Sardesai is talking rubbish. Many past Indian players have recently been talking nonsense like this. It is a poor refelction on these past players that they are already making excuses for any poor showing of their team against messrs Shoaib and Shabbir. Shame on these players and their pathetic comments.
Every Lallu Panju in India is trying to get “in” to the media by bashing Pakistan these days (ofcourse Shoaib being the fav topic) , below is one of the example ![]()
I am also happy for the return of SAQI. I think he can still move the things around… best of luck!
I think Pakistan selected a good team...its well balanced...good to see Afridi and Saqlain back...does anyone have any info for Iftekhar Anjum?
*Originally posted by yaasir: *
I think Pakistan selected a good team...its well balanced...good to see Afridi and Saqlain back...does anyone have any info for Iftekhar Anjum?
is iftekhar Rao ka Pavva kaafi bada hai kya??
His first class record doesnt look impressive.
Saqlain and Afridi recalled to one-day team
Wisden Cricinfo staff
March 5, 2004
Shahid Afridi and Saqlain Mushtaq have been recalled for Pakistan’s first two one-day internationals against India. Iftikhar Anjum, an allrounder, was the only new player announced in the squad for the matches in Karachi and Rawalpindi, the BBC reported.
“The team is well balanced in all departments of the game,” Wasim Bari, the chief selector, commented on the composition of the squad.
Saqlain last played against South Africa at home in October. He returned to the side in place of Danish Kaneria based primarily on his experience and good record against India. “Saqlain can be handy in both types of cricket,” Bari said. “He also has a good record against India.”
Shahid Afridi was named in the Pakistan team after a year in the wilderness, following the team’s poor performance in the World Cup in South Africa, where they failed to clear the first round. Bari justified Afridi’s inclusion, saying that his utility as a bowler could come in handy.
“We feel that we needed more all-rounders to cope against the India batting powerhouse,” Bari said, “and that is why we have included three allrounders with Afridi top of the list.”
Squad: Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Shahid Afridi, Misbah-ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Moin Khan (wk), Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Younis Khan, Shabbir Ahmed, Iftikhar Anjum, Naveed-ul-Hasan, Saqlain Mushtaq
Iftekhar Anjum
Career Statistics:
FIRST-CLASS
(1999/00 - 2003/04; last updated 04/03/2004)
M I NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
Batting & Fielding 47 75 20 923 78 16.78 0 4 24 0
O M R W Ave BBI 5 10 SR Econ
Bowling 1468.5 282 4770 210 22.71 7-80 16 3 41.9 3.24
LIST A LIMITED OVERS
(1998/99 - 2003/04; last updated 04/03/2004)
M I NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
Batting & Fielding 23 15 3 153 39 12.75 0 0 12 0
O R W Ave BBI 4w 5w SR Econ
Bowling 192 892 27 33.03 3-17 0 0 42.6 4.64
Man there is a lot of hype around this guy. I can't wait to see him bowl. I read somewhere that he has been the best bowler in the Pakistani training camp by far. Better than Shaoib, Sami and Saqi. Speaking of Saqi, I cant wait to see him in action. Should be great, I read he has a new delivery he is working on for this series.
We made big scores against New Zealand and South Africa at home this year, the Indian bowling is much worse than these two teams, so it will be really interesting to see if our guys can reproduce the results.
Also, I am a bit nervous about all the all-rounder they are planning to play, that could very easily blow up on us.
bhai yehi tou problem hai....play 2 allrounders only. Akhat and Sami collectively make one allrounder when it comes to batting. I hope they don't play Razzler. His bowling is pathetic. Afridi would be a useful player in both types.
ODI look better with this squad. Atleast we will have a regular sixth bowler, just in case any of our rocket defused.
Imran
Yasir
Yoyo
Inzi
Shahid
Moin
Shoaib
Sami
Iftikhar/Naveed
Saqi/Malik
Shabbir
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Sardesai is talking rubbish. Many past Indian players have recently been talking nonsense like this. It is a poor refelction on these past players that they are already making excuses for any poor showing of their team against messrs Shoaib and Shabbir. Shame on these players and their pathetic comments.
Ehsan.. most of the times u talk sense... but sometimes you too jump into the emotional bandwagon...
So tell me... was it Sardesai who reported Akhtar/Shabbir to the ICC for chucking... Is it not true that Shabbir miraculously corrected his action within weeks. Its not about me being an Indian...anyone who knows his cricket will tell you that Akhtar's action is highly suspect when he delivers that "extra-effort oomph" ball.
Sardesai has a very valid point when he says - "I find it hard to believe that bowlers go to Australia for 7 to 10 days and come back with corrected actions. I mean, if someone is watching you bowl, you will never go flat out."
*Originally posted by Some1: *
Ehsan.. most of the times u talk sense... but sometimes you too jump into the emotional bandwagon...
So tell me... was it Sardesai who reported Akhtar/Shabbir to the ICC for chucking... Is it not true that Shabbir miraculously corrected his action within weeks. Its not about me being an Indian...anyone who knows his cricket will tell you that Akhtar's action is highly suspect when he delivers that "extra-effort oomph" ball.
Sardesai has a very valid point when he says - "I find it hard to believe that bowlers go to Australia for 7 to 10 days and come back with corrected actions. I mean, if someone is watching you bowl, you will never go flat out."
Shabbir didn't "fix" his action in 7-10 days. Daryl Foster and other had a close look at his action and said there wasnt anything wrong with his action.
It is not hard to understand to come back redeemed after a therapy
session.
Are we comparing the Med/Pshysio faclities in India & Pakistan for such
miracles ?
Ofcourse you can correct and eleminate the objectionable action or the movement of the limb to an extent that ICC normes are met and satisfied.
Honestly !! If you or the like of Sardesi riding the media bandwagon and come out with this issue now, then the timing is amazing and sounds typical of westeren media/boards controvercies just b4 the crunch series.
Better leave these matters to the specialists and Rest assured.
or try to convince your self…
Have fun and look foreward to the game with a big Heart
Afridi, Saqlain and Younis in squad for two one-dayers
By Waheed Khan
KARACHI: There were no surprises in the one-day squad announced for the first two matches of the one-day series against India on Friday with the selectors perhaps being generous enough in naming a 16-member squad instead of sticking to the basic requirement of 14 players.
“Basically, we wanted to reward guys like Rao Iftikhar and Misbah-ul-Haq for their excellent showing in domestic cricket, so we took them on board,” said chief selector Wasim Bari clarifying the announcement of the large squad.
But Bari whose penchant for sticking to the tried and tested made it clear that the young pacer Rao Iftikhar, who was the leading wickettaker of the Patron’s Trophy this season, was there for the experience and there was little chance of “Pakistan unleashing a new pace sensation against the Indians.”
“I think Shoaib Akhtar, Muhammad Sami and Shabbir Ahmed are the first choice strike bowlers with good back up from all-rounders Abdul Razzaq, Rana Naveed-ul-Hasan, Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik,” he said.
But the fact that the selectors opted to pick six pace bowlers - two of them also batting all-rounders is a clear indication that Pakistan wants to play to its strength in the first two games - its pace attack.
And all indications are that the Pakistan think tank is prepared to gamble with its batting on tracks with some pace and bounce against the Indians whose formidable batting line-up has coach Javed Miandad and captain Inzamam-ul-Haq worried inspite of the nonchalant attitude they are adopting towards the Indian batting.
But overall, one can find nothing wrong with the 16 picked by Bari and his fellow selectors Ehteshamuddin, Iqbal Qasim and Sultan Rana who is away in India at the moment. While the recall of Shahid Afridi provides all-round depth to the team and increase Pakistan’s chance of playing with six bowlers, the batting has picked itself.
Although one did find it a bit strange that someone like Naved Latif who has been in top form this season has been ignored for not only the Pakistan team but also the Pakistan A side that plays against India in the warm-up match on March 11 in Lahore.
But Bari had an explaination for Naved’s relegation to the PCB eleven playing a practice game against the Pakistan team in Karachi on March 10.
“Naved’s fielding is under question because others like Younis Khan and Misbah-ul-Haq are sharper in the field. But we have picked him for the Karachi match and if he scores runs against the Pakistan attack he can get a call up anytime.”
He also insisted that the team had only been announced for the first two matches in Karachi and Rawalpindi because the selectors wanted to keep a close watch on the performances in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy. Bari added that the players appearing in the Quaid-e-Azam Cup and Trophy will be considered for selection in the remaining three matches of the five-match One-day international series. The third one-dayer will be played in Peshawar on March 19 while Lahore will host the fourth and fifth One-day Internationals on March 21 and 24.
On Afridi’s recall he said that Shahid Afridi, had been included because he is a utility player in the limited overs cricket besides being a very fine fielder.
“While Saqlain Mushtaq can prove to be handy in both types of cricket because of his experience, he also has a good record against India,” he stated.
One can only agree with the selectors’ point of view because certainly Afridi and Saqlain did get a raw deal at the hands of the previous selection committee headed by Aamer Sohail, so much so that a dynamic player like Afridi was ignored after the 2003 World Cup until November last year when he was named as captain of the Pakistan A team that went to India.
The Pakistan squad: Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Shahid Afridi, Misbah-ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Moin Khan (wicketkeeper), Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Younis Khan, Shabbir Ahmed, Rao Iftikhar Anjum, Rana Naveed-ul-Hasan, Saqlain Mushtaq.
Pakistan A squad for March 11 warm up game against India: Imran Nazir, Taufeeq Umar, Faisal Iqbal, Bazid Khan, Naumanullah, Kamran Akmal (wicket-keeper), Yasir Arafat, Junaid Zia, Umar Gul, Zahid Saeed, Mohammad Khaleel, Ashar Zaidi and Qaiser Abbas. Manager: Sultan Rana.
PCB XI for March 10 practice match against the Pakistan team in Karachi: Hasan Raza (Captain), Shadab Kabir, Naveed Qureshi, Naved Latif, Asim Kamal, Aamir Bashir, Salman Butt, Naeem Ahmed Khan (wicket-keeper), Saeed Ajmal, Tauqeer Hussain, Sami Niazi, Abdul Rauf and Tanveer Ahmed. Manager: Abdul Raquib.
Good point ! Thanks for pointing out. I missed it .. some morons should
stop right here after this ![]()
aur yoon ‘kisi ki’ sare-aam izzat hogai.
typical cry baby ![]()
Well said Raindance!
pakistan better not make the mistake of sending sahabzada shahid khan afridi as a opening batsmen once again :nono: he suits the 6/7 position and he must be kept as a pitch hitter, his style of batting suits the latter stages of a odi innings *
All play, no studies for Pathan, Patel
NEW DELHI: India’s young cricketers Irfan Pathan and Parthiv Patel will forego their school-leaving examinations this month in order to represent the country on the tour of Pakistan.
But education officials in the western state of Gujarat, where both the 19-year-olds hail from, have refused to make any concessions for the duo, leaving them no option but drop a year at school. India’s first full tour of Pakistan in almost 15 years, which begins on March 10 and ends April 18, clashes with the school-leaving exams in which both Patel and Pathan were due to appear.
This is the third time that Patel, India’s Test wicket-keeper, has been forced to bypass the exams to honour his cricketing commitments at national or international level. Pathan, the promising left-arm seamer who made a big impression on his first senior tour to Australia earlier this year, also missed his final exams last year.
“It’s not a difficult choice,” said Patel. “I would prefer to play for my country any day, but studies are also important. Maybe I will pass next year.”
Gujarat’s education minister Anandiben Patel refused to entertain request from the players’ families to allow them to take the exams after their return from Pakistan.
“There is no provision in the law for students to ask for a later date for their exams,” the minister said. “If we make an exemption for these cricketers, lot of others will queue up citing various reasons other than sports.”
The examinations, held all over India in March-April, have dampened the enthusiasm for students towards the long-awaited cricket series.
“It will be difficult to keep my eyes off the television, but my parents have told me to concentrate only on studies,” said Delhi student Rajnish Gupta. “It’s not fair for India to play against Pakistan when the exams are on.”
[thumb=E]clash1326_5461495.JPG[/thumb]
From cricketnext.com
nice banner
*Originally posted by yaasir: *
Shabbir didn't "fix" his action in 7-10 days. Daryl Foster and other had a close look at his action and said there wasnt anything wrong with his action.
has he joined the camp?