Indian Sindhis are forgetting Sindhi

At Sindhi theatre festival, why is the youth missing?

Many of the community’s youngsters admit they can’t speak the language
Express News Service

Mumbai, May 22: THIS is the first time I’ve heard of the fest,’’ said Mona Budhwani (21) of Jain College, Churchgate, who has good reason for not connecting with Sindhi theatre in the city.

‘‘I can’t understand a word, so what’s the point of going there?’’ she asked. Budhwani—like many of the city’s young Sindhis, who don’t know the language and have barely been exposed to their culture—is not attending the ongoing Sindhi Theatre Festival.

The festival, organised by Nu Sindhu Arts Academy, a prominent Sindhi theatre group in Mumbai, is being held at the Karnataka Sangha Auditorium, from May 21 to May 23.

Ketan Lalvani (25), a sales executive in Dadar said: ‘‘I feel my parents are responsible for not teaching me the language.’’

In most Sindhi homes, communication is either in Hindi or English and their language is reduced to sounds they don’t understand.

‘‘We do have some youngsters associated with the festival,’’ said Kapil Asrani (22), associated with Sindhi theatre since he was five.

‘‘We need more people their age to come forward and save our fast vanishing language as well as our dying Sindhi culture,’’ he added.

Pooja Makhija (21), a third year BCom student at N M College said: ‘‘Because of the onslaught of western culture, youngsters today feel the language is unfashionable and avoid it while chatting with friends.’’

It gets trickier for people like Bindya Mohandas (24) whose father is Maharashtrian and mother Sindhi, ‘‘but I manage to keep my parents happy by speaking Marathi and Sindhi,’’ grinned Mohandas.

‘‘The main aim of our group is to keep alive our mother tongue through cultural programmes as well as live performing arts,’’ said Gautam Vazirani (22), who has been associated with Nu Sindhu for the last four years.

‘‘ The plays are as authentic and bubbly as other Hindi, Marathi and English plays’’ said Vazirani, who wants youth to participate and learn about their culture before it’s too late.

Re: Indian Sindhis are forgetting Sindhi

thats like pakistani kids not learning urdu.

Do Pakistani Sindhis teach their kids Sindhi or they speak Urdu at Home. I find many Pakistani Punajbis and Sindhi kids in US speak Urdu

I’m glad my parents atleast taught me to speak it (if not read or write). The facts in the above article are true for pakistan sindhis too. I personally know 6-7 families (neighbours, relatives) who just didnt bother teaching their kids their own language. Some of them even made it a point to not teach them sindhi.. i guess that would make their kids more acceptable in society. Wierd.

I have now come to accept the fact that it is a dying culture. Not that im going to give in in the fight to preserve it.. but its going to be a tough one! Im not gonna teach my kids anything else but sindhi till theyre atleast 7 or something. :mad:

Community gatherings and cultural programs are good.. except they dont serve any purpose. Sindhis just like to get together eat a lotta food talk a lotta bs (we’re this we’re that we’re better than those darn punjabis :smiley: ) and in the end everyone starts hatin on each other and they all go home and swear to not meet up ever but then they do the same thing all over again next year. What a sad bunch :smiley:

haha.. cheegum they sound like urdu speaking people. if u include paan somewhere in the mix.

i think kids should only be taught their own language while they're little.. they pick up the rest as they grow up.

i was wondering, why do we have punjabi spoken with urdu script? i wouldn't mind learning punjabi script. its phat lingo.

Because it’s more elegant than Gurmukhi (Punjabis homegrown script), have you ever heard the Punjabi alphabet? Horrible horrible sounds. “Duddha, Tatta, Lulla, haha, phupha, eerra, eerri…” Nasty nasty alphabet.

The “Urdu” script isn’t particular to Urdu, it’s origins are Arabic but variations of it are used all over the world usually by Muslims for various different languages including Persian, Kurdish, Pashto, Paki Punjabi/Sindhi, once Bengali & Turkish, Urdu and of course Arabic… Just like in Northern India a llot of Muslim write Urdu using Devnagri script.

PS. It’s not called “Urdu” or “Arabic” script (because it’s universal to a lot of different languages and neither of these languages has monopoly over it) but rather Nastaleeq, Naskh, Thulth, Taliq, Muhaqqaq… etc. depending on which variation it is.

bah we all know about urdu. its in our face as it is. i wanna learn gurumukhi, if thats our lingo.

why do i get the feeling im repeating myself? :hoonh:

Gurmukhi is the script not the language, it was invented by the Sikh Gurus to write the Guru Granth Sahib (Sikh holy book) with, Guru Granth Sahib is not pure Punjabi though it’s got Persian, Arabic, Hindi and Urdu mixed into it.

Muslim Punjabis have always used the Aliph-Bay-Pay script, the script is not called Urdu just as A-B-C which is used for all European languages is not called English.

Like I said no one language has monopoly over the Aliph-Bay-Pay script, it’s just as Punjabi or Pashto as it is Urdu or Arabic.

I don’t like Indian scripts myself, Gurmukhi or Devangri both look like spiders and insects suspended from a ceiling.

Paki Punjabis need to get their heads out of the dirt and start moving their own way now instead of keep looking back towards Indian Punjabis.

