Indian tour of Pak

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *

Secondly, why do you think the touring English team was declared as one of the weakest to tour India? I believe it was Gavaskar who said that. I can dig up the info if you so desire though I'm sure any guppy can back up what I'm saying.

It was said as a comment on sad state of talent in England.Gavaskar was right to say that it was weakest team to ever visit India. It was weak because of lack of talent not weak because of some players backed out for security reasons. Dont try to put spin which you always do.There was not a single player who didnt visit India because of Security reasons.

Where as in case of Pakistan NZL's players didnt come due to security reasons.
Having said that... I must say that Indian Gov handled it poorly.

What about Craig White?

I thought he didn't go because of fear for his life.

Indian newspapers and tabloids are having fun these days.

Frustated BCCI

*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *

whooaaa? Are we forgetting RSA and Pakistan in over-excitement? Let's pull out the ICC Test ranking. Where does India stand?

chtonic, take some time to understand before exploding. it say's 'draw closer' not 'become' no. 2. you got a problem with someone hoping to draw closer?

*Originally posted by karina: *

chtonic, take some time to understand before exploding. it say's 'draw closer' not 'become' no. 2. you got a problem with someone hoping to draw closer?

What kind of a statement is that? Isn't what the article wrote basically a different way of saying "becoming no.2". What else does it mean? Does India want to be No. 3 team just to be "close to no.2"? Clearly not. Or does it? Getting close to no.2 is a relative term. You see, you are closer to no.2 spot than say...Bangladesh. So stop trying to get any closer or you might irritate one of the top 3, which i dont know..may include Pakistan. Does it? Pakistan's been closer to the no.2 spot than India for sometime now. Whats the latest ICC test ranking? How close is India to the much-glorified no.2 spot? Let's all hope India can "get closer to the no.2 spot" someday, and let it rest.

Well, some English players may have refused to play in India because it is too close to Pakistan :)

The whole problem is that if cricket matches are going on between India and Pakistan, then who will go to political rallies and listen to the BJP netas? Thats all there is to it.

*Originally posted by karina: *
now that the pcb has threatened to sue ...
right on!

*Originally posted by Some1: *
Well, some English players may have refused to play in India because it is too close to Pakistan :)

Yeah they are still heart broken that because of Pakistan they were unable to visit paradise on earth. :)

While I don’t think Indo-Pak issues are so trivial that they can be taped over by cricket matches, the following is a refreshing read amidst all the jingoism.

**The day Sunny had a go at Javed **
By Yajurvindra Sinh

The burning issue regarding the resumption of the India-Pakistan cricket ties takes me back to the 1970s, when the great Pakistan cricketers freely interacted with us and came to the shores of India, not to earn but to give. The beneficiaries were some of our leading cricketers like Dilip Sardesai, Abbas Ali Baig, Divecha, DK Gaekwad. The several evenings and train rides spent together had moments of such empathy and togetherness. Debates between Mushtaq, Intiqab Alam and Bishan Bedi on spin bowling and Zaheer Abbas, Imran Khan and Sunil Gavaskar on cricket strategies were enthralling and riveting.

The respect that cricketers from both the countries have for one another is so deep-rooted and genuine that the competitive adrenalin flows only when one plays against each other. If Pakistan is playing against any other nation, we support them and marvel at some of their individual performances.

How can I forget the great Sarfaraz Nawaz bowling to me in the nets on the morning of the 1979 Oval Test match. His prime reason was for me to get used to the moving ball to enable me face the English bowlers. He showed me how an old battered ball could be swung – my first experience of what is now popularly called ‘Reverse Swing’. Fortunately, I did well and his efforts did not go waste. Here was one of the most dreaded cricketers with a heart of gold where Asian cricket was concerned.

