For ODI's he can open with Imran Farhat with Yassir Hameed playing 3rd like he really should. I think this is the best way to set up the team. Waqar and Afridi can still be on the team if they play well in the Patron's Cup. Their selection will be purely based on performance. Bazid Khan is Majid Khan's son (Imran Khan nephew I think). I would think that he has been chosen because he is a good middle order batsman, time will tell. Great to see Saqi was chosen, his record speaks for itself. Also I know nothing of this Rao Iftikhar guy. I can't imagine why we would possible want a medium pacer (especially one with mediocre domesitic stats) on the team for such a big series.
Overall I like it except the inclusion of Faisal Iqbal.