I can read basic stuff in Gurmukhi but that’s not because I like the script or because I’m Punjabi or anything but rather because Prabhjot Kaur Ji who teaches it on TV is beautifull. :blush:

Sindh and Sindhis

By Amar Jaleel

IT is generally lamented that the Sindhis in Sindh are living a miserable life. Part-time and full-time politicians have cried themselves hoarse in telling the world, if things did not improve the Sindhis will turn into Red Indians in their own province. However, they refrain from revealing the ‘things’ they desire to see improved in Sindh.

Save for Karachi the rest of the province is under the domination of the Waderas, Khans, Sardars, Syeds, and the Jagirdars who are the sole entrepreneurs of political manoeuvrings in Sindh. With guaranteed reserved seats in national and provincial assemblies they have ruled over Sindh since 1947. What improvement have they brought about within the jurisdiction of their constituencies? Who do they expect to improve the things they often talk about? And, what do they mean by ‘things’? Educational institutions, community health centres, maternity homes, telecommunication systems, provision of roads, water, electricity, and gas? Should I include in the inventory of the ‘things’ an acute sense of insecurity among the rural people? By the way, who harbours the savage Dharels? If not landed elites, then who — the writers, poets, scholars, educationists, sportsmen, publishers, printers, artists, scientists?

This article deals with the social, cultural, economic, and political condition of the Sindhis and Sindh. By the Sindhis I mean ethnic Sindhis, having their family tree planted in the soil of Sindh for at least a few generations. In this article we will discuss the issues of the Sindhis whose mother tongue happens to be Sindhi. The majority of them live ignoble lives in the interior parts of the province. They are subjected to a three-prong censure from Sardars and Waderas and their kith and kin, Dharels (dreaded criminals harboured by the influential), and the police. They live a life devoid of basic needs. Who is responsible for their plight?

Except for landed aristocrats, the Zamindars, Jagirdars, Waderas, and Sardars, by and large, an overwhelming majority of the rural Sindhis survives under pathetic conditions.

The Sindhis in government service live a content life. A few of them are working with private and multinational companies and institutions. Their outlook on, and approach to, tackling the problems in life is realistic. This article views the life of the rural Sindhis, and the Sindhis who have migrated from the interior to villages, towns, and cities in the province in search of food, shelter, and employment.

Prior to partition of the subcontinent Sindh was a happy and a wealthy province of India. Karachi being a seaport city was the hub of economic activity. It was a multilingual and multicultural city that belonged to the followers of different religions. Diverse communities with different faiths and beliefs, different languages and culture had lived in peace and harmony in Karachi. They participated in each other’s joys and sorrows. They did not kill each other in the name of religion. They did not usurp each other’s properties. They had regard for each another’s customs and traditions. The Sufi mood of the capital city prevailed upon the mood in Hyderabad, Larkano, Rohri, Sukkur, Shikarpur, Jacobabad, and smaller towns of Tando Allahyar, Kandiaro, Shahdadpur, Nawabshah, Dadu, Badin, and the rest of the province.

Sindhi Hindus had maintained an excellent network of trade and commerce all over Sindh. They had the knack for managing and multiplying finances. The markets owned by the Hindus were stuffed with fancy merchandize, crockery, cutlery, cloth, linen, cosmetics, confectionery, instruments, implements, medicines, books, stationary, and for that matter anything that was available elsewhere in India. They had established trade centres in Hong Kong, Singapore, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, London, East Africa, and other parts of the world. They were philanthropists. They founded and maintained Nari Shalas, Ashrams, community development centres, free dispensaries and hospitals, charitable and educational institutions, schools and colleges, libraries, theatres, and gardens all over urban Sindh. They had kept towns and cities of Sindh neat and clean.

The rural areas of Sindh as usual were under the domination of landed aristocrats. The British did not let them interfere in the affairs of the urban Sindh. It doesn’t suggest that the urban Sindh by proxy was in the hands of the enterprising and hard working Hindus. Affluent and educated Muslim families had a definitive role in the affairs of the urban Sindh. Mohammed Ali Jinnah, Sir Abdullah Haroon, Sir Ghulam Hussain Hidayatullah, Sir Sultan Aga Khan, Khan Bahadur M A Khohro, Peerzada Abdul Sattar, Hassan Ali Affandi, and Pir Illahi Buksh — to name a few — were celebrated scions of such Muslim families of Sindh.

During the massive exodus of 1947-48, Sindhi Hindus migrated to India. They left behind beautiful buildings, mansions, shops, markets, cooperatives, schools, colleges, libraries, gardens, and numerous charitable hospitals, clinics, shrines, temples, and social welfare institutions. Sindh’s urban areas experienced the worst kind of social and economic void in its history. The Sardars, Jagirdars, and Waderas along with their henchmen pounced on the opportunity, and seized the control of the towns and smaller cities of Sindh. They became chief ministers, ministers (and now nazims) of Sindh. Lacking competence they miserably failed in maintaining the image of a splendid Sindh. It began crumbling. Its gardens turned into garbage dumps. The exquisite buildings were defaced. Elegant mansions were devastated. Institutions were erased. Libraries were left to the care of rats. The Sindh of today is a pillaged one. Who the incompetent intend to hold responsible for the ruination of Sindh and the Sindhis?

http://www.dawn.com/weekly/dmag/dmag3.htm

Its gardens turned into garbage dumps.

This line really sums it all up.