During the 1979 World Cup in England, to get us acclimatized to the conditions, India and Pakistan were made to play a few matches in a cold and damp Scarborough. For both the sides, this was like being sent to Siberia for capital punishment. Cricket could not be played due to rain, but camaraderie between the two teams was warm and wonderful. The peacock like strut of Imran through our dressing room, the playful banter of Javed Miandad and Wasim Raja and the mischievous, behind the scene practical jokes of Gavaskar kept all of us in high spirits.

This led to an interesting and amusing story that took place between Miandad and Gavaskar in 1978. During one of the Test matches in Pakistan, the young Miandad was verbally harassing Gavaskar. Sunil on most occasions ignored the banter and concentrated on his batting. The foxy Miandad hearing no retaliation from the great master decided that he could jabber away. He was taken by surprise when suddenly Sunil turned around and said, “Javed, when you get your first hundred overseas without your umpires, can you be entitled to talk, till then I would recommend that you keep quiet.” That shut him up, but I’m sure it was the tonic that led to his later success.

Miandad was a brilliant player. I remember bowling off spin to him during one of the warm up games. He swept me from outside the off stump to the fine leg boundary. S. Venkataraghavan, our captain, was livid and decided to give me some extra protection on the on-side. The next delivery I bowled down the leg and Miandad played a reverse sweep (the first that we all ever saw) for another four. His innovations were truly outstanding and it left a deep impression on anyone who played with or against him.

Another tale is of Imran’s battle against the technique of Gavaskar. The venue was Ahmedabad, where we were playing in Sardesai’s Benefit match. Imran and I were in the same side and he decided that if I supported him at forward short leg, he was convinced that he would get Gavaskar out on a rising delivery. I readily accepted the plan and was all set to catch Sunil’s back foot defensive shot as soon as it hit the bat. I was so close that a slight wave of his bat would have had me on a stretcher to the hospital. Here was I having faith in a Pakistan cricketer who tried everything possible to find a slight chink in Gavaskar’s impeccable technique and proved unsuccessful.

During drinks he thanked me and made a remark, which went something like this, “Is deewar ko Khuda bhi nahi hila sakta,” (even God cannot move such a wall). As cricketers we have had such intimate and lovely moments together. One such moment for me was when we played Gloucestershire. I got the wicket of Sadiq Mohamed and in came the stylish Zaheer Abbas. Bowling to him was such a pleasure, as he made runs with such grace and poise. He was on song and made every delivery of mine look so easy and getting him out looked like a remote possibility. Being overconfident, he played away from one of my deliveries, which cut in sharply (unintentionally) and he got bowled. I was overwhelmed with joy. He insisted that I accompany Sunil and others in the evening for a meal to his house for Miya and Biwi to get their revenge ‘off the field’, a true sportsman of the game.

Sports as they say is the greatest leveller. One does understand the political stance of a India–Pakistan cricket encounter, but nothing should stand between getting people such as Zaheer, Miandad, Imran, Mushtaq, Akram, etc to talk to our youngsters at the various academies. One hopes that the new Corporate Tournament that the BCCI plans to undertake next summer have some of the present Pakistan cricketers rubbing shoulders with Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and that in time to come they have the same binding attachments, that we veteran cricketers have for each other even today.

How wonderful it would be to have a long partnership between Tendulkar and Inzamam and an opening bowling attack of Akram and Zaheer Khan against them. Friendship and cricket would be the winners!

URL: http://www.cricketnext.com/news1/next/reporters/rep1876.htm

Indian media and upcoming tour...

3 Months ago when Indian government decided to let its team go to Pakistan and tour details were being scheduled, I suggested again and again over this forum that Pakistan should not accept this offer without making sure that cowards will not run away on last second. The only way to do it was by incorporating contractual issues into this whole matter.

My standpoint was that Indians will simply use this friendly atmosphere to diffuse tension in Kashmir and will cancel the tour based on some baseless reasons as usual. (I am not trying to be political. For god sake don’t delete it. I am just trying to present same facts) I was afraid that based on Indian record, we will be humiliated at end of the day…..And I was scolded mostly by my own fellows for saying that who asked me to SHUTUP and let them enjoy the cricket with India. What they did not realize that I enjoy the cricket with same passion as they do and that I am following the cricket for last 20 years… some of them who asked me to SHUT UP may not be 20 years old…

anyways as democracy prevails in this country, I decided to be shut up…. But now just look at the happenings of events. Suddenly from no where, Mr advani is expressing his concerns. Newspapers are writing trash about us and Tour is about to be cancelled and we will be left behind like fools. That is exactly I wanted to avoid. Mr. Ganguly life is in danger and what about our team’s life when we visited them given there were some serious threats. Anyway, "dear paki fellows", please read this article published in a very reputable Indian newspaper and keep “enjoying” cricket with India.The article is so insulting and humiliating plus i dont know what is he trying to prove about india. Pkaistan is a very very dangerous place and Is india as good as peaceful as switzerland? there will be "50000 frenzied paki partisans" in ground which will effect mr ganguly and his team's performance and wut abt 100,000 crazy indians in clacutta shouting and throwin stuff into ground in 98? and it is not just another article. there tons of like them in india media.

"Cricket: let guests become hosts

As the Indian cricket team's tour to Pakistan draws near, legitimate concerns about its security have been raised. Two points can be made at the outset. One, the team cannot give of its best on the field if it is mentally distracted. And two, conditions in Pakistan are so unsettled that no authority there is in a position to guarantee one hundred per cent foolproof security. If the Pakistani President, General Pervez Musharraf, can be attacked not once but twice in a matter of a few days and is fortunate to escape the assassination attempts by a whisker, there can be no surety of safety of anyone, local or foreigner, in the jehadi-infested land. Having said that, the inevitable question: should the tour be cancelled? However keen the followers and fans of the game might be to witness the two traditional sub-continental rivals match their cricketing skills after a long gap, there is no denying that the security of players comes ahead of the game itself.

If the Saurav and Co. have to play under the ever present shadow of the malcontents in the Pakistani society who are outside the pale of the law, it is better the tour is postponed, if not cancelled outright. Given the popularity of the game in the two countries and given that Indo-Pak matches are bound to attract record crowds, it will be hard for the security agencies to ensure that none among the tens of thousands of paying spectators harbours evil designs against the Indian players. The point is that the Indian players might lend themselves as easy targets to those who are mighty angry with General Musharraf and want to see him out of the president's office. It is a public secret that the Islamic fundamentalists and other jehadi elements in Pakistan have not taken kindly to the recent Indo-Pak detente and the lessening of the terrorist activities in Kashmir. A lone superannuated Kashmiri terrorist can cause a huge mayhem and thus jeopardize the peace process now underway between the two countries. The counter argument that Indo-Pak ties should not be hostage to the acts of stray madmen does not hold in a situation where ingrained suspicions and distrust were yet to yield to strong and durable bonds of friendship and co-operation.

That the cricket boards in both countries are very keen for the Indian tour of Pakistan to go ahead is a public secret. Indeed, the two boards are drooling at the prospect of enriching themselves many times over with the monies that are bound to flow from such a tour. An India Pakistan one-day cricket match is the ultimate in mining the pockets of the advertisers. The entire cornucopia of commercial interests that have come to be associated with the modern-day cricket stands to lose if the tour is cancelled. Admittedly, cricket lovers too will miss the edge-of the-seat excitement and thrill from an outright cancellation. So what is the alternative? It clearly lies in inviting the Pakistani team over to play in India rather than the Indians going to Pakistan. The truth is that our lunatic fringe is nowhere near as dangerous and vicious as the Pakistani one. Also, even those who had not long ago dug up the cricket pitch to protest the proposed Pak tour of this country are now part of the peace process that the Vajpayee Government has initiated with Pakistan.

For sure, the role of hosts and guests cannot be reversed so easily that would require a reworking of dates and priorities and a furious attention to the logistics of the hurriedly got up tour. But given the will and the presence of uncertain conditions in Pakistan the only way India can play Pakistan in one hundred per cent safe and secure conditions is to reschedule the matches in this country. It is a challenge for the cricket boards of both countries which they must accept without getting embroiled in its political implications. For the record, the Pakistani authorities and opposition groups would take the cancellation of the tour as an affront to their `izzat' as it would denote a lack of confidence in their ability to provide foolproof security, but when the New Zealanders were obliged to abruptly cut short their tour of Pakistan and when another cricket playing nation was averse to the idea of visiting that country and when most western nations were constrained to reduce their diplomatic staff in Islamabad, Karachi and elsewhere in that benighted land to the barest minimum, you cannot ask a Sachin Tendulkar or a Saurav Ganguly to perform before 50,000 frenzied Pakistani partisans so that the boards of cricket can fatten themselves from the monies flowing from such a contest. No, sir, either get the Pakistanis to come and play us here in India or cancel the tour outright.

And the verdict is.. Vagpayee says the Tour will GO.

Mainly the reason probably is, if they said no, then Pakistan would have said, whats the point of all this friendship, and the meetings we had last month, etc.

The tour goes ahead at last. Lets hope the talk from now on will be of the battle on teh field rather than off it. Lets also hope that nothing untowards will happen to the Indian team and that it will be a well fought and happy series.

India gives tour approval](BBC SPORT | Cricket | India gives tour approval)

India has quashed rumours it would postpone the March tour of Pakistan by formally agreeing to the trip.
There were fears the first Test series between the two countries for 14 years would be threatened by security fears.

But India’s Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee has given formal approval to the tour, according to his foreign minister Yashwant Sinha.

“In the sporting spirit, it was decided that the Indian team plays the series as scheduled,” Sinha said.

India and Pakistan have fought three wars since independence from the UK in 1947.

The tour had been approved by India’s Ministry of External Affairs “as part of the process for normalisation of diplomatic and other links with Pakistan”.

But the series ran into uncertainty after India’s interior ministry voiced concerns about the players’ security following an inspection to look at security measures within Pakistan.

Media reports said the Indian cricket board had been advised to postpone the trip until after the country’s national elections, expected to take place in April and May.

The tour schedule, which could comprise three Test matches and five one-day internationals, is still to be finalised.

The news was met with relief in Pakistan.

“We welcome the very positive decision of the Indian Prime Minister,” said Pakistan Cricket Board Shaharyar Khan.

Vajpayee gave his official consent after a top-level meeting attended by interior minister Lal Krishna Advani, former foreign minister Jaswant Singh, who is now the finance minister, and Sinha.

India’s junior sports minister Vijay Goel said the schedule for the tour - expected to comprise three Test matches and five one-day internationals - would be agreed by the two nation’s cricket boards.

India’s is awaiting the report of a three-member delegation assessing venues and security arrangement in Pakistan.

The trio return on Monday with a full report on their visit, and any suggested changes required to the tour itinerary by the Pakistan board.

Cricket relations between India and Pakistan have a stormy history, due to the two neighbour countries’ bitter political feuding.

For several years, India’s government prohibited the cricket team from touring Pakistan - saying it was against the national interest.

The ban helped the cricket board avoid penalties under the International Cricket Council schedule.

India accuses Pakistan of helping Islamic guerrilla groups in Muslim-majority Kashmir to try to form a breakaway state.

Pakistan denies the charge, saying it morally supports the separatists but gives them no material aid.

Both countries are now trying to ease hostilities with peace measures, which include the upcoming cricket tour.

[thumb=E]india1326_9158357.JPG[/thumb]

Finally common sense prevailed.

so wobbly knee’s had some sense left in him, 1 thing left to say now, just bring it INDIA…

:jhanda:

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

India has quashed rumours

Exactly. Unless a high ranking official had called off the tour, I knew the tour would go on.

finally coming! shukar Allah!

This is Awesome News! :jhanda: