Indian tour of Pak

I think this is the ODI squad and therfore Afridi has been recalled and Asim Kamal has been dropped.

**Pakistan recall Shahid Afridi and Saleem Elahi **](http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2004/FEB/073660_PAKIND2003-04_21FEB2004.html)

**Pakistan have recalled Shahid Afridi and Saleem Elahi to their training squad for the series against India.

Afridi has not featured since Pakistan were knocked out of last year’s World Cup. Elahi, who toured New Zealand with Pakistan recently, was originally left out of the original group, but was called up after the rescheduling of the one-dayers before the Tests. **

Meanwhile, Bazid Khan, Faisal Iqbal, Asim Kamal and Shadab Kabir have all been released, while batsman Imran Nazir and Naved Latif also return. Pakistan’s training camp will begin at Lahore on February 24 and the one-day squad, likely to comprise of around 15 names, will be announced in the first week of March.

Shoaib Akhtar and Saqlain Mushtaq will join the camp later after playing additional first-class matches.

**Revised squad Imran Farhat, Taufeeq Umar, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Shahid Afridi, Imran Nazir, Naved Latif, Saleem Elahi, Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Saqlain Mushtaq, Danish Kaneria, Moin Khan (wk), Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Shabbir Ahmed, Umar Gul, Rana Naveed-ul-Hasan, Rao Iftikhar.

Pakistan's batting has always been poorer than India. Atleast in last 20 years, I would say.

Take out Miandad, Saeed, Aamir Sohail and Inzi. You are left with seasonal batsman only, who perform here and there. Nobody has ever consistant in Pakistani batting side. The GREATS are not made overnight. One has to prove again and again of his potential. If Sachins peak is over, fine, but they have three more Sachin's class batsman, who GLUE to the wicket like anything.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
**I think this is the ODI squad and therfore Afridi has been recalled and Asim Kamal has been dropped.

Saleem Elahi? I hope the selectors persist with Imran Farhat/ Yasir Hameed and taufeeq. These guys have proved themselves on the home wickets Lets hope we continue with them.

*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *

Saleem Elahi? I hope the selectors persist with Imran Farhat/ Yasir Hameed and taufeeq. These guys have proved themselves on the home wickets Lets hope we continue with them.

Lets see what happens when they announce the final 15.

I dont trust this Waseem Bari guy. In an article in The News or Dawn some days ago, Sohaib Alvi wrote that he once asked Waseem Bari about his selection philosophy and he couldn’t describe it. :rolleyes:

I hope the oldies dont make a come back, save Saqi, under Bari. He’s known to go for the name than performances. :frowning:

Hmmm, nice enough squad i beleive. And CP bhai i think They will (and they should) persist with Imran/Yasir combo for onedayers and fit Afridi somehwere in the middle and thats the place he should try to establish himself, or maybe at one down position in place of Elahi. Lets see what happens with the final squad.

on what basis is Afridi back? surely there are far more consistent performers in the domestic competitions. man they drop him for no reason and then bring him back in even more mystifying circumstances.

Aamir Sohail might have been a hothead but at least he stuck to his guns. Wasim Bari is like a maum ki guriya. twist him whatever way you wish and he'll bend. what a poor choice for chief selector.

so, afridi, imran nazir, naved latif have been recalled :k: but y r faisal, asim kamal dropped? wats up with this rao iftikhar guy :rolleyes: he doesnt even have a proper domestic record :smack:

ODI's before tests...!!?? Make sense of that...

N y is bazid khan dropped, he's gd enuf for one-dayers. Sometimes i don get bari...

Good to hear Imran Nazir, Afridi back…but Elahi :bummer: But it might be a good move since Elahi loves to play on flat pitches, so it might turn out to be a good gamble. I think Pakistan will stick with Farhat and Yaasir for the opening, unless one of them starts playing how they are both performing in the Quid-e-Azam tropy…bad. I think the only reason for Afridi’s inclusion is the need for a sixth bowler, which only makes sense. No one is saying he should be in the final 11 against India, but there is no harm in calling him to the training camp.

Maybe we can open with Nazir and Farhat, and drop Yaasir to #3, since he has always performed better at #3. There are a lot of possibilities, lets see what happens :slight_smile:

Dilip Vengsarkar writes about his Pakistan experience in the Times of India.

Mian, yeh toh Pakistan hai!

Oh, the umpiring was quite bad. One of the local journalists told me during the 1982-83 trip that there are odds available on the number of lbws given during the series.

We’d plead with the umpires and the standard reply was: **" Janab jahan say main dekh raha hoon , ball dandi per nahi lag rahi thi . (From where I’m looking, the ball won’t have hit the stumps)." **

Our bowlers were frustrated. One of our bowlers even implored Javed Miandad and Imran Khan to urge the umpires to give some lbw decisions but they’d turn around and say: " Mian, yeh Pakistan hai (This is Pakistan, mister)." And we’d quietly get on with our jobs.

Even the local media didn’t write anything to bring to light these misgivings. Such was the anguish that we vowed that on Pakistan’s return tour to India, they will get the same kind of umpiring. But that never happened, our umpires were good.

Sounds like Afridi’s inclusion has something to do with the commercial side of things. He is still considered as a great crowd appeal. I consider this as big gamble on part of the PCB.
2ndly, since there is only 1 OD for Karachi it looks like an attempt to include Karachi players in the squad, IMHO.. Hey I could be wrong too.
:jhanda:

While on the subject of Umpiring , are there going to be neutral umpires for this series ?

Yup and everyone lived happily ever after. Pakistani umpiring might not have been very good but the Indian one was nothing to shout about either. They were equally bad.

Yes some1 there will be neutral umpires for the series.

Indian umpires are biased, I agree . They tend to give decisions in favor of the touring team just to prove their integrity. Reminds me of the tied test in Madras between India and Australia way back in the 80s. Indian Umpire Dhotiwaala erroneously gave last man Maninder Singh out LBW to Greg Mathews allowing Australia to tie the test match.

To hell with integrity, especially when Australia visit. I want the Aussies to get at least 5 horrendous decisions in each test! They should be so bad that messrs harper and hair go green with envy.

Coming to Pakistan ---- hey guess what I heard? Bucknor will be umpiring. Now dekhna yeh hai ki which side he hates more. I have a feeling he's going to have a lot of bad days, being surrounded by 2 teams that look and talk alike.

True. :hehe:

If not test then KHI should get 2 ODI with one atleast a D/N game.
Just one ODI to Khi? :nook:

and 2ndly ODIs before tests :nook:

Faisalabad or Gujranwala should get ODI.

khair aab tu jo hona tha ho gaya, i hope we will have a great contest to follow. Any CONFIRMED news yet about the telecast in USA?

This is not good.

One Dayers before Tests?? I guess they are hyping us all up for the test series.

Afridi back? He didn’t do anything to deserve a recall.

Keep checking Dishnetwork’s site for coverage of Cricket.
http://www.dishnetwork.com/content/programming/ppv/sports_events/cricket/index.shtml

I’m disapointed, I thought maybe Karachi chould have hosted a test, and a one day. Where is Faisalabad and Gurjanwala? At least Multan got a test. I was afraid PCB would overlook Multan, with their amazing stadium.