Indian tour of Pak

ummm well yes he didnt perform the way he could have but dont forget he had a brilliant series agaisnt South Africa and Newzealand at home so i dont think things are that bad for him.. yet!!

Computer expert helps Pakistan bowlers to analyze Indian batting](Yahoo is part of the Yahoo family of brands.)

KARACHI (AFP) - A top computer expert said he is helping Pakistani bowlers to analyze Indian batting powerhouse with their data-based planning for the much awaited cricket series starting next week.

“We have made extensive planning to help our bowlers set virus in strong Indian batting and we hope that this planning would work to the best effect,” Pakistan Cricket Board’s computer wing head Ejaz Sandhu told AFP.

The ice-breaking series commences with the first of five one-day games in the southern port city of Karachi on March 13, three days after India fly into Lahore on their first tour of Pakistan for 15 years.

“Nearly all the cricket teams of the world take advantage of the data based systems but Pakistani players and management are for the first time taking keen interest and almost all the players have gone hi-tech for the series against India,” said Sandhu, a PhD in image processing from Toulouse, France.

The series is billed as a contest between a formidable Indian batting boasting of stars like Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Vekatsai Laxman and Sourav Ganguly while Pakistan’s bowling armoury has express pacer Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami and Shabbir Ahmed.

“Based on the data and video footage of the last two years we have planned tricks on how to get the Indian batsmen out through their weak points and habitual shots,” said Sandhu, who has two assistants and Khawar Rabbani as team’s computer analyst.

“We know how leading Indian batsmen get out and which are their weak areas but we have disclosed that to only our bowlers,” said the expert.

PCB introduced the computer lab and appointed former Pakistan pacer Sikander Bakht as analyst in 2002 but due to lack of interest shown by some of the players and after team’s humiliating first round exit in the World Cup, the lab was shut down and the analyst removed.

But Sandhu insists all the players now know how to use the laptop computers.

“Yousuf Youhana takes the most interest and has taken his one year data to improve on his batting, pacer Mohammad Sami is keen on overcoming his tendency of bowling no-balls and wides while Shoaib Akhtar is interested in getting more and more information,” said Sandhu.

“Coach Javed Miandad is so supportive for this system and urges the players to get this help as much as they could.”

The expert said not only Indian batting but his team has also analyzed Indian bowling.

Pakistan team manager Haroon Rasheed said the use of computer is more effective in improving team’s own performance rather than targeting opponent’s weaknesses.

“Pakistani players are using computer system to improve their own performance rather than trying to find chinks in our opponents’ armoury,” said Rasheed, a former Pakistan batsman.

India arrives in Pakistan on March 10 for a five-match one-day and three-match Test series.

The first one-day international is scheduled for Karachi on March 13.

Deleted for new thread " Bal Thakeray Invited"

HAPPY HOLI TO INDIAN CRICKET FANS

[thumb=E]low6028921284_8309018.JPG[/thumb]

Interesting, the BBC already has everything figured out… says PAK will win one-day series 3-2… to see how each of the 5 one day matches will play out, click on BBC SPORT | Cricket | Formbook favours Pakistan

they are crazy :smack:

^ I know!..what a bias report..they should have predicted Pak winning the series 5-0

abay chup hoja bhai, ziyada laluch theek nahi! 3-2 bhi bohat hai :)

^ ufff… aik aur :smack:

common we all know that indian team is one of the best team in the world… well atleast better than us rite ? :halo: and we dont have players like waseem akram or saeed anwar in our team now.. but they do HAVE tendulker… one of the key man…and also these days they have more than 4 5 batsman who is like tendulker’s class… but if we can got him out earlier than we alreayd won the half match… but if not… u knwo what he did to us in WC :frowning:

i really wish that Pakistan thrashed em by 5-0 and i will pray that they will insahllah.. but i dont think its that easy… cuz they are also commin here to win :smack:

haha! predictions predictions.. tsk!!

Not long ago india heavley relied on Sachin and Azhar. Things have not
changed much. Same goes for Pakistan. They rely on their main strick
bowlers to clean the mess of the bastmen.
The bottom line is ; Bowlers win matches, fielders takes catches
both combinations are there for Pakistan…,
They only danger is that non of the Pakistan batsmen have experienced in playing “Left Arm Medium pace” same as Akram.. so Zaheer or Pathan (not sure who is left arm) could be the ACE 4 india. But,

:jhanda:

I for one would go against the crowd here and say that Afridi should open the batting for pakistan. We already have Razzaq and Shoiab for the hitting down the order. The style of Afridi has the best chance of success against indian pacers (with no swing movement) in the first 15 overs. and in order to chalange indian Batting we need a large score for wich good scoring in the begining is necessary.

I know its a gamble but if we are gona play him, why not take the best use of him...

This can be construed as good news for Pakistan…neither Sachin nor our bowlers are firing on any cylinder…

Sachin rides on two ducks
ARUP CHATTERJEE

TIMES NEWS NETWORK TUESDAY, MARCH 09, 2004 01:49:04 AM ]

KOLKATA: The Men in Blue were divided into two for the 45-overs-a-side match here at the Eden Gardens , with several fringe players and a couple of local boys making the numbers, and it was Sachin and Sourav walking out to open again. The Indian skipper hogged the strike initially, and it was just as well.

When Sachin finally got his chance to bat, it was already the third over. And all that he could manage was an edge off the first ball. VVS Laxman in the slips gobbled it up with glee.

Bowler Zaheer Khan and the fielders looked in two minds, not knowing whether to celebrate their big catch or regret that their most potent weapon didn’t get more time in the middle before Pakistan . They needn’t have worried.

Exercising its options in what was only a simulated match situation, the ‘think tank’ sent Sachin back at three-down. But the world’s most prolific run-getter in the shorter version of the game did it again!

A flick off Virender Sehwag found Mohammad Kaif at short mid-wicket. It was only the second ball in hiSachin turned for the pavilion, but Rahul Dravid asked him to have another go. This time, he hung around for 12 more deliveries, and got his runs in four singles, before Mumbai mate Ramesh Powar had him bowled. It would have been too much to stay back after that!

Later, it was learnt that Tendulkar had a stiff back. However, sources in the team insisted that he was fine and would be fully fit for the Pakistan tour.

Ironically, all this on a day his two recent opening partners were having a ball. Sourav hammered a 68-ball 75 before ‘throwing’ his wicket to Powar in an effort to give others a chance and Sehwag later scored 109 off just 69 balls.

The series in Pakistan is already being billed as a ‘Sachin versus Shoaib’ battle. Through the haze of disbelief at the Eden Gardens on Monday, most will want to see it as just that.
Thank heavens, memories of the World Cup are alive as well!

^ This sounds more like the cricket we play during a weekend family picnic. Batsmen "retire" and other batsmen keep on coming back. All for a good time, I'd say. :-)

*Originally posted by CoolHeat: *
I for one would go against the crowd here and say that Afridi should open the batting for pakistan. We already have Razzaq and Shoiab for the hitting down the order. The style of Afridi has the best chance of success against indian pacers (with no swing movement) in the first 15 overs. and in order to chalange indian Batting we need a large score for wich good scoring in the begining is necessary.

I know its a gamble but if we are gona play him, why not take the best use of him...

I disagree. I am probably the most critical of afridi. It's just not that he gets out but how he gives away wickets that has a terrible psychological effect on the team. I do not want to be in a situation where he can let us down in any shape or form. I would stick him as farther down in the lineup as i can and see if he has really "matured." If after let's say 3 ODI's I see that he has really improved his game than I would be willing to give him a chance at the top of the order.

THIS IS A SITUATION WHERE PAKISTANI SUPPORTERS AND EVEN THE HOT SHOTS OF PCB HOLDS A DEEP DISTRUST OF THIS GUY. HE HAS A LOT OF FENCES TO MEND AND HE HAS TO PROVE IT TO US BEFORE I WILL EVER LET HIM GET IN A POSITION WHERE HE CAN SCREW US ALL BADLY. PLAIN AND SIMPLE, I DO NOT TRUST THIS GUY AND PROBABLY NEVER WILL.

I think there is a big confusion over role of Afridi.If PCB Afridi and Fan understandhave clarity about his role in ODI team then he could be a great asset.
My personal opinion is that People should stop talking about Afridi as a batsman. As Ehsan bhai always said he is just a tullybaaz. But if you consider him as good ODI bowler who can bat and use it like that then he could be a great asset.Which means that he should bat at 7-8 and can be promoted up as pinch hitter occassionaly if team is chasing a big target.

PS: As an Indian Fan I will love to see him open the inning.Bowler just need to bowl with in 4 feet on either side of wicket and he will go back to pavilion. :D

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
I think there is a big confusion over role of Afridi.If PCB Afridi and Fan understandhave clarity about his role in ODI team then he could be a great asset.
My personal opinion is that People should stop talking about Afridi as a batsman. As Ehsan bhai always said he is just a tullybaaz. But if you consider him as good ODI bowler who can bat and use it like that then he could be a great asset.Which means that he should bat at 7-8 and can be promoted up as pinch hitter occassionaly if team is chasing a big target.

PS: As an Indian Fan I will love to see him open the inning.Bowler just need to bowl with in 4 feet on either side of wicket and he will go back to pavilion. :D

be careful what you wish for. REMEMBER CHENNAI. :) :)
he plays 2 good innings out of 10 trips. If that happens to be the first ODI, then one can only imagine what the state of mind the indian bowlers will be in.

'Pak to be under more pressure':Ganguly

KOLKATA: Skipper Sourav Ganguly has said that Pakistan would be under greater pressure by virtue of being the hosts of the historic series against India .

"It's always tougher at home. Pakistan will be under somewhat more pressure. However, having said that I must admit that it will not be an easy task for us," Ganguly said.
The Indian skipper said that he was trying to stay focussed on the tour by not letting the hype surrounding the tour, starting on March 10, affect him.

"I am trying not to be overwhelmed by external issues," he said.
But, he said in the same breath that the pressure factor could not be an excuse for the outcome.

"I am consciously trying not to get affected. In any case, being a professional I can't allow myself to get carried away by any talking point," he said.

oh darnit..they just removed his pic from the site :(..no kiddin

wassup with the picture sherry :p

edited no problem... ab aap bhi in mohtarma ki pic hatadain